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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED SINGLE STATUS IN MISSISSIPPI 
Mississippi State Department of Health 

Vital Records 

Post Office Box 1700, Jackson, Mississippi  39215-1700 

FULL NAME FIRST MIDDLE LAST 

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN MARRIED? 

□ Yes □ No
If yes, Please provide: City, County and State of event ___________________________________ 

     Date of Marriage_______________________________________________ 

DATE OF 

BIRTH 

MONTH DAY YEAR (4 digit) 

PLACE OF 

BIRTH 

COUNTY CITY STATE 

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN DIVORCED?     

□ Yes □ No
If yes, Please provide: City, County and State of event ___________________________________ 

     Date of Divorce _______________________________________________ 

DATES TO BE SEARCHED FROM:  Month  Day  Year TO:  Month  Day  Year 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE 

A SINGLE STATUS SEARCH REQUIRES ADVANCE PAYMENT OF A NON REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF $17.00 AND VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION. 

The $17.00 fee entitles the applicant to one certified copy of the single 

status on file.      $ 17.00  X   1  =      $17.00 

 Amt. 

  Enclosed 

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED.  Check (personalized with name, address, 

and bank branch name and address printed on check) or Money Order payable to 

Mississippi Vital Records.  Mississippi law allows an additional service     TOTAL 

charge for dishonored checks.    (DO NOT SEND CASH) 

PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED 
Failure to provide the proper identification will result in the application being returned to you without processing.  Acceptable forms 

of identification are: Valid Driver’s License, State Issued Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card, 

Valid School , College or University Identification. (See back for other acceptable forms.). 

MAILING ADDRESS REQUIRED REGARDLESS OF DELIVERY METHOD 
Applicant Name 

(Type or Print) 

Delivery Address 

(include APT number) 

City State ZIP Code Phone Number, including area code 
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Eligibility: 

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR BIRTH RECORD APPLICATION 
A certified copy of verification of Single Status can be issued only to a person with legitimate and tangible interest. 

Primarily this is the Registrant – person listed on record.

Requirements for Ordering:  The applicant must provide a completed application and a copy of a valid photo identification.  

Acceptable forms of identification are the following: 

+ Photo Driver’s License + Photo State Issued ID + Employment ID

+ School, College or University ID + US Military ID + Tribal ID

+ Alien Registration/Permanent Resident Card + Temporary Resident Card + US Passport

OR two forms of identification from the following list: 

+ Social Security Card + Utility Bill (showing address) + Medicaid Card

+ SNAP/EBT card (showing address) + Work Identification + Veteran Universal Access ID Card

Nonrefundable: Vital record fees are nonrefundable, with the exception of fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. 

Failure to Receive:  Complaints of failure to receive certified records will be honored within 6 months of the original request.  Please 

allow three (3) weeks after mailing the request to make inquires to this office.  Inquiries about copies ordered with 

payment for special courier delivery should be made within 7 days of the request.  Mail returned because of 

insufficient address will be re-mailed if this office is notified of correct address within 6 months of request. 

Options for Service:  Certified copies of Single Status verification may be ordered in person or by mail.  Payment of fees is required 

at the time of ordering. 

• WALK-IN SERVICE is available at 222 Marketridge Dr., Ridgeland, MS between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm.

Single Status verification will be mailed within 7 - 10 days of the request.

• MAIL-IN requests will be processed in the order received and will be returned by regular U.S. Postal Service, unless

accompanied by a prepaid special courier self-addressed envelope.

• QUESTIONS – Questions or requests for an application should be directed to 601-206-8200.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT AND COPY OF IDENTIFICATION TO: 

MISSISSIPPI VITAL RECORDS 

P.O. BOX 1700 

JACKSON, MS  39215-1700 


