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MissIsSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Dear Applicant:

Enclosed you will find the forms necessary for you to apply for licensure as an Athletic Trainer. It is
strongly suggested that you read the Regulations prior to filling out the application, and then examine the
directions entitled "STEPS TO LICENSURE" to see which forms are appropriate for you.

Please note the following:

(a) Applications not completed in their entirety will be returned, minus the application
fee, which is non-refundable.

(b) The photograph must be a "passport photo."

(c) The name on the application must match the name on the driver's license or Social
Security Card. We will not accept nicknames, abbreviations, or alterations.

(d) All fees are to be made payable to the Mississippi State Department of Health.

If you have any questions regarding the above, please contact our office as follows:

MISSISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE-ATHLETIC TRAINER
P.0.BOX 1700

JACKSON, MS 39215-1700

(601) 364-7360

Please be advised that it is ille gal for any person, corp oration or association to, in any manner,
represent himself or itself as a athletic trainer, sendut billings as providing athletic training services,
or use in connection with his or its name, the titles “athletic trainer”, “trainer”, “certified athletic
trainer”, or “licensed athletic trainer” or usethe letters “LAT?, “ATC”, “AT”, “CAT” or any other
facsimile thereof when he or she is not licensed imccordance with the provkions of these regulations
or meets the exemptions set f orth in the statute and/or regulations. Individuals engaging in such
practices, or employing non-licensed practitioners, will be subject to criminal and/or civil penalties.

143-B LeFleurs Square « Post Office Box 1700 « Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700
Bureau of Health Facilities e Division of Professional Licensure e Division of Childcare Licensure
Criminal History Record Check Unit
601/364-1100 = Fax 601/364-5055 ® www.HealthyMS.com
Equal Opportunity In Employment/Service



STEPS TO LICENSURE
ATHLETIC TRAINERS

Enclosed is a licensing packet for Athletic Trainers. The requirements for each are
as follows:

1. BOARD OF CERTIFICATION (BOC) FORMERLY NATA:

Completed, notarized application.

Copy of driver’s license or social security card.

Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
Application fee - $100.00 (non-refundable)

Copy of current Board of Certification (BOC) card.

Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.

P o0 T

2. Endorsement:

Completed, notarized application.

Copy of driver’s license or social security card.

Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
Application fee - $100.00 (non-refundable)

Information Verification Form.

Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.

SO0 T

All requirements must be on file and satisfactory to this office before a license may
be issued.
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MIississIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Check No.

Athletic Trainer
Application for Licensure

Amount $

/

(Please type or print in ink) Date

1. Date:
2. Name:
Last First Middle

3. Home Address: 4. Telephone Number: ( )
5. 6.

City State Zip Code
7. Email Address:
8. Social Security Number: - - 9. Date of Birth: / /
10. Race: 11. Sex: Male d Female 4 12. U.S.Citizen Nod YesUd 13. Legal Alien Nod YesU

14. Place of Employment:

15. Title of Position: 16. Supervisor:
17. Employment Address: 18. Telephone Number: ( )
City State Zip Code
19. Are there any criminal or civil suits pending against you? NoQ YesUd
20. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor? NoU Yesd

21. Have you ever had any license, registration, or certificate encumbered in any way, i.e.,
revoked, suspended, censured, rejected, denied, placed on probation, reprimanded, etc.?
If yes, attach a full explanation including the type of license, registration, or certificate,

and jurisdiction where the action occurred. NoQ YesU
22.a. Are you currently registered by the Board of Certification, Inc.? Nold YesUd
b. BOC certification number: (attach a copy of your certification)
23. Are you currently licensed in another state in the area of Athletic Training? NoU Yesd

If yes, what state? (Attach a copy of current license)

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 191 E
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Subscribed and sworn to before me this day I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear or affirm that I am the above
applicant. I have read the above application and all statements
contained therein or accompanying this application are true to the
best of my knowledge and belief. I have also read and understand

the Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainer and affirm
that all conditions for licensure have been met and will be maintained.

of ,20

My commission expires

Notary Public Applicant’s Signature
Notary Seal Copy of Social Security Card
or

Drivers License

Complete form, enclose fee and mail to: Mississippi State Department of Health ...................................................................................

Professional Licensure: Athletic Trainer
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Photo
(only a Passport Photo
will be accepted)

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 191 E
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Athletic Trainer
Information/Verification Between States

Instructions:

Complete Part I of this form and send to the licensing board of the state or jurisdiction in which you hold a
current license. Once they complete Part II, this form should be forwarded to the address on the back of this
form.

Part I

~To Be Completed by Applicant ~
To Whom This May Concern:

I am applying for a license as a Athletic Trainer in the State of Mississippi and hereby consent to the
release of any information, favorable or otherwise, which you may have concerning my license or my
practice. When both (Parts I and II) are completed, please return the form to the licensing authority noted
on the back of this form.

Applicant’s Signature:

Date:
Type or Print Full Name:
First Middle Last

Address:

Street/Post Office Box City State Zip
Date of Birth: / / Social Security Number: - -
Employer: Supervisor:
Your Job Title: Telephone Number: ( )

Description of License Held in Other Jurisdiction:

Jurisdiction: License Number:

Title of License:

Date Issued: Expiration Date:

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 191 E
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Athletic Trainer

Information/Verification Between States
Part 11

~To Be Completed by State Board ~

1. Does the above information confirm with that in your records? d Yes d No W If no, please explain:

2. Did the applicant obtain the original license from your state? d Yes W No If no, which state issued

the original license?

3. Was the applicant licensed under a “grandfathering” provision? W Yes W No
4. Is the applicant a registered Athletic Trainer? W Yes W No

5. Do you consider the applicant to be in good standing at this time? W Yes W No If no, please explain:

6. According to your records, has the applicant ever been disciplined by your board, any state agency or
by any professional organization? W Yes d No. If yes, please explain and attach a copy of the order,

decree or other relevant documentation.

7. Do you have any additional comments regarding the applicant’s license or practice?

Date:

Board Chair or Designated Offical

Title of Board

Address

City State Zip Phone

Upon completion of this form by the Licensure/Registration Authority, please forward to:
Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure: Athletic Trainer
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 191 E
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Title 15: Mississippi State Department of Health
Part 19: Bureau of Professional Licensure

Subpart 60: Professional Licensure

CHAPTER 1: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS
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Title 15: Mississippi State Department of Health
Part 19: Bureau of Professional Licensure

Subpart 60: Professional Licensure

CHAPTER 1: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS

Subchapter 1:General:

Rule 1.1.1

Purpose: The purpose of these regulations is to safeguard the public's
health, safety, and welfare by establishing minimum qualifications and
creating exclusive titles corresponding to the level of qualifications for
individuals who wish to offer athletic trainer services to the public. Further,
in order to insure the highest degree of professional conduct by those
engaged in offering athletic trainer services to the public, it is the purpose
of these regulations to provide and impose disciplinary sanctions, be they
civil or criminal, against persons who do not meet or adhere to the
procedures, qualifications, and standards set out in this chapter

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.1.2

Legal Authority: The Mississippi State Board of Health is authorized to
establish and enforce these rules and procedures by virtue of "The
Mississippi Athletic Trainers Act of 1991,” Sections 73-55-1 et seq. of
Mississippi Code of 1972, annotated.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.

Rule 1.1.3

Definitions: The following terms shall have the meaning set forth below,
unless the context otherwise requires:

"Board" shall mean the Mississippi State Board of Health.

"Council" shall mean the Mississippi Council of Advisors in Athletic
Training

"License" shall mean the document of licensure issued by the Board.

"Athletic Training" means the treatment of an athlete for risk
management and athletic injury prevention, the clinical evaluation and
assessment of an athlete for an injury or illness, or both, the immediate
care and treatment for an injury or illness, or both, and the rehabilitation
and reconditioning of an athlete's injury or illness, or both, as long as
those activities are performed under the direction of a licensed physician,
nurse practitioner or physician assistant. The practice of athletic training
does not include the practice of physical therapy, the practice of medicine,

Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainers Office of Health Protection
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the practice of osteopathic medicine and surgery, the practice of nursing
or the practice of chiropractic.

5. "Athletic Trainer" means a person licensed by the Department of Health
as an athletic trainer after meeting the requirements of these rules and
regulations who, upon the advice, consent and oral or written prescriptions
or referrals of a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician
assistant, carries out the practice of athletic training, and in carrying out
these functions the athletic trainer is authorized to use physical modalities,
such as heat, light, sound, cold, electricity or mechanical devices related
to prevention, recognition, evaluation, management, disposition,
rehabilitation and treatment. An athletic trainer shall practice only in those
areas in which the athletic trainer is competent due to training or
experience that can be substantiated by records or other evidence found
acceptable by the board in the exercise of the board's considered
discretion.

6. "Practice and Performance of Athletic Training" means functioning in
the nonclinical and clinical setting under the direction of a physician, nurse
practitioner, or physician assistant, evaluating, treating, and providing
appropriate immediate care and treatment to injuries incurred by an
athlete during participation in or training for scholastic, recreational,
professional, or sanctioned amateur athletic activities. Evaluation and
treatment by an athletic trainer in the nonclinical setting to supportive staff,
spectators, and other persons other than an athlete shall be limited to
immediate care and treatment. An athletic trainer functioning in a clinical
setting may evaluate and provide treatment for an athletic injury under the
direction or referral of a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician
assistant. An athletic trainer functioning in the nonclinical and clinical
setting may use therapeutic exercise and modalities such as heat, cold,
light, air, massage, water, sound and electricity for the treatment of
musculoskeletal injuries and the use of passive (manual and mechanical)
techniques for the purpose of treatment.

7. "Athlete" means an individual who participates in exercises, sports, or
games requiring physical strength, agility, flexibility, range of motion,
speed or stamina; or an individual with an athletic injury that a licensed
physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant deems would benefit
from athletic training services.

8. “Athletic Injury” means any injury sustained by a person as a result of the
person's participation in sports, games or recreational activities requiring
physical strength, flexibility, range of motion, speed or stamina, or
comparable injury.

Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainers Office of Health Protection
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9. "Clinical Setting" means a hospital, department, outpatient facility, or
clinic whose primary purpose is sports medicine, rehabilitation, or
wellness.

10.  "Nonclinical Setting" means a location where school, professional,
recreational, or sanctioned amateur athletic activities are being held.

11.  "Physician" means a physician licensed by the State Board of Medical
Licensure.
12. "BOC, Inc.,” means the Board of Certification, Incorporated, or its

successor agency, the National Credentialing Agency of Athletic Trainers;
formerly referred to as the National Athletic Trainers' Association Board of
Certification, Inc.

13.  "Act" means the Mississippi Athletic Trainers Licensure Act of 1991,
Section 73-55-1 et seq. of Mississippi Code of 1972, annotated.

14.  "Department” shall mean the Mississippi State Department of Health.
SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.

Rule 1.1.4 Publication: The Department shall publish, a list of the names and
addresses of all persons licensed by the Board as Athletic Trainers, and a
list of all persons whose licenses have been suspended, revoked, denied
renewal, put on probationary status, censured or reprimanded.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.
Subchapter 2: Athletic Trainers Advisory Council (“Council”)

Rule 1.2.1  Council Structure and Purpose: The Council shall consist of five (5)
members as set forth in the Act, for the terms indicated therein, and shall
serve under the jurisdiction of the Mississippi State Board of Health. The
purpose of the Council is to aid the Board in administering the provisions
of the Act.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.

Rule 1.2.2. Meeting: The Council shall meet as set forth in the Act. A quorum shall
consist of three (3) members of the Council, including the chairperson,
and shall be necessary for the Council to take action by vote.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.
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Subchapter 3: State Board of Health (“Board”)

Rule 1.3.1

Responsibilities: The Board, authorizes the Department with the advice
of the council to:

establish licensing and renewal of license criteria for applicants;

maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals licensed to practice as athletic
trainers, with such list being available, upon request, to the public;

refer disciplinary actions of any individual engaged in the practice of
athletic training to the appropriate government agency for prosecution,
whether licensed or otherwise, or, in its discretion, refer same to the
appropriate committee or council;

conduct disciplinary hearings, upon specified charges, of a licensee;

maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals whose license has been
suspended, revoked, or denied, and make such list available to public
inspection, and shall supply such list to similar regulatory boards in other
states or jurisdictions;

keep a record of all proceedings of the Board, and make said record
available to the public.

delegate, authorize, promulgate and regulate, as may be necessary, to
accomplish the purpose of the Act.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Subchapter 4:Licensure

Rule 1.4.1

Licensure Requirements: An applicant for licensure shall submit to the
Department, verified by oath, written evidence in form and content
satisfactory to the Department that the applicant;

Has satisfactorily completed all of the BOC, Inc, qualifications and is
certified as an athletic trainer by BOC, Inc, and is in good standing, or

Holds a degree in physical therapy and has completed the BOC, Inc.,
certification requirements.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-7; Miss. Code Ann. 8 73-55-17.
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Rule 1.4.2 Abandonment: An application shall be deemed abandoned by the
Department if, after six (6) months from the date of filing, the requirements
for licensing have not been completed and submitted to the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.
Subchapter 5: Professional Identification

Rule 1.5.1 Titles and Abbreviation: No person shall engage in athletic training or
use the titles "athletic trainer," "certified athletic trainer" or "licensed
athletic trainer” or use the letters "LAT," or "AT" or any other facsimile
thereof, whether or not compensation is received or expected, unless he
or she is licensed as an athletic trainer in the State of Mississippi.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.5.2 Production and Display of License: A person issued a license to
practice athletic training by the Mississippi State Board of Health shall
show said license when requested.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.
Subchapter 6:Renewal of License
Rule 1.6.1  General Provisions
1. The Board shall issue licenses that shall be renewed annually.
2. The licensure year shall be construed as January 1 through December 31.
SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.6.2 Procedure for Renewal of License: The Department shall mail a
renewal notice, at least thirty (30) days prior to the renewal date, to the
last address registered with the Department, to the persons to whom
licenses were issued or renewed during the preceding renewal period.
The licensee shall, either in written form or electronically if within the
specified renewal time:

1. complete the renewal form, and

2. submit proof of continuing education credit as detailed in Subchapter 7 of
these regulations, if required, and

3. enclose the renewal fee, and

4. file the above with the Department prior to the end of the renewal period.
Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainers Office of Health Protection
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SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.6.3

1.

Failure to Renew

A licensee who does not file, with the Department, his renewal application
within the renewal period will be deemed to have allowed his license to
lapse. Said licensee may be reinstated by the Department, in its
discretion, by the payment of the renewal fee and a reinstatement fee,
provided said application for reinstatement is made within one (1) year of
the end of the renewal period.

Any person seeking re-licensure after allowing a license to lapse shall be
required to meet all licensing requirements in effect at the time of the
application for relicensure.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Subchapter 7: Continuing Education

Rule 1.7.1

Definition and philosophy: Each individual licensed as an Athletic
Trainer is responsible for optimum service to the consumer and is
accountable to the consumer, the employer, and the profession for
evidence of maintaining high levels of skill and knowledge. Pursuant to
the Act, continuing education is mandatory. Continuing education is
defined as education beyond the basic preparation required for entry into
the profession, directly related to the performance and practice of Athletic
Training.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.

Rule 1.7.2

1.

Requirements

Continuing education requirements for license renewal shall be fulfilled
during two-year periods running concurrently with the requirement to
maintain certification through the BOC, Inc. Proof of the completion of
continuing education as required by this section shall be turned in to the
Department at the time of renewal of license, if requested.

Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall
be issued a probationary license for a term of one (1) year. Failure to
accrue the delinquent hours will result in the revocation of the license.
Hours accrued are first credited for the delinquent hours lacking from the
previous continuing education cycle.

Probationary licenses will be issued for one licensure term only. No
ensuing license may be probationary as a result of not meeting continuing
education requirements.
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4.

Continuing education requirements for all licensees, as to the substance
and the number of hours, shall be the same as that for BOC certification.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.7.3

Sources of Continuing Education: Continuing education hours may be
accrued from the following sources: Attendance at Mississippi Athletic
Trainers Association (MATA) sponsored meetings; National Athletic
Trainers Association (NATA) sponsored meetings approved for continuing
education credit by BOC, Inc., or other meetings or sources approved for
continuing education credit by BOC, Inc.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Subchapter 8:Revocation, Suspension and Denial of License

Rule 1.8.1 Standards of Conduct: Licensees may, at the discretion of the Board,
have their license suspended, revoked, or denied at the time of renewal if
the Board determines that the licensee is guilty of any of the following:

1. Is guilty of fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a license or
renewal of a license to practice athletic training.

2. Is unfit or incompetent by reason of gross ignorance, negligence, habits,
or other causes of incompetency.

3. Is habitually intemperate in the use of alcoholic beverage.

4. Is convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude.

5. Is knowingly practicing while suffering with a contagious or infectious
disease.

6. Is in violation of any of the applicable provisions of the Code for
Professional Practice of the National Athletic Trainers Association, Inc.

7. Is addicted to, or has improperly obtained, possessed, used, or distributed
habit-forming drugs or narcotics.

8. Is guilty of dishonest or unethical conduct.

9. Has practiced athletic training without a valid license.

10. Has violated, aided, or abetted others in violation of any provision of the
Act, or these regulations.

11.  Has engaged in any conduct considered by the Board to be detrimental to
the profession of athletic training.
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SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.8.2

2.

3.

Summary Suspension: The Board may summarily suspend a license
without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint and
notice of hearing, if the Board determines that:

The health, safety, or welfare of the general public is in imminent danger;
or

The licensee's physical capacity to practice his profession is in issue; or

The licensee's mental capacity to practice his profession is in issue.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.8.3

4.

5.

Complaints: All complaints concerning a licensee, his business, or
professional practice, shall be reviewed by the Department. Each
complaint received shall be logged, recording at a minimum the following
information:

licensee's name

name of the complaining party, if known;
date of complaint;

brief statement of complaint; and

disposition

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.8.4

Investigation: All complaints will be investigated and evaluated by the
administrative secretary or other authorized employee of the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-55-17.

Rule 1.8.5 Notice of Charges and Hearing:

1. Following the investigative process, the Department may file formal
charges against the licensee. Such formal complaint shall, at a minimum,
inform the licensee of the facts which are the basis of the charge and
which are specific enough to enable the licensee to defend against the
charges.

2. Each licensee, whose conduct is the subject of a formal charge which
seeks to impose disciplinary action against the licensee, shall be served
notice of the formal charge at least thirty (30) days before the date of
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hearing. A hearing shall be presided over by the Board or the Board's
designee. Service shall be considered to have been given if the notice
was personally received by the licensee, or the notice was mailed
certified, return receipt requested, to the licensee at the licensee's last
known address as listed with the state agency.

The notice of the formal hearing shall consist at a minimum of the
following information:

a. The time, place and date of hearing;

b. That the licensee shall appear personally at the hearing and may
be represented by counsel;

C. That the licensee shall have the right to produce withesses and
evidence in the licensee's behalf and shall have the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses and evidence,

d. That the hearing could result in disciplinary action being taken
against the licensee's license;

e. That rules for the conduct of these hearings exist and it may be in
the licensee's best interest to obtain a copy; and

f. That the Board, or its designee, shall preside at the hearing and
following the conclusion of the hearing shall make findings of facts,
conclusions of law and recommendations, separately stated, to the
Board as to what disciplinary action, if any, should be imposed on
the licensee.

The Board or its designee shall hear evidence produced in support of the
formal charges and contrary evidence produced by the licensee. At the
conclusion of the hearing, the Board shall issue an order, within sixty (60)
days.

Disposition of any complaints may be made by consent order or stipulation
between the Board and the licensee.

All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and
shall be preserved pursuant to State law.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Rule 1.8.6 Board Sanctions: The Board may impose any of the following sanctions,
singly or in combination, when it finds that a licensee is guilty of any of the
above offenses:

1. Revocation of the license;
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Suspension of the license, for any period of time;
Censure the licensee;
Issue a letter of reprimand to the licensee;

Place a license on probationary status and require the licensee to submit
to any of the following:

a. report regularly to the Board upon matters which are the basis of
probation;
b. continue to renew professional education until a satisfactory degree

of skill has been attained in those areas which are the basis of
probation; or

C. such other reasonable requirements or restrictions as are proper.
Refuse to renew a license; or

Revoke probation which has been granted and impose any other
disciplinary action in this subsection when the requirements of probation
have not been fulfilled or have been violated.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 8 73-55-17.

Rule 1.8.7

Appeal: Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board shall have a
right of appeal to the Chancery Court of the county where the hearing was
held in the manner provided for in the enabling statute and the Laws of the
State of Mississippi.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Subchapter 9: Exceptions and Exemptions

Rule 1.9.1 Exceptions: No person shall represent himself to be an athletic trainer
unless he is licensed by the Board.

1. The provisions of this chapter shall not restrict coaches and physical
education instructors in the performance of their duties.

2. The provisions of this chapter shall not restrict athletic trainers from other
nations, states, or territories performing their duties for their respective
teams or organizations and only during the course of their team or
organization's stay in this state.

Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainers Office of Health Protection
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Nothing in these regulations is intended to limit, preclude, or otherwise
interfere with the practices of other persons and health providers licensed
by appropriate agencies of the State of Mississippi.

Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to authorize the practice of
medicine or nursing by any person not licensed by the State Board of
Medical Licensure or the Mississippi Board of Nursing.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Subchapter 10: Criminal Offenses and Punishment

Rule 1.10.1 Offenses: Itis a violation for any person to:

1.

8.

Sell, fraudulently obtain or furnish any athletic trainer permit, license,
record, or aid or abet therein.

Practice athletic training under cover of any athletic training diploma,
permit, license, or record illegally or fraudulently obtained or issued.

Impersonate in any manner or pretend to be an athletic trainer or use the
titles, "Athletic Trainer" the letters, "A.T." or any other words letters, signs,
symbols or devices to indicate the person using them is a licensed Athletic
Trainer, unless duly authorized by license or permit.

Practice athletic training during the time his license or permit is
suspended, revoked, or expired.

Fail to notify the board of the suspension, probation or revocation of any
past or currently held licenses, required to practice athletic training in this
or any other jurisdiction.

Make false representations, impersonate, act as a proxy for another
person, allow, or aid any person to impersonate him in connection with
any examination or application for licensing or request to be examined or
licensed.

Make a material, false statement in an application for licensure, or in a
response to any inquiry by the State Department of Health or the Board.

Otherwise violate any provisions of the Act.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Rule 1.10.2 Punishment: Such violation shall be punishable by a fine of not less than

One Hundred Dollars ($100.00), nor more than Five Hundred Dollars
($500.00) or by imprisonment of not less than ten (10) days nor more than
sixty (60) days, or by both fine and imprisonment for each violation.

Regulations Governing Licensure of Athletic Trainers Office of Health Protection
Reformatted January 2012 - Amended April 13, 2016 Office of Licensure - Professional Licensure Division

11



SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Subchapter 11: Fees

Rule 1.11.1 Method of Payment: The following fees, where applicable, are payable
to the Mississippi State Department of Health by personal check, certified
check, cashier’s check, or money order. Fees paid to the State Board of
Health are non-refundable.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-55-17.

Rule 1.11.2 Schedule of Fees:

Application and Initial Licensure Fee - $100.00
Renewal Fee - $50.00

Reinstatement Fee - $200.00

Replacement Fee - $50.00

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 8§73-55-17.
Subchapter 12: Administrative Grievance Procedure

Rule 1.12.1 Administrative Appeals: All persons aggrieved by a decision regarding
the initial application for licensure, or the renewal of licensure, shall have
the right of administrative appeal and a hearing to be conducted according
to the policy of the Department of Health.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Rule 1.12.2 Notification: Written notice will be provided to all applicants regarding
denial of an original license or a renewal license. Such notice shall
contain the reason thereof and shall offer the applicant an opportunity to
submit additional information pertinent to their application for a second
review by the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-55-17.

Rule 1.12.3 Hearing: If requested in writing within the specified time frame a hearing
will be provided in which the applicant may show cause why the license
should be granted or renewed. Within sixty (60) days of the hearing, or
other such time frame as determined during the hearing, written findings of
fact, together with a recommendation for action on the license in question,
shall be forwarded to the State Health Officer. The State Health Officer
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ATHLETIC TRAINER LICENSURE PACKET
FORM No. 191 E

PURPOSE: To verify the qualification of an applicant for licensure.

MECHANICS AND FILING: The applicant shall send in all pages, even the ones they don’t

need to fill out. They can write NA on the ones not used.

RETENTION: The hard copy will be kept for a period of two (2) years after the license is

no longer valid.

PAGE 1 AND 2

ATHLETIC TRAINER APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

INSTRUCTIONS:

CoNo~LWNE

Date - enter date form is filled out.

Name - enter last name, first name, and middle name.

Address - enter house number, and street name.

Telephone Number - enter area code, and home telephone number.

City and State - enter city, and state of home address.

Zip - enter zip code of home address.

County - enter county of home address.

Social Security Number - enter social security number.

Date of Birth - enter date of birth.

Race - enter race.

Male/Female - check appropriate box.

U.S. Citizen - check appropriate box.

Legal Alien - check appropriate box.

Employment - enter place of employment.

Title - enter title of applicant's position.

Supervisor - enter name of supervisor.

Employment Address - enter address of place of employment.

Telephone Number - enter area code, and work telephone number.

Criminal/Civil Suites - check appropriate box.

Addicted to Drugs, Alcohol - check appropriate box, if affirmative, attach

explanation.

Convicted of Violations - check appropriate box, if affirmative, attach explanation.

(a) License/Permit Encumbered - check appropriate box, if affirmative, attach
explanation.

(b) Decree Change - check appropriate box, if affirmative, attach explanation.

Mentally Incompetent - check appropriate box, if affirmative, attach explanation.



24. (a) Certified - check appropriate box.
(b) NATA Number - enter certification number, attach copy of card.

25. (@) License in Another State - check appropriate box.
(b) State - enter what state applicant has license in, with a copy attached.

26. Applicant Signature and Notary - sign application, under oath before a notary public,
who will also sign and seal.

PAGE 3

ATHLETIC TRAINER
VERIFICATION OF RESIDENCY

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Date-enter date form is filled out.

2. Name-enter last name, first name, and middle name.

3. Home Address-enter house number, street name, city, state zip code, and county of
home address.

4. Telephone Number-enter area code and home telephone number.

5. Social Security Number-enter social security number.

6. Date of Birth-enter date of birth

7. Documents Attached-check two appropriate boxes and attach appropriate documents.

8. Applicant Signature-sign application.

PAGE 4 AND 5

ATHLETIC TRAINER
INFORMATION/VERIFICATION BETWEEN STATES

INSTRUCTIONS:

Part I:

Applicant's Signature - applicant will sign name on line.

Date - enter date form is filled out.

Type or Print Full Name - enter first name, middle name, and last name

Address - enter house number, street name, city, state, and zip code of home address
Date of Birth - enter date of birth

Social Security Number - enter social security number.

Employer - enter name of employer.

Supervisor - enter name of supervisor.

Your Job Title - enter job title.

0 Telephone Number - enter area code and telephone number of place of employment.
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11.
12.
13.
14.
15.

NGk wWNE

Jurisdiction - enter jurisdiction that issued other license
License Number - enter license number from other state.
Title of License - enter title of license from other state.
Date Issued - enter date license from other state was issued
Expiration Date - enter date license from other state expires.

Part II:

Information Confirmation - check box, and if negative, enter explanation.

Source of Original License - check box, and if negative, enter state of originator.
Grandfather License - check box.

NATABOC Examination - check box, and if affirmative, enter date.

Good Standing - check box, and if negative, enter explanation.

Record of Discipline - check box, and if affirmative, attach copy.

Additional Comments - enter in space provided.

Date - enter date form filled out by Board or regulatory agency, which they signs,
enter title and address, and affixes seal.
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