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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED MISSISSIPPI DEATH CERTIFICATE 

Mississippi State Department of Health 
Vital Records 

P. O. Box 1700, Jackson, Mississippi  39215-1700 
 
Full Name of 
Deceased 

FIRST  MIDDLE  LAST  

Date of Death 
 

MONTH DAY YEAR(4 DIGITS) 

Place of Death 
 

COUNTY CITY OR TOWN STATE 

Sex 
 

Race Social Security Number Age at Death State File Number 

Name of Father or Parent 
 

Name of Mother or Parent 

Funeral Home  
 

Funeral Director Name Address of Funeral Home 
 

PERSON OR FACILITY REQUESTING COPY 
Relationship or interest of person requesting certificate 
 

Purpose for which certified copy is to be used 

SIGNATURE of  Person Requesting 
 

DATE 
 

A DEATH RECORD SEARCH REQUIRES ADVANCE PAYMENT OF A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF $17.00 AND VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION. 
 
Pursuant to Section 41-57-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1975, Annotated, and as defined by Mississippi State Board of Health Rules and Regulations, I hereby 
certify that I have a legitimate and tangible interest in the death record requested.  I understand that obtaining a record under false pretenses may subject me to 
the penalty as described in Section 41-57-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated. 
 
The $17.00 fee entitles the applicant to one certified copy of the death record on file                  
(November 1, 1912 to present) or if the record is not found, a “Not on File”                        $17.00         X             1             =       $17.00     
statement will be issued.   
   
                                                                                                                                                          
 
Additional Certified copies of the same certificate ordered at the same time. 
$6.00 for each additional certified copy.                                                                                          $  6.00          X                                =                                 
 
 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Amt. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       No. of Copies            Enclosed  
Amount Enclosed.  Make money order payable to  
Mississippi Vital Records.  (DO NOT SEND CASH)                                                                      TOTALS          
    

 
 
 

PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED 
Failure to provide the proper identification will result in the application being returned to you without processing.  Acceptable forms of 
identification are: Valid Driver’s License, State Issued Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card, Valid 

School, College or University Identification. (See back for other acceptable forms.). 
 

 

MAILING ADDRESS REQUIRED REGARDLESS OF DELIVERY METHOD 
Requestors Name 
(Type or Print) 

 

Delivery Address 
(include APT number) 

 

City State ZIP Code 

Email Address: Cell Phone Number (include area code) Home/Work Phone Number (include area code) 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION 
 
Eligibility:  A certified copy of a death certificate can be issued only to a person with legitimate and tangible    
  interest as defined by the Rules Governing the Registration and Certification of Vital Events.  
  Primarily this is: 

1) Parent(s) listed on the death record. 
2) Spouse, sibling(s), or grandparent(s)/child(ren) of registrant, proof of relationship required. 
3) Informant, must be listed on death record. 
4) Legal Guardian, guardianship papers must be provided. 
5) Legal representative of one of the above persons, proof of representation must be provided. 
6) Other person(s) by court order, certified copy of court order must be provided. 
7) Funeral Home, must be the funeral home on record that took possession of the body. 
For Genealogy purposes - Genealogy must be stated as purpose for certificate.  Relationship to applicant must be 
provided.  Plain paper copies are provided for genealogy purposes. 

 
Requirements for Ordering:  If applicant is spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling, child, grandchild, or informant, guardian, legal 

representative, then the applicant must provide a completed application and a copy of a valid photo identification of 
the applicant. Acceptable forms of identification are the following:  

  
 Photo Driver’s License  Photo State Issued ID  Employment ID 
 School, College or University ID  US Military ID  Tribal ID 
 Alien Registration/Permanent Resident Card  Temporary Resident Card  US Passport 

OR two forms of identification from the following list: 
 Social Security Card  Utility Bill (showing address)  Medicaid Card 
 Snap/EBT card (showing address)  Work Identification  Veteran Universal Access ID Card 

 
Guardian or legal representative must submit proof of guardianship/legal representation with this application.  Legal 
representatives must provide attorney bar number, name of person represented, and their relationship to the registrant.  
If you are an agent of local, state or federal agency requesting a record, indicate in the space provided for 
“relationship” the name of the agency.  If you do not have one of the above referenced documents, please contact Vital 
Records at 601-206-8200. 

 
Relationship or interest to Applicant:  A person ordering a death certificate should enter the relationship or interest in this space.    

Others must identify their relationship to the registrant clearly.  For Genealogy purposes, relationship to applicant must 
be provided. 

 
Nonrefundable:    Vital record fees are nonrefundable, with the exception of fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. 
 
Failure to Receive:  Complaints of failure to receive certified records will be honored within 3 months of the original request.  If the 

copy was to be returned to you by U.S. Postal Service, please allow four (4) weeks after mailing the request before 
inquiring. Inquiry about copies ordered with payment for special courier delivery should be made within 7 days of the 
request.  Mail returned because of insufficient address or address changes will be re-mailed if this office is notified of 
correct address within 3 months of request. 

 
Options for Service:  Certified copies of death records may be ordered in person or if paying by credit card, online or by telephone.  

Processing time is generally 7 – 10 business days after receipt of request.  Payment of fees is required at the time of 
ordering. 

• WALK-IN SERVICE is available at 222 Marketridge Dr., Ridgeland, MS.  We accept credit cards, money orders or cash.  
Records from 2020 to present are available on the same day.  Records prior to 2020 will be mailed. 

• PAYMENT BY CREDIT CARD can be done using an online service or by telephone.  You can visit www.msdh.ms.gov; 
under popular topics, choose Birth and Death Certificates.  If you have any questions or need additional assistance call  
601-206-8200.   

 
 

 

http://www.msdh.ms.gov/
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