Mississippi State Department of Health
  [close]

The Bureau of EMS licenses Emergency Medical Responders (EMR), Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT) and Paramedics in the state of Mississippi.

Emergency Medical Services Personnel Applications and Forms

For those seeking license or certification, an application should be completed and submitted with the required fee and documentation by mail to:

Bureau of EMS
Mississippi State Department of Health
P.O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215-1700

For those seeking recertification of EMT or Paramedic only, the Bureau now offers an eLicense system to process recertification applications.

Additionally, the status of a license or certification is available through the MS EMS verification portal. (Search requires First and Last Name, Application Level, and Date of Birth.)

Certification typeRequirements
EMS Driver Certification or Re-Certification: Completed "Application for Mississippi EMS Certification" form (OEPR-AP07)
Copy of driver-training certificate.
Clear, copy of state driver's license
Official copy of current driver's history from the licensing state.
Required fee(s).
EMT/Paramedic Certification or Re-certification: Completed Application for Mississippi EMS Certification form (OEPR-AP07)
Copy of National Registry of EMTs Certification.
Original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.
Reciprocity agreement from home state, if applicable.
Required fee(s).
Medical First Responder Certification or Re-Certification: Completed Application for Mississippi EMS Certification form (OEPR-AP07)
Copy of National Registry of EMTs Certification.
Original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.
Reciprocity agreement from home state, if applicable.
Required fee(s).
Critical Care Paramedic Certification: Completed Application for Mississippi EMS Certification form (OEPR-AP07)
Copy current Mississippi Paramedic Certification.
Copy of certification of BEMS approved Critical Care Paramedic Training Program.
Copy of Associate Degree from regionally accredited college/university.
Copy of Current certification (FP-C or CCP-C);
Original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.
Required fee(s).
Critical Care Paramedic Re-Certification: Completed Application for Mississippi EMS Certification form (OEPR-AP07)
Copy of Mississippi Paramedic Certification.
Copy of Current certification (FP-C or CCP-C);
Original, signed Jurisdictional Medical Control Agreement.
Copy of American Heart Association's Prehospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) certification.
Copy of Certification of 48 BEMS Approved Critical Care Continuing Education Hours.
Copy of Certification of BEMS Approved 24-hour Critical Care Bi-Annual Refresher.
Required Fee(s).

Fines and Payments

Mississippi EMS fees are established to maintain or increase funding for the licensing, certifying, investigating, monitoring and conducting other required activities to ensure public health and safety for Mississippians needing emergency medical services. The fees calculated do not exceed the estimated cost to the Agency for performing licensing, certification and other regulatory duties.

Each application for an emergency medical technician certificate shall be accompanied by a certificate fee. Beginning April 1, 2017, the fee schedule for Certification will be amended as follows:

Certification Level Certification Cost Certification Cost
4/1/17
Re-Certification Cost Re-Certification Cost
4/1/17
EMS Driver $35.00 $40.00 $35.00 $40.00
EMT -Driver (8 Year) $70.00 $80.00 $70.00 $80.00
EMT - Basic / EMT $35.00 $40.00 $35.00 $40.00
EMT - Paramedic / Paramedic $35.00 $40.00 $35.00 $40.00
Emergency Medical First Responder $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00
New Critical Care Paramedic $60.00 $69.00 $60.00 $69.00
EMS Driver History NA $15.00 NA $15.00
Provider Certification Reciprocity NA $25.00 NA $25.00

Fees may be paid by cash, business check or money order. Credit cards, personal checks and ATM cards are not accepted.

* A Provider Reinstatement Fee of $40.00 shall be applied – in addition to all other applicable certification costs – to those EMS personnel recertifying with a lapsed or suspended Mississippi Certification.



Links referenced
Application    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/2949.pdf
Application for Mississippi EMS Certification    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/2949.pdf
National Registry of EMTs Certification.    https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/dashboard/check-cert-status
Application for Mississippi EMS Certification    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/2949.pdf
National Registry of EMTs Certification.    https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/dashboard/check-cert-status
Application for Mississippi EMS Certification    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/2949.pdf
Application for Mississippi EMS Certification    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/2949.pdf
Certification/Recertification Application    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/index.cfm/47,2949,307,pdf/cert_recert_application.pdf
Advanced Life Support Requirements    http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/index.cfm/47,6199,307,374,html

Find this page at http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/index.cfm/index.cfm

print  close