APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED MISSISSIPPI STATISTICAL RECORD OF MARRIAGE

Mississippi State Department of Health Vital Records P. O. Box 1700, Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

INFORMATION ABOUT BRIDE AND GROOM WHOSE STATISTICAL RECORD OF MARRIAGE IS REQUESTED (Please Print)					
NAME OF GROOM	FIRST NAME	MIDDLE NAME		LAST NAME	
OR PARTNER					
NAME OF BRIDE	FIRST NAME	MIDDLE NAME		LAST NAME	
OR PARTNER					
DATE OF	MONTH	DAY		YEAR (FOUR DIGIT)	
MARRIAGE					
PLACE OF	COUNTY	CITY OR TOWN		STATE	
MARRIAGE					
PLACE LICENSE	COUNTY	CITY OR TOWN		STATE	
WAS ISSUED					
PERSON REQUESTING CERTIFIED COPY					
RELATIONSHIP OR INTERI	EST OF PERSON REQUESTING CERT	IFICATE	PURPOSE FOR WH	ICH COPY IS TO BE USED	
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT			DATE		

A MARRIAGE RECORD SEARCH REQUIRES ADVANCE PAYMENT OF A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF \$17.00 AND VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION.

Pursuant to Section 41-57-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated, and as defined by Mississippi State Board of Health Rules and Regulations, I hereby certify that I have a legitimate and tangible interest in the marriage record requested. I understand that obtaining a record under false pretenses may subject me to the penalty as described in Section 41-57-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated.

Records have been kept in this office since January 1, 1926, except from July 1, 1938, to December 31, 1941, records were kept by the Circuit Court Clerk in the county.

The \$17.00 fee entitles the applicant to one certified copy of the marriage record on file. If the record is not found, a "Not on File" statement will be issued	l. \$17.00	Х	1	=	\$17.00
Additional Certified copies of the same certificate ordered at the same time. \$6.00 for each additional copy.	\$6.00	Х		=	
TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED. Check (personalized with name, address, bank branch name and address printed on check) or Money Order payable to Mississippi Vital Records. Mississippi law allows an additional service	TOTALS		No. of copie	S	Amt. Enclosed

charge for dishonored checks. (DO NOT SEND CASH)

PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED

Failure to provide the proper identification will result in the application being returned to you without processing. Acceptable forms of identification are: Valid Driver's License, State Issued Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card, Valid School, College or University Identification. (See back for other acceptable forms.).

MAILING ADDRESS REQUIRED REGARDLESS OF DELIVERY METHOD

Applicant Name (Type or Print)			
Delivery Address, including APT. nun	ber if applicable		Home phone number, including area code
City	State	ZIP code	Work phone number, including area code

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR MARRIAGE RECORD APPLICATION

<u>Eligibility:</u> A certified copy of a marriage certificate can be issued only to a person with legitimate and tangible interest as defined by the Rules Governing the Registration and Certification of Vital Events. Primarily this is:

- 1) Registrant(s), persons listed on the record.
- 2) Parent(s) of the registrant listed on the marriage record; proof of relationship required.
- 3) Spouse, sibling(s), or grandparent(s)/child(ren) of registrant, proof of relationship required.
- 4) Legal representative of one of the above persons, proof of representation must be provided.
- 5) Other person(s) by court order, certified copy of court order must be provided.

For Genealogy purposes – Genealogy must be stated as purpose for certificate. Relationship to applicant must be provided. Plain paper copies are provided for genealogy purposes.

<u>Requirements for Ordering:</u> If applicant is self, spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling, child, grandchild, or legal representative, then the applicant must provide a completed application and a copy of a valid photo identification of the applicant. Acceptable forms of identification are the following:

+ Photo Driver's License		+ Photo State Issued ID		+ Employment ID	
+ School, College or University ID		+ US Military ID		+ Tribal ID	
+ Alien Registration/Permanent Resident Card		+ Temporary Resident Card		+ US Passport	
OR two forms of identification from the following list:					
+ Social Security Card	+ Utility E	Bill (showing address)	+ Med	icaid Card	
+ Snap/EBT card (showing	+ Work Id	lentification	+ Vete	ran Universal Access ID	
address)			Card		

Legal representatives must submit proof of legal representation with this application. Legal representatives must provide attorney bar number, name of person represented, and their relationship to the registrant. If you are an agent of local, state, or federal agency requesting a record, indicate in the space provided for "relationship" the name of the agency.

<u>Relationship to Registrant:</u> A person ordering his or her own certificate should enter "SELF" in this space. Also, explain if name has been changed by marriage, legal name change (when and where), etc. Others must identify their relationship to the registrant clearly. For genealogy, relationship to applicant must be provided.

Nonrefundable: Vital record fees are nonrefundable, with the exception of fees paid for additional copies when no record is found.

- <u>Failure to Receive:</u> Complaints of failure to receive certified records will be honored within 6 months of the original request. If the copy was to be returned to you by U.S. Postal Service, please allow four (4) weeks after mailing the request before inquiring. Inquiry about copies ordered with payment for special courier delivery should be made within 7 days of the request. Mail returned because of insufficient address or address changes will be re-mailed if this office is notified of correct address within 6 months of request.
- <u>Options for Service</u>: Certified copies of birth records may be ordered in person, by mail, or, if paying by credit card, online or by telephone. Processing time is generally 7 10 business days after receipt of request. If amendment action is necessary, additional processing time will be required. **Payment of fees is required at the time of ordering.**
 - WALK-IN SERVICE is available at 222 Marketridge Dr., Ridgeland, MS; please call 601-206-8200 for the hours of
 operation. Marriage records are not available same day, all records will be mailed 7 10 business days after receipt of
 request.
 - MAIL-IN requests, either on the form provided or as a free form request will be processed in the order received and will be returned by regular U.S. Postal Service, unless accompanied by a prepaid special courier self-addressed envelope.
 - **PAYMENT BY CREDIT CARD** can be done using an online service or by telephone. You can visit <u>www.msdh.ms.gov</u>; under popular topics; choose Birth and Death Certificates. If you have any questions or need additional assistance, call 601-206-8200. A recorded message outlining ordering requirements and options can be accessed by dialing 601-206-8200, option 1.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT AND COPY OF IDENTIFICATION TO: MISSISSIPPI VITAL RECORDS P.O. BOX 1700 JACKSON, MS 39215-1700