
Date: 3/16/2020

To:  Officials and Operators of Public Water Systems

From: MS State Department of Health
Bureau of Public Water Supply

In response to the COVID-19 Pandemic, please be aware that on March 15,
2020, the Public Service Commission (PSC) released the attached order, which
states  in  part,  “that  no  utility  shall  disconnect  any  water,  sewer,  gas,  or
electricity service to any customer unless there exists a threat to public safety
unrelated to nonpayment for services for a period of sixty (60) days from the
date of this order.”

Furthermore, it is our understanding that the Commission has the ability to
suspend disconnections of ALL water,  sewer,  gas,  and electricity  during the
state  of  emergency.  While  the  Commission  typically  does  not  have  rate
jurisdiction  over  rural  water  associations  and  municipal  utilities  for  those
customers who live within one mile of the corporate limits of the municipality,
the  Governor’s  declaration  of  a  state  of  emergency  clearly  allows  the
Commission to take the action directed in its order suspending disconnections.
Here are some points that support this ability:

 The Commission issues certificates of public convenience and necessity.
During this  public  health emergency, the necessity of these utilities is
more vital than ever to ensure the public health and safety of the citizens
of the State of Mississippi.

 This action was also developed in conjunction with, and at the request
of,  Mississippi  public  health  officials  and  emergency  management
officials.



 The disconnection prohibition is temporary, narrowly focused, and will
be  continuously  monitored  in  conjunction  with  the  Mississippi  State
Department  of  Health  and  the  Mississippi  Emergency  Management
Agency.

 The  Commission’s  actions  in  this  regard  are  specifically  designed  to
protect the public health, and to help prevent the spread of the novel
coronavirus that causes COVID-19. Indeed, the Commission is statutorily
charged  with  ensuring  the  availability  of  utility  services  in  order  to
protect the public health and safety and the promotion of the general
welfare. Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 77-3-2(f).

 The Commission has at its disposal various avenues to enforce its orders.
o The first is to impose fines of up to $5,000.00 per day, per violation

for failure to abide by the Commission order against the utility that
disobeys the Commission order. Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 77-1-53.

o The second is to go directly to court to have the court enforce the
Commission’s order via any of the remedies available to the court.
Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 77-3-75.

o The third is that violation of a Commission order is also a crime,
punishable by a $2,500.00 fine, per violation. Miss. Code Ann. Sec.
77-3-81.

While  the Commission does not  wish to have to travel  down any of  those
paths,  it  will  take  the  actions  it  deems necessary  during  the  public  health
emergency.

Enclosed: Full text of the Public Service Commission order.

For other updates visit our website.
MS State Department of Health www.HealthyMS.com

 or http://HealthyMS.com/covid-19

Bureau of Public Water Supply emergency/after hours (769)-798-4258
Normal business hours 8am-5pm (601) 576-7518
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http://HealthyMS.com/covid-19













