
 

Applicants for EMS Driver Certification: 
 

o Attach completed “Application for Mississippi EMS Certification” form (OEPR‐AP07) 
o Attach a copy of driver‐training certificate. 
o Attach a copy of state driver’s license 
o Attach an official copy of current driver’s history from the licensing state. 

If resources are available, BEMS can provide a Mississippi Driver’s History Check onsite 
for a fee of $15.00 beginning April 1, 2017. 

 

Applicants for Medical First Responder Certification: 
 

o Attach a copy of National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians wallet card. 
 

Applicants for EMT/Paramedic Certification: 
 

o Attach a copy of National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians wallet card. 
o Attach the original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.   

(JMCAs more than 90 days old will cause the application to be returned without action.) 
o Attach a copy of the reciprocity agreement from home state.  There is a processing fee 

in the amount of $25.00 for Provider Certification Reciprocity.  This is in addition to 
state certification fee. 
(This applies to those previously certified at any level in another state.)   
All copies must be clear and legible. 

o Contact the state office (601‐576‐7380) if applying for initial Mississippi certification and 
training was obtained in another state. 

 

Applicants for Critical Care Paramedic Certification: 
 

o Attach a copy of Mississippi Paramedic Certification. 
o Attach copy of certification of successful completion of BEMS approved Critical Care 

Paramedic Training Program. (Certificates more than 24 months old will cause 
application to be returned without action.) 

o Copy of Associates Degree from regionally accredited college/university. 
o Copy of Current certification (FP‐C or CCP‐C);  
o Attach the original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.   

(JMCAs more than 90 days old will cause the application to be returned without action.) 
 

   

Application Instructions For Mississippi EMS Certification



Applicants for Critical Care Paramedic Re‐Certification: 
 

o Attach a copy of Mississippi Paramedic Certification. 
o Copy of Current certification (FP‐C or CCP‐C);  
o Attach the original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.   

(JMCAs more than 90 days old will cause the application to be returned without action.) 
o Attach a copy of American Heart Association’s Prehospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) 

certification wallet card.  
o Proof of completion of 48 BEMS Approved Critical Care Continuing Education Hours.  

(ALS Training Institutions providing the training shall track hours and provide certificate of 
completion to each student.  Each EMS Agency’s off‐line medical director must verify with 
his/her signature each critical care paramedic continuing education requirement for 
submission to BEMS each certification period.) 
Proof of completion of BEMS Approved 24 hour Critical Care Bi‐Annual Refresher.  

 

Fees, Fines and Payments: 
 

o All applications shall be submitted with appropriate fees (see table below) and any 
additional fines or fees are required. 

o Fees may be paid by cash, business check or money order. Credit cards, personal checks 
and ATM cards are not accepted.   

o A Provider Reinstatement Fee of $40.00 shall be applied ‐ in addition to all other 
applicable certification costs ‐ to those EMS personnel recertifying with a lapsed or 
suspended Mississippi Certification. 

 

Certification Level  Certification
Cost 

Certification 
Cost as of 4/1/2017 

Recertification 
Cost 

Recertification 
Cost as of 4/1/2017 

EMS Driver  $35.00  $40.00  $35.00  $40.00 

EMS Driver 8‐Year  $70.00  $80.00  $70.00  $80.00 

Medical First 
Responder 

$10.00  $10.00  $10.00  $10.00 

EMT  $35.00  $40.00  $35.00  $40.00 

Paramedic  $35.00  $40.00  $35.00  $40.00 

Critical Care 
Paramedic 

$60.00  $69.00  $60.00  $69.00 

 

 It is recommended to begin the recertification process three to four 
months prior to your expiration date. (i.e. December prior to expiration year) 

 Submit the application and fee to the address on the application. 
 Application processing takes approximately four to six weeks. If your 

application is incomplete, your renewal may be return or delayed. 
 



Applicant Information: 
Legal Name:  List your full name:  first, middle and last. 
Address:  List the address to be used to send any information about your credentials.  Be sure 
to include city, state, zip code.  This will be your permanent record with the department of 
Health until notification of change has been received by this office. 
Phone:  Enter your phone number. 
Email:  Enter your email address.  You must have one on file to utilize the external portal for 
recertification. 
Date of Birth:  Provide the month, day and year of your birth.  (mm/dd/yy) 
Social Security Number:  Enter your social security number. 
County of Residence:  Enter the county which your address (as listed above) is located. 
Highest Level of Education Completed:  Select the number that best applies to the level of 
education you received at the time of the application.  (E.g. 12/GED – Completed High School, 
Diploma or GED received.) 
Driver’s License Number:  Enter your Driver’s License Number, issuing state and expiration 
date. 
NREMT Number:  Enter your National Registry for Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) 
number and expiration date.  Your state certification will expire concurrently with your national 
certification. 
 

Employment and Training: 
I will be working at this level:  Enter the level you will be employed at primary service. 
Agency:  Enter Agency Name, county, address, phone, city, state, zip code. 
Operations Manager/Supervisor:  Enter name of Operations Manager (as listed on JMCA) 
Training Site:  This section for initial Mississippi certification only, and is not required for 
recertification.   
For initial certification list the name of the training site, the lead instructor, city and state, the 
name of the physician coordinator, and date of completion. 
In the spaces Indicated, enter all states outside of Mississippi where health care provider 
credentials are or were held.  Specifically, list credentials granted as temporary, reciprocity or 
similar.  Attached additional pages if necessary.   
 

Attestation: 
Applicant Attestation:  Sign and date indicating that all information on this application are true 
and correction.  This section must be complete in order for this office to process your 
application. 

 



Form#_OEPR-AP07 09/2007 

Applicant Information 

Full Name: ______________________ _____ _______________________ 
First M.I. Last 

Address: ___________________________________________________________ ______________ 
Street Address Apartment/Unit # 

_______________________________________________ ___________ ______________ 

City State ZIP Code 

Phone: ________________________ Email _______________________________ 

DOB: ______________ Social Security No.: ______________ County of Residence ________________ 

Highest Level Education Completed (Select One): 12/GED 13 14 15 16 17 18+ 

Drivers Lic # _________________ Issuing State _________ Expiration Date __________________ 

NREMT # ________________________________________ Expiration __________________ 

Employment and Training 

I will be working at this level: □ Full Time □ Part Time □ Volunteer
Agency: ___________________________________ County: ________________ 
Address: ___________________________________ Phone: ________________ 
Address2: ___________________________________ 
City:   _________________________ State:  _______ Zip:  _______________ 

Operations Manager/Supervisor: ______________________________________________________ 

Training Site ____________________ Lead Instructor __________________________ 
City/State ____________________ Physician __________________________ 
Date of Completion I have been previously certified in the following states: 

_____ _____ _____ 

This section for initial Mississippi certification only, not required for recertification. 

I hereby affirm that all statements on this application are true and correct and that false statements or documents 
may be sufficient cause for rejection and/or revocation of all Mississippi EMS Certifications. 

Signature: _____________________________ Date: _____________
WARNING:  Mississippi Code Annotated 97-7-10:  Fraudulent statements and representations provides for severe penalties from misrepresentation or 
fraudulent statements to a board.  This statute authorizes a fine of up to ten thousand ($10,000) and a jail sentence of up to five (5) years. 

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY Date Received: 

Driver Course Cert Exp 

Cert Level J M C A 

Cert Approval Reciprocity Sent Date 

Check One Check One Complete (type or print in ink) and mail to: 

□ Medical First Responder □ Initial Bureau of Emergency Medical Services 

□ EMT □ Recertification MS State Department of Health 

□ Paramedic POBox 1700 

□ Critical Care Paramedic Jackson, MS 39215-1700 

□ EMS Driver

APPLICATION FOR MISSISSIPPI EMS CERTIFICATION 
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