
1 

 

Title 15: Mississippi State Department of Health 

Part 11: Bureau of Child Care Facilities 

Subpart 55: Child Care Facilities Licensure 

CHAPTER 3: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF CHILD 

CARE FAMILY HOMES FOR 5 OR FEWER CHILDREN 

Subchapter 1. GENERAL 

Rule 3.1.1 Legal Authority: The "Mississippi Child Care Licensing Law," Section 

43-20-1 et seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972 provides the legal authority 

under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum 

regulations for child care facilities defined under the law. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.1.2 Purpose: 

1. The purpose of these regulations is to protect and promote the health 

and safety of children in this state by providing for the licensing of 

child care family homes as defined herein to assure that certain 

minimum standards are maintained in such homes. This policy is 

predicated upon the fact that a child is not capable of protecting 

himself, and when his parents for any reason have relinquished his care 

to others, there arises the probability of exposure of that child to certain 

risks to his health and safety that require the offsetting statutory 

protection of licensing. 

2. A child care family home may exceed the minimum quality standards 

required in these regulations but may not operate without meeting the 

minimum standards set forth in these regulations. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.1.3 Severability: If any provision of these regulations or the application 

thereof to any persons or circumstances shall be held invalid, such invalidity 

shall not affect the provisions or application of these regulations that can be 

given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end, the 

provisions of these regulations are declared severable. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.1.4 Definitions: 

1. Act: The "Mississippi Child Care Licensing Law," Section 43-20-1 et 

seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972. 

2. Accident: Accident means an incident that results in damage or creates 

observable injuries (scratch, bite mark, scraped knee, first aid given, 

etc.). 

3. Agency Representative: An authorized representative of the 

Mississippi State Department of Health. 

4. Caregiver: An individual at least 18 years of age with a minimum of 

one-year prior documented experience caring for children who are 

under thirteen years of age who provides direct child care, supervision, 

and guidance to children. 

5. Caregiver Assistant: An individual at least 16 years of age. Caregiver 

assistants shall always work under the direct on-site supervision of a 

director or caregiver. They shall not have direct responsibility for a 

group of children as the sole caregiver. Caregiver assistants under the 

age of 18 shall not be given the authority to discipline children. 

6. Children with Special Needs: A child needing adaptation in a 

particular child care family home to access programming and the 

physical environment. 

7. Critical Violation: Violation of rules(s) identified by the Mississippi 

State Department of Health (MSDH) in the Regulations Governing 

Licensure of Child Care Facilities as most critical because non- 

compliance with those rules pose a threat to the health, safety, or well- 

being of the children in care and to the operation of the center. 

8. Developmentally Appropriate Practice (DAP): Principles of 

guidelines that are appropriate to each child’s age and developmental 

status and responsive to the social and cultural context in which they 

live. 

9. Director: An individual at least 21 years of age with a minimum of 

high school diploma or equivalent GED and two years prior 

documented experience caring for children who are under 13 years of 

age who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to 

children. 

10. Emergency Preparedness Plan: Each child care family home is 
required to have an emergency preparedness plan which includes all activities 

and processes designed to prepare for an unsafe event and deal with the 

immediate emergency conditions created by or associated with the event, per 
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the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act 

(42U.S.C. 5195a(a)(1)). 

11. Child Care Family Home: Homes that care for five or fewer children. 

In a licensed child care home, the registered primary caregiver provides 

care in the caregiver's residence for not more than five children from 

birth through 13 years and may provide care after school hours for 

elementary school children. The total number of children in care at any 

given time, including the children related to the caregiver, must not 

exceed five. 

12. Field Trip: Activities conducted off the premises of the child care 

family home, or outside of the approved playground areas, while 

under the supervision of center staff, whether a child walks or is 

transported. 

13. Group: The children assigned to a caregiver or team of caregivers 

occupying an individual classroom or well-defined physical space 

within a larger room. 

14. Hazardous Condition: A situation or place that presents a possible 

source of injury or danger. 

15. Health: The condition of being sound in mind and body and 

encompassing an individual's physical, mental, and emotional welfare. 

16. Health-Care Professional: A licensed physician, nurse practitioner, 

dentist, or other licensed medical personnel who provides health care to 

the child. 

17. Infant: Children from birth through 12 months. 

18. Licensing Agency: The Mississippi State Department of Health. 

19. Operator: Any person, acting individually or jointly with another 

person or persons, who shall establish, own, operate, conduct or 

maintain a child care family home. The child care family home license 

shall be issued in the name of the operator or operators. If there is more 

than one operator, all statutory and regulatory provisions concerning 

the background checks of operators shall be equally applied to all, 

including a spouse who jointly owns, operates, or maintains the child 

care family home regardless of which operator is named on the license. 

20. Parent: As used in these regulations, parent shall mean custodial 

parent, legal guardian, foster parent, guardian ad litem, and other 

individuals or institutions to which a court of competent jurisdiction has 

granted legal authority over the child. 
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21. Person: Any person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association. 

22. Personal Care: Assistance rendered by personnel of the home in 

performing one or more of the activities of daily living, which includes 

but is not limited to the feeding, personal grooming, supervising, and 

dressing of children placed in the home. 

23. Physical Confines: The space inside the walls of the home. 

24. Premises: Includes any parcel of land where the child care center is 

located and any building, other structure, body of water, play 

equipment, street, sidewalk, walkway, driveway, parking garage, or 

parking lot on the parcel. 

25. Preschool Aged Children: Children from three years of age up to 

their first day of kindergarten. 

26. Professional Development: Participation by family home staff, in 

workshops, conferences, educational or provider associations, formal 

education, in-service training, or planned learning opportunities 

provided by qualified individuals. Training shall be age appropriate for 

the child population served by the family home and in such subject 

areas related to: child care, child growth and development and/or early 

childhood education, nutrition, infection control/communicable disease 

management and causes, health and safety, signs and treatment of child 

abuse and/or neglect and shall include alternatives to corporal 

punishment. Training for directors may also be in areas related to 

supervision of child care staff or program administration. 

27. Resident: Any person living in the child care family home. 

28. Safety: The condition of being protected from hurt, injury or loss. 

29. School Age Child: A child five years of age or older and eligible to be 

enrolled in a public school. A child that is five years old must have 

turned five on or before September 1 to be considered a school age 

child. 

30. Serious Occurrence: A serious occurrence includes but is not limited 

to, accidents or injuries requiring care by a health-care professional, 
deaths, alleged abuse and neglect, or other emergencies requiring the 

presence of law enforcement, fire personnel, EMT, or other emergency 

responders. Additionally, transportation accidents involving children in 

vehicles are considered serious occurrences and must be addressed by the 

appropriate authorities and child care staff. 

31. Supervision: Care that is provided to an individual child or a group of 

children. Children shall always be supervised appropriate to the 

individual age, needs, and capabilities of each child. Such supervision 
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must include, but not be limited to, indoor and outdoor activities, 

mealtimes, naptime, transportation, field trips, and transitions between 

activities. Adequate supervision means that the appropriate number of 

staff members are physically present in the area where children are 

being cared for and are providing watchful oversight to the children and 

volunteers. The persons supervising in the child care area must be alert, 

positioned to maximize their ability to always hear and see the children, 

able to respond promptly to the needs and actions of the children being 

supervised, as well as the actions of the volunteers, provide timely 

attention to the children's actions and needs and promptly intervene in 

the case of an emergency. Staff shall also be attentive and participate 

with children during mealtimes and shall stay within proximity to the 

children while they are eating. 

32. Time Out: The child is given time away from an activity which 

involved inappropriate behavior. 

33. Toddler: Any child aged 12 months and under the age of 24 months. 

34. Watchful Oversight: The process of actively monitoring a child’s 

activities. 

35. Weather Permitting: Daily weather conditions that do not pose any 

concerns for health and safety. This includes conditions in which 

children may still play safely outdoors for shorter periods with 

appropriate adjustments to clothing and access to water, shade, or 

shelter. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Subchapter 2.  LICENSURE 

Rule 3.2.1 Types of Licenses: 

1. Temporary License: The licensing agency may issue a temporary 

license to any child care family home. This license will allow the child 

care family home to operate six months pending the issuance of a 

regular license. The temporary license will reflect the date of issuance 

of the license, the expiration date, and the number of children for which 

the home is licensed. Before a Temporary License is issued and the 

home is allowed to begin operation, the following items must be 

submitted to and approved by the licensing agency: 

a. License application and $130.00 application fee. 

b. License fee - $50.00 

c. Documentation that the provider has a qualified director for the 

child care program that meets the standards set forth in Rule 3.5.3. 

d. “Letter of Suitability for Employment” for every employee as 

appropriate that is to begin work when the provider starts 

operation. 

e. An MSDH Certificate of Immunization Form #121 or Medical 

Exemption Form #122 for every employee. Religious Exemption 

Form #122 does not apply to staff. 

f. Valid MSDH Fire Inspection Form #333. 

g. Wastewater disposal approval. 

h. Potable water source approval for drinking water. 

i. Zoning approval. Follow local zoning requirements. 

j. Lead Testing approval: 

i. Building – required when high levels of lead are identified. 

ii. Playground 

k. Adult, Child and Infant CPR and First Aid certification as 

required for a person or persons who will be present at the home 

during all hours of operation. 

l. Daily Schedule of Activities - developed by provider. 
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m. Arrival and Departure Procedures - developed by provider. 

 

n. Emergency Policy – Emergency preparedness and response 
planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-

caused event (such as violence at a child care home), within the 

meaning of those terms under section 602(a)(1) of the Robert 

T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 

U.S.C. 5195a(a)(1)) that shall include procedures for evacuation, 

relocation, shelter-in-place, and lockdown; staff emergency 

preparedness training and practice drills; communication and 

reunification with families, continuity of operations; and 

accommodation of infants and toddlers, children with disabilities, 

and children with chronic medical conditions. 

o. Verification of Emergency Relocation Site – developed by 

provider. 

i. One site must be a minimum of one mile from the 

family home. 

ii. One site must be a minimum of five miles from the 

family home. 

iii. Alternate site in case the other two locations are 

compromised. 

p. Transportation Policy-If children are transported daily. If 

children are not transported daily, the provider must include a 

statement in the Parent Handbook. 

q. Emergency Transportation Policy-An emergency transportation 

policy shall encompass such events as emergency evacuation of 

the family home and emergency transporting of a child to receive 

medical attention. It is required even if the provider does not plan 

to transport children. 

r. Vehicle Insurance-Proof of insurance is required if the provider 

transports children. 

s. Verification, in writing, that the provider has or does not have 

accident/liability insurance covering the business. 

t. Verification, in writing, that the provider has or does not have 
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accident/liability insurance covering the children enrolled at the 

family home. 

u. Discipline Policy 

v. Verification that the owner/operator and director have completed 

mandatory training on: 

i. Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Family 

Homes: Five or Fewer  

ii. Health and Safety 

2. Regular License: The licensing agency may issue a regular license 

when all conditions and requirements for licensure have been approved. 

3. Probational License: The licensing agency may issue a probational 

license, at its discretion, where violations may endanger the health or 

safety of the children, but only when such violations may be corrected 

within a specified period. There shall be a written corrective action 

plan agreed upon between the operator and the licensing agency. The 

period for which a probational license is issued shall be at the discretion 

of the licensing agency but in no instance shall exceed six months. 

4. Restricted License: The licensing agency may issue any type of 

license with conditions or restrictions when the health and safety of 

children require such limitations. These conditions or restrictions may 

include, but are not limited to, barring certain individuals from the 

premises or addressing any other situation that could endanger children, 

and such details must be recorded on the license. Any violation of these 

conditions or restrictions will result in the immediate emergency 

suspension of the license. Once the conditions or restrictions no longer 

pose a threat to the children, they may be lifted from the license. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.2  Application for License: An electronic application for a license 

under these regulations shall be made to the licensing agency upon forms 

provided by it and shall contain such information as the licensing agency 

may reasonably require. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.3 License Fee: Each initial and renewal licensure application, unless 

suspended or revoked, shall be accompanied by a fee as set by the Board, 

made payable to the Mississippi State Department of Health by electronic 

means. Renewal of licenses shall occur on an annual basis. Fees are non- 
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refundable order, or electronic means. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.4 Certificate of Inspection by Fire Department: A certificate of 

inspection and approval by the fire department of the municipality or other 

political subdivision in which the child care family home is located shall be 

submitted to the licensing agency with the application and license fees. 

Except that if no fire department exists where the family home is located, the 

State Fire Marshall shall certify the inspection for safety from fire hazards. 

The inspection form to be used for fire inspections shall be MSDH Form #333, or other 

approved inspection forms used and completed by the local fire authority or State Fire 

Marshal designee, along with any other fire safety inspection forms required by the city 

and/or county and shall be signed by a signatory authority of the fire inspection authority 

making the inspection. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.5 Inspection: An agency representative(s) shall inspect each child 

care family home prior to issuing or renewing a license to assure compliance 

with these regulations. Agency representatives have the right to enter upon 

arrival. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.6 Record of Inspection: Whenever an inspection is made of a child 

care family home, the findings shall be recorded on an official inspection 

form and furnished to the operator, director, and/or their representative. 

Rule 3.2.7 Renewal of License: 

1. The licensing agency shall issue licenses that may be renewed annually. 

The licensing agency shall email a renewal notice to the address of the 

operator registered with the licensing agency. The operator shall: 

a. Complete the renewal application. 

b. Submit all required documents for approval by the licensing 

agency. 

c. Submit the renewal fee. 

d. File the above with the licensing agency at least 30 days prior to 

the expiration date on the license. Renewal applications submitted 

online less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license shall be 
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assessed a $25.00 late fee. Application and fees are to be paid online at 

the Mississippi State Department of Health website (healthyms.com). 

2. An operator who does not file the renewal application prior to the date 

that the license expires will be deemed to have allowed the license to 

lapse. In its discretion, the license may be reinstated by the licensing 

agency, by payment of both the renewal and the reinstatement fee, 

provided the application for reinstatement is made within one month of 

the expiration date of the license. 

3. After the one-month reinstatement period, an application for an initial 

license must be submitted. All licensure requirements in effect at the 

time the new initial application is filed shall be met. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.2.8 License Not Transferable or Assignable: Each license shall be 

issued only for the premises and operator named in the application and shall 

not be transferable or assignable. A change of ownership includes, but is not 

limited to, inter vivo gifts, purchases, transfers, lease arrangements, cash 

and/or stock transactions or other comparable arrangements whenever any 

person or entity acquires or controls a majority interest of the child care 

family home, home, or service. Changes of ownership from partnerships, 

single proprietorships, or corporations to another form of ownership are 

specifically included. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.2.9 Display of Licenses: The current license issued by the licensing 

agency to the named child care family home and operator shall be posted and 

displayed in a conspicuous place and in easy view of all persons who enter 

the child care family home. The home operator shall also post next to the 

license, in plain view, a notice provided by the MSDH that informs the 

public of where and how they may report a complaint against the family 

home. 

Rule 3.2.10 Changes in Home Operations: Before implementing any changes, 

the operator must obtain approval from the licensing agency for any 

significant alterations affecting areas of the family home. Such major 

changes include, but are not limited to, changes in operator, director, 

location, hours of operation, renovations, use of areas within the home, or the 

number and ages of children served. Additional examples include changes in 

the evacuation plan or emergency relocations, damages to or changes in the 

condition of the family home, loss of electricity, heat, air conditioning, or 

water supply to the family home for over one hour while children are 

present. 

Subchapter 3. RIGHT OF ENTRY AND VIOLATIONS 

Rule 3.3.1 Right of Entry: A representative from the licensing agency has the 

authority to conduct inspections or investigations at any child care family 

home to ensure compliance with these regulations. Applying for a license or 

permit to operate a center, or receiving one from the agency, implies consent 

from the applicant, the prospective license holder, and the premises owner 

for the agency's representative, upon displaying proper identification, to 

enter the premises. The home shall provide access to personnel from other 

state agencies or any individuals conducting inspections at the agency’s 

request. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.3.2 Failure to Allow Access: Refusing the agency's representative access 
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to all areas of the child care family home, including the premises, staff, 

children, and all records maintained by or for the family home (including but 

not limited to audio, video, photos, written documents, social media posts, 

and electronic data), may warrant restrictions, revocation, or suspension of a 

license. The agency is entitled to photocopy or reproduce any record held by 

or for the center as necessary for inspections or investigations. 

Rule 3.3.3 Right of Entry-Parent(s)/Guardian(s): Parent(s)/Guardian(s) of 

enrolled children must be granted permission for access to all areas of the 

child care family home used by the child(ren). Access shall be defined as a 

parent/guardian having access to areas of the family home available to their 

child and non-disruptive to normal daily activities 

Rule 3.3.4 Violations: If violations noted on the inspection or investigation 

form are not corrected within the period specified by the licensing agency, a 

license may be denied, suspended, or revoked in accordance with these 

regulations. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 4. FAMILY HOME POLICY AND PROCEDURES 

Rule 3.4.1 Parental Information: Before a child's enrollment, the parent shall be 

provided with the following: 

1. Operating Information: 

a. Name(s), business phone number, business address, and home 

phone number of the operator, director or an individual in 

authority who can be reached after the family home’s normal 

hours of operation. 

b. The phone number of the child care family home. 

c. The program and services provided, and the ages of children 

accepted. 

d. The hours and days of operation and holidays or other times 

closed. 

e. The procedures for admission and registration of children. 

f. Family home tuition, payment methods, and late payment policies. 

g. Types of insurance coverage for children, or a statement that 

accident insurance is not provided or available. 
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h. If a home does not provide liability insurance there shall be a 

statement in the child’s record, signed by the parent indicating 

that the parent is aware that the family home does not carry 

liability insurance. 

i. Arrival and departure procedures for children. 

2. Health and Emergency Procedures: 

a. Procedures for storing and giving a child medication. Medications 

for children shall be kept in a storage cabinet or container that is 
locked or otherwise not accessible to children and shall be stored 

separate from cleaning chemicals, supplies or poisons. Medication 

requiring refrigeration shall be placed in a leakproof container in a 

refrigerator that is not accessible to the children. 

b. Policy for reporting suspected child abuse. 

c. Policy for reporting accidents. 

d. Provision for emergency medical care, treatment of illnesses and 

serious occurrences, which include: 

i. A plan to handle a child in a medical crisis including choking and allergic 

reactions. 

ii. A plan to obtain prompt services of physician and 

hospitalization, if needed. 

iii. A plan for immediately notifying the parent of any illness, or 

serious incidents involving children. 

iv. A plan to acquire the services of a certified practitioner for a 

child exempt from medical care on religious grounds. 

e. Evacuation plan including procedures for notifying the parents of 

the relocation sites. 

f. Policy and procedures for handling dangerous situations, 

including but not limited to, dealing with violent individuals, 

individuals entering the home with weapons, bomb threats, or 

conditions posing an immediate threat to children. 

3. State regulations: 

a. A statement signed by the child's parent, indicating that they have 

received a summary of licensing standards and other materials 

designated by the licensing agency. 
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b. The name and phone number of the MSDH licensing official 

responsible for the inspection of the home. 

c. The child care family home complaint hot line or web link. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.4.2 Smoking, Tobacco Products, and Prohibited Substances: 

1. Smoking or the use of tobacco products in any form is prohibited within 

the physical confines or the campus of a child care family home. 

2. The use of alcohol, illegal use of prescription drugs, or use of illegal 

drugs is prohibited within the physical confines or the campus of a 
child care family home. 

3. Smoking or the use of tobacco products in any form, use of alcohol, 

illegal use of prescription drugs, or use of illegal drugs by a caregiver is 

prohibited anytime a child is under the care of such caregiver regardless 

of location. A caregiver is defined as a person who provides direct 

care, supervision, and guidance to children in a child care family home, 

regardless of title or occupation. This definition includes parents. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.4.3 Documents to Post: The following items shall be posted 

conspicuously in the child care family home: 

1. MSDH License 

2. Daily activity schedule 

3. Evacuation route 

4. MSDH complaint form 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.4.4 Weapons Prohibited: All firearms in the home shall be equipped 

with trigger locks and kept in a locked room out of the sight of all children. 

All other dangerous weapons shall be kept under a lock in a room not 

accessible to children. Other dangerous weapons include, but are not limited 

to, hunting knives, spears, machetes, archery equipment, etc. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.4.5 Serious Occurrences Involving Children: The child care family 
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home must report to the licensing agency, notify the child’s parents, and 

place a copy in the child’s record immediately after the serious occurrence. If 

the family home is unable to contact the parent, documentation should be 

recorded in the record. Written reports must be submitted within two days of 

the occurrence. Examples of serious occurrences may include the following: 

1. Any incident that results in a child requiring a visit to a medical 

professional or hospitalization. 

2. Alleged abuse, neglect, or inappropriate physical contact with child or 

adult 

3. A lost or unsupervised child 

4. Transportation incident or accident 

5. Death 

6. Incorrect medication given to a child or children 

7. Physical altercation between adults on the premises. 

8. Any other incident that poses a danger to the life, health, and/or well- 

being of a child, children, or staff member at the family home 

Rule 3.4.6 Child Abuse: Any operator or employee of a child care family home who has 

suspicion or evidence of child abuse or neglect shall report it immediately to the 

Mississippi Department of Child Protective Services in accordance with Miss. 

Code Ann. § 43-21-353; 43-21-357; 43-21-261; 43- 21-267; 43-21-105(m). A 

provider must not interview staff or children regarding the specific allegation(s) of 

child abuse or child neglect until the Department of Child Protective Services 

and/or local law enforcement agency has had the opportunity to interview all 

appropriate individuals and completed their investigation. 

Rule 3.4.7 Prevention of Shaken Baby Syndrome and Abusive Head 

Trauma: Each child care family home licensed to care for children up to 

five years of age shall develop and adopt policies to prevent shaken baby 

syndrome and abusive head trauma prior to licensure. The policy shall 

include the following: 

1. How to recognize, respond to, and report the signs and symptoms of 

shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma. Signs and symptoms 

include irritability, difficulty staying awake, difficulty breathing, 

inability to lift the head, seizures, lack of appetite, vomiting, and 

bruises. 

2. Strategies to assist staff members in coping with a crying, fussing, or 

distraught child. 
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3. Strategies to assist staff members in understanding how to care for 

infants. 

4. Strategies to ensure staff members understand the brain development of 

children up to five years of age. 

5. A list of prohibited behaviors that shall include, but not be limited to, 

shaking a child, tossing a child into the air or into a crib, chair, or car 

seat, and pushing a child into walls, doors, and furniture; and 

6. Resources to assist staff members and families in preventing shaken 

baby syndrome and abusive head trauma. 

Subchapter 5: PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS 

Rule 3.5.1 General Requirements for Personnel: 

1. Each employee or potential employee of a child care family home, 

whether full-time, part-time, temporary, or substitute, shall meet the 

minimum qualifications for the respective job classification, as set forth 

in these regulations.  

2. Any individual who, in the opinion of the licensing agency, appears to 

be unable to physically or mentally care for the children daily and/or in 

emergency situations will not be allowed to act as a caregiver or 

caregiver assistant. Any person whose ability is in question shall, at the 

request of the licensing agency, be able to demonstrate the ability to 

perform, at a minimum but not limited to the following: 

a. Physical ability to exit the children during a fire drill in under two 

minutes; 

b. Ability to read medication directions and properly dispense 

medication to children (required only if the family home dispenses 

medication) 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.2   Comprehensive Background Check: Pursuant to Section 43-20-1 

et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972, Section 658(d) of the Child Care 

Development Block Grant Act of 2014, and Federal Rules and Regulations 

45 CFR 98.43, a comprehensive, finger-print based, criminal history records 

check, consisting of a FBI national criminal history records check (NCIC), 

state criminal history records check (MCIC), state child abuse registry check, 

National Sex Offender Registry check (NSOR), a state sex offender registry 

check and an interstate check, if applicable, must be completed on all 

operators, employees, and prospective employees of a licensed, regulated, 
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and/or registered child care family home as well as all child care providers 

eligible to deliver services for which Child Care Development Funds 

assistance is provided. Further, a comprehensive background must be 

completed every five years. 

1. Before a prospective staff member may begin work in a child care family 

home, a valid Letter of Suitability must have been issued by the MSDH 

Criminal Records Check Unit. 

2. Each licensed, regulated, and/or registered child care family home 

provider will electronically access, monitor, verify, and maintain the 

suitability status of any submitted employee through the agency 

maintained website. 

3. If an individual has been separated from employment (break in service) 

in a child care family home for more than 180 consecutive days a new 

comprehensive criminal history records check must be submitted and 

approved before the individual may begin work in a child care family 

home. 

4. In the event a child care applicant has a disqualifying event a letter of 

non-suitability will be issued. Both the child care family home provider 

and the applicant will be notified through the agency- maintained 

website.  

5. Individuals under the age of 18 who are employed by a family home 

provider for compensation are required to complete a comprehensive 

background check. 

6. A comprehensive background check must be completed on any 

individual 18 years of age and older residing in a residence designated as 

a child care family home. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.3 Child Care Director Qualifications: A child care family home 

director shall be at least 21 years of age and shall have at a minimum high 

school diploma or equivalent (GED) and two years prior documented 

experience caring for children who are under 13 years of age. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.4 Caregivers: Caregivers shall be at least 18 years of age and shall 

have at a minimum one-year prior documented experience caring for children 

who are under 13 years of age. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.5 Caregiver Assistants: Caregiver assistants shall be at least 16 

years of age and shall work under the direct supervision of a director or 

caregiver. They shall not have direct responsibility for a group of children 

as the sole caregiver. Caregiver assistants under the age of 18 shall not be 

given the authority to discipline children. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.6 Staff Development: 

1. Owners and Directors. Before a new license to operate is issued, 

owners and directors of the child care family home shall each complete 

mandatory training on courses covering Regulations Governing 

Licensure of Child Care Family Homes of 5 or Fewer and Health and 

Safety. If a new director is appointed by the child care family home 

after the license issuance, the mandatory training courses shall be 

completed by such individual(s) within the first three months of 

appointment. 

2. The owner/director is required to obtain Health and Safety training 

prior to the home being licensed. All staff members must acquire it 

within 90 days of being hired. Health and Safety training must be 

completed every two years thereafter that consists of the following 

topics: 

a. Prevention and control of infectious diseases including 

immunizations;  

b. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe 

sleeping practices; 

c. Administration of medication, consistent with standards for 

parental or guardian consent; 

d. Prevention and response to emergencies due to food and allergic 

reactions; 

e. Building and physical premises safety, including identification of 

and protection from hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular 

traffic; 

f. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and 

child maltreatment; 

g. Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies 
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resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event (such as 

violence at a child care family home); 

h. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate 

disposal of bio-contaminants; 

i. Precautions in transporting children, if applicable; 

j. Infant, child, and adult first aid and infant, child, and adult CPR; 

k. Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; and 

l. Child development (including the major domains: cognitive, 

social, emotional, physical development and approaches to 

learning). 

3. All child care employees shall be required to complete five contact 

hours of staff development, accrued during the licensure year, annually. 

Training should address the following: 

a. Health and safety. 

b. Child growth and development. 

c. Nutrition. 

d. Planning learning activities. 

e. Guidance and discipline techniques. 

f. Linkages with community services. 

g. Communications and relations with families.  

h. Detection of child abuse. 

i. Advocacy for early childhood programs. 

j. Professional issues. 

k. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) for infant, child, 

and adult. 

l. Special needs, as applicable. 

4. Contact hours for staff development shall be approved by the licensing 

agency. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.5.7 Review by Licensing Agency: 

1. The satisfaction of the personnel requirements applicable to any 

individual shall be determined by the licensing agency acting pursuant to 

its authority under applicable statutes and regulations. 

2. The licensing agency, in its sole discretion, may accept suitable 

educational credits, programs, or degrees in lieu of those specified in 

Subchapter 5 upon the submission of adequate documentation by the 

individual. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 6. RECORDS 

Rule 3.6.1 Records: Records listed in this section shall be kept in the child care 

family home and shall be made available to the licensing agency on request. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.6.2 Records Retention: 

1. All records, unless otherwise specified, shall be kept for a period of at 

least three years, whether the child care family home is open or closed. 

2. A child's records shall be retained for a period of one year after the 

child is no longer in attendance at the family home. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.6.3 Child Care Family Home Records: 

1. Attendance records for children and employees. 

2. A current alphabetical roster of children enrolled in the child care 
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family home, to include the child's full name and date of birth. 

3. A current alphabetical roster of staff employed in the child care family 

home. 

4. Current license. 

5. Records of monthly fire/disaster evacuation drills and 9-1-1 drills. 

6. A record shall be maintained of any medication administered by the 

director or caregiver showing the date, time, and signature of dispensing 

employee. A medication record may be destroyed 90 days after 

administering the medication. 

7. Each family home shall maintain a notebook containing copies of the 

MSDH Certificate of Immunization Compliance (MSDH Form #121) 

for both staff and children at the home. The notebook shall contain 

separate current alphabetical rosters of both staff and children. The 

certificates shall be filed in alphabetical order to match the current 

staff and child rosters. Children enrolled in a licensed family child 

care home are expected to be age appropriately immunized. All 

children must have one of the following forms before enrollment in a 

licensed family child care home: Certificate of Immunization 

Compliance (Form 121) or Certificate of Medical/Religious 

Exemption (Form 122). 

8. Each family home shall maintain a notebook containing a copy of the 

Letter of Suitability from the licensing agency on all employees. The 

notebook shall contain an alphabetical roster of staff including, staff 

name, date of birth, and the initial date of hire. The Letter of 

Suitability shall be filed in an order matching the alphabetical roster. 

9. Each licensed family home provider is required to enter into the child 

care LARS Database the hourly rate that they charge to care for a child 

in a particular age group they serve, i.e., Infant, Preschool, School Age. 

The following is used for calculating the hourly rate for each age 

group. 

Calculated Daily Rate = (Calculated Weekly Rated ÷ 5) 

Current Monthly Rate (CMR)Calculated Yearly Rate = 

(CMR X 12 months) Calculated Weekly Rate = 

(Calculated Yearly Rate ÷ 52) 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.6.4 Personnel Records: 
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1. Employee Records: Each employee's personnel record shall contain 

the following: 

a. Name, date of birth, address, phone number and photo 

identification.  

b. Documentation of education, training, and experience necessary 

for employment. 

c. Documentation of staff development accrued during each 

licensure year, beginning with the date employed. 

d. Date of employment and date of separation. 

e. Mississippi State Department of Health Certificate of 

Immunization Compliance Form 121 or Form 122 Medical 

Exemption. 

f. Valid Letter of Suitability for employment. 

g. Documentation of orientation, within one week of being hired, 

including, but not limited to, emergency procedures (to include 

policies for handling dangerous situations), staffing and 

supervision requirements, daily schedules, 

physical/emotional/developmental problems of children, 

discipline policies, and child abuse and neglect. 

h. Upon resignation or termination, personnel records shall be kept on 

file and be made available to the licensing agency for at least one 

year after the last day of employment. 

2. The required Employee Information to be entered into the Child Care 

Licensure and Reporting System (LARS) for the Owner, Director, 

and all staff of the child care family home is as follows: 

a. First Name 

b. Last Name 

c. Date of Birth 

d. Last 4 of SSN 

e. Hire Date 

f. Email Address 

g. Mailing Address 



23 

 

h. Contact Phone Number 

3. The above information will be entered at the time of initial 

application, renewal, and contacts must be updated within the 

“Manage Contacts” section. The required information entered under 

this rule is confidential and not viewable by the public. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.6.5 Child Records: The family home shall maintain an individual file for 

each child under its current care, and for any child who withdrew during the 

preceding twelve months, containing the following identification and contact 

information, parental instructions, authorizations and other documents 

required by its policy manual: Identification and Contact Information: 

a. The name of the child and names of parents/guardians. 

b. Home address and phone number. 

c. The parent’s business name, address and phone number. 

d. The child’s date of birth. 

e. Date of acceptance at family home and date of withdrawal, if 

any, with the parents’ stated reason for withdrawal. 

f. Other contact information required to be maintained in accordance 

with family home’s policy manual. 

2. Parental Instructions: 

a. If the parent provides written instructions to the family home, 

those instructions concerning the child’s growth and 

development, medical needs, allergies, toilet training and other 

information relevant to the child’s well-being shall be maintained 

and updated as provided from time to time. 

b. Written identification of an authorized, responsible person(s) for 

pick-up of the child. 

c. Official legal documentation of any limitation of parental rights of 

the other parent or stepparent. 

d. Documentation of any limitation or restriction, if any, on 

activities of a child, or other participation by the child in certain 

events such as holiday celebrations. 

3. Authorizations: 
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a. Signed, written authorization to obtain emergency medical 

treatment and to administer medication. 

b. Election by a parent to either 

i. provide written authorization consenting to any and all field 

trips, excursions, or series of events outside the child care 

family home, or 

ii. provide written consent only for those specific field trips, 

excursions, or series of events for which date, time and 

location are specifically approved. 

c. Signed acknowledgment by a parent that the written policies and 

procedures described in Rule 3.4.1 have been received by the 
parent. 

d. Signed acknowledgment by a parent that a summary of licensing 

standards and other materials designated by the licensing agency 

has been received by the parent. 

e. Parental authorization of child being photographed, having 

photos posted or shared on social media, or other parental 

concerns. 

4. Documents Required by Policy Manual or Contract: 

a. If agreed by the family home in its policy manual or caregiver 

contracts, the method in which the provider will inform the parent 

or contact person if a child does not arrive at the family home 

within a reasonable time after a scheduled drop-off. 

b. Any other documents or identification records agreed to be 

maintained by the family home. 

5. Confidentiality of Records and Information: 

a. Individual child records are confidential and shall not be disclosed 

or released without prior written authorization by the parent. 

b. Individual personnel records are confidential and shall not be 

disclosed or released without prior written authorization by the 

employee. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 7. EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AND EVACUATION 

PLANNING 
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Rule 3.7.1 Emergency and Evacuation Plan: The provider shall establish and 

follow a written, multi-hazard emergency preparedness, response, and 

recovery plan to protect children in the event of emergencies that at a 

minimum shall: 

1. Address any potential disaster, natural or human-caused event, 

related to the area in which the family home is located; 

2. Include procedures to control access to buildings and outdoor play 

areas; 

3. Include procedures for evacuation, relocation to one of the 

family home’s pre-determined places, shelter-in-place, lock 

down, communication with families, and continuity of 

operations; 

4. Include specific procedure for accommodations for infants and toddlers, including 

food and formula; 

5. Include specific procedures for caring for children with disabilities 

and chronic medical conditions, including the evacuation and 

transportation, as well as any required medication or medical 

equipment; 

6. Include a system to quickly account for all children; 

7. Include a system, and a back-up system, for contacting parents and 

authorized third party release caretakers; 

8. Include a system to reunite children and parents following an 

emergency; 

9. Include procedures for providing information about the emergency 

plan to parents at the time of enrollment and when changes and/or 

updates occur; 

10. Be reviewed annually for accuracy and updated as changes are 

needed; 

11. Be reviewed with all staff and volunteers during orientation and at 

least once every six months; 

12. Be available at the time of inspection and any other time requested 

by the licensing agency. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.7.2 Individualized Emergency Plan: An individual emergency plan 

shall be in place for each child with special health care needs and shall 
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include medical contact information and additional supplies and equipment 

as needed. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.7.3 Evacuation Pack: The family home shall have an evacuation 

pack, the location of which shall be known to all staff, that at a minimum 

shall contain: 

1. A list of area emergency phone numbers; 

2. An updated list of emergency contact information and emergency 

medical authorization for all enrolled children; 

3. An emergency pick up form; 

4. First aid supplies, hand sanitizer, wet wipes, and tissue; 

5. Diapers for children who are not toilet trained and plastic bags 

for diaper disposal; 

6. A battery-powered flashlight and radio and batteries or a crank 

flashlight and radio; 

7. Disposable cups and bottled water. 

8. A designated staff member shall be responsible for maintaining 

the pack to ensure that all contents, including medications are 

current and not expired. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.7.4 Records: A child care family home shall maintain a copy of 

records, documents, and computer files necessary for its continued operation 

following an emergency in ether a portable file or at an off-site location (an 

electronic back up copy of all information is strongly recommended). 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.7.5 Drills: The provider shall conduct fire and tornado drills monthly 

and all other disaster drills at least once every six months. The provider shall 

vary the days and times on which fire and other disaster drills are held. The 

provider shall keep documentation of the previous 12 months of all drills on- 

site for review by licensing agency. Documentation of the drill shall include: 

1. The type of drill (i.e.,fire, tornado, flood, violence, loss of electrical 

power) 
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2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The number of children participating; 

4. The name of the individual supervising the drill; 

5. The total time to complete the drill; and 

6. Any problems encountered and remediation. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.7.6 First Aid and CPR 

1. During all hours of operation, including the arrival and departure 

of children, a child care family home employee shall be present, at 

any location where the children are present, who holds a valid 

infant, child, and adult first aid certificate. This certificate shall be 

issued by an agent recognized by the licensing agency. 

2. During all hours of operation, including the arrival and departure of 

children, a child care family home employee shall be present who 

holds a valid infant, child, and adult CPR certification, at any 

location where the children are present. Said certificate shall 

beissued by an agent recognized by the licensing agency. 

3. When initially acquiring or renewing the CPR and First Aid 

certifications, online (internet, etc.) training is not acceptable. 

Training must be face-to-face and hands on. 

Subchapter 8. STAFF TO CHILD RATIO, GROUP SIZE, AND 

SUPERVISION 

Rule 3.8.1 General: 

1. During all hours of operation, including arrival and departure of children, a 

child care family home employee shall be present to whom administrative 

and supervisory responsibilities have been assigned. This employee shall 

meet the minimum qualifications of a director. 

2. During all hours of operation, including the arrival and departure of 

children, a child care family home employee shall be present who holds a 

valid infant, child, and adult CPR certification, at any location where the 

children are present. Said certificate shall be issued by an agent 

recognized by the licensing agency. 

3. During all hours of operation, including the arrival and departure of 



28 

 

children, a child care family home employee shall be present, at any 

location where the children are present, who holds a valid infant, child, 

and adult first aid certificate. This certificate shall be issued by an agent 

recognized by the licensing agency. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.8.2 Staff-to-Child Ratio: The minimum staff to child ratio present shall 

be five children to one staff. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.8.3 Grouping: When children are placed in groups, the maximum group 

size shall be five children to one staff. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.8.4 Supervision: A caregiver must maintain watchful oversight. Staff 

must always be aware of all children in their care and must be alert, 

able to respond quickly to children’s actions and needs, and be able to 

intervene promptly in case of an emergency. 

1. Staff shall refrain from using electronic devices or any object 

that will distract one’s attention while supervising children or 

performing classroom duties. 

2. The responsible caregiver shall stay on the same floor or level of 

the house with the children. 

3. When children are outdoors, the caregiver must be present outside 

providing direct supervision to the children. 

4. Provide closer supervision to ensure children are within easy reach 

when risks are higher and when children’s age and behavioral 

tendencies require it. 

Subchapter 9. PROGRAM OF ACTIVITIES 

Rule 3.9.1 General: 

1. The child care family home shall provide a basic program of activities 

geared to the age levels and developmental needs of the children 

served. 

2. The child care family home shall provide for the reading of age- 

appropriate materials to children. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.2 Daily Routines: All daily routines, such as eating and rest periods, 

shall be scheduled for the same time each day. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.3 Eating: Meal periods are breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.4 Rest Periods: 

1. Rest period shall be individualized to meet each child’s needs. 

2. Physical force shall not be used in requiring children to lie down or go 

to sleep during rest periods. 

Rule 3.9.5 Infant Safe Sleep: A safe sleep environment for infants to lower the 

risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) is required as follows: 

1. An infant MUST be placed on his/her back for sleeping unless written 

physician orders to the contrary, with medical reasons listed, are in the 

child's record. Sleeping infants shall be within site or sound of the staff 

and visually checked regularly when sleeping. Nothing shall obstruct 

the view of the staff or prevent the staff from clearly seeing infants or 

children. All children MUST be visually checked during naptime. 

2. Infants shall be dressed in clothing appropriate for sleeping that is 
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designed to keep the infant warm without the possible hazard of head 

covering or entrapment. Clothing used for swaddling and swaddling 

blankets are not to be used at any time. The room shall be kept at a 

draft-free seasonally appropriate temperature of 65 degrees Fahrenheit to 

78 degrees Fahrenheit. If a child is already asleep and not dressed in 

clothing appropriate for sleeping, the caregiver does not need to awaken 

the infant to change his or her clothes. Facilities shall use a firm 

mattress covered by a fitted sheet. 

3. The lighting in the room must allow the caregiver to see each infant’s 

face, to view the color of the infant’s skin, and to check on the infant’s 

breathing. 

4. Item such as but not limited to pillows, blankets, sheepskins, bumpers, 

soft objects, stuffed toys, loose bedding, etc., shall not be in the crib. 

Additionally, no items shall be hanging on the crib. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.6 Outdoor Activities: 

1. All children shall have daily outdoor activities appropriate for the 

children’s chronological ages and developmental levels unless the 

weather poses a significant health risk identified by the National Weather 

Service. 

2. Sun safe practices shall be used during outdoor activities throughout the 

year. 

3. Sun safe practices shall be evident in the planning of all outdoor 

activities. 

4. Outdoor activities shall be held in areas providing shade or covered 

spaces. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.7 Infant, Toddler, and Preschool Activities: 

1. Infants, toddlers, and preschoolers shall be free to creep, crawl, toddle, 

and walk as they are physically able. 

a. Cribs, car seats, and highchairs are to be used appropriately only 

for their primary purpose, i.e., cribs for sleeping, car seats for 

vehicle travel, and highchairs for eating. 

b. Providers should limit the use of equipment such as strollers, 



31 

 

swings, and bouncer seats/chairs for holding infants while they 

are awake. 

c. Providers should implement activities for toddlers and 

preschoolers that limit sitting or standing to no more than 30 

minutes at a time.  

d. Providers should use strollers for toddlers and preschoolers only 

when necessary. 

2. For infants who cannot move about the room, caregivers shall 

frequently change the place and position of the infant and the selection 

of toys available, and the child shall be held, rocked, and carried about. 

3. Television viewing shall be kept at a minimum. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.9.8 Indoor or Outdoor Physical Activity: Family home providers 

are to provide infants, toddlers, and preschool children with opportunities 

to be physically active throughout the day. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 10. EQUIPMENT, TOYS, AND MATERIALS 

Rule 3.10.1 General: 

1. Equipment, toys, and materials for both indoor and outdoor use shall be 

appropriate to the age and developmental needs of the children served. 

2. Equipment, toys, and materials for both indoor and outdoor shall be 

clean, safe, and in good repair. 

3. The daily activity schedule shall demonstrate that preschoolers are 

given opportunities to do a variety of activities, including both quiet 

and active, such as block play, art activities, puzzles, books, and 

learning games, and that stories are read to and discussed with each 

child every day. 

Rule 3.10.2 Paint: Paint on toys, equipment, furniture, walls, and other items 

shall be lead-free and non-poisonous. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.10.3 High Chairs: High chairs, if used, shall have a wide base and a 

T-shaped safety strap. They shall be labeled or warranted by the 
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manufacturer in documents provided at the time of purchase or verified 

thereafter by the manufacturer as meeting the American Society for Testing 

Materials (ASTM) Standard F-404 (Consumer Safety Specifications for High 

Chairs). 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

 

Rule 3.10.4 Rest Period Equipment: In accordance with the U.S. Consumer 

Product Safety Act of 2008, any crib provided by a child care family home 

must meet federal safety standards. To verify compliance with federal 

standards, any crib manufactured prior to June 28, 2011, there shall be a 

Certificate of Compliance on file in the family home and the crib must have 

a label attached to show the date of manufacture. Any crib manufactured 

after June 28, 2011, must have a label attached to show the date of 

manufacture. 

1. The family home shall provide a crib or other similarly commercially 

purchased bed unit, approved and designated for the purpose of sleeping. 

Children shall not be placed directly on the floor for rest periods. 

2. Mobile infants, at a minimum of eight months, may be placed on a mat 

during the transition period of crawling to walking. If such mat is used, it 

shall be commercially purchased, flame retardant, a minimum of two 

inches thick, and designated for the purpose of sleeping. 

3. Cribs, cots, and mats are to be a minimum of 24 inches apart or separated 

by a solid barrier. A minimum of 36 inches is recommended. 

4. Once a sheet or blanket has been used by a child, it shall not be used by 

another child until it has been laundered. 

5. Rest period equipment shall be covered with a waterproof cover. 

6. Nap pads/cots are designed for use by one child only at a time and 

sanitized after each use or when soiled. 

7. Children are not allowed to sleep in shared places, such as infant seats, 

strollers, swings, cozy areas, or on tables. If a child falls asleep in such 

shared place, he or she should be moved immediately. 

8. Stackable cribs are not allowed. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 11. BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS 
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Rule 3.11.1 Building: 

1. A child care family home shall be physically separated from any other 

business or enterprise. Other occupants, visitors, and/or employees of 

other businesses or enterprises within the same building shall not be 

allowed within the physical confines of the child care family home for 

the purpose of entering the building or exiting the building or passing 

through the child care home for the purpose of gaining access to 

another part of the building. 

2. A child care family home can only utilize approved, lower-level areas of 

the home. 

3. All child care family homes shall meet all fire safety standards listed on 

the MSDH Form #333 and all applicable local fire safety standards 

and/or ordinances. 

4. A separate space shall be provided for the use of an ill or injured child 

until the child can be picked up by the parent. 

5. The ceiling, floor, and/or floor covering shall be properly installed, kept 

clean and in good condition, and maintained in good repair. 

6. All parts of the child care family home used by children shall be lead- 

safe, well-lighted, ventilated, and free of hazardous or potentially 

hazardous conditions, such as, open stairs and unprotected low 

windows. 

7. All glass in doors, windows, mirrors, etc., shall have a protective 

barrier at least four feet high when measured from the floor. Doors, 

windows, mirrors, etc., using safety-grade glass or polymer (e.g., 

Lexan®) are not required to have a protective barrier. Glass windows 

and glass door panels shall be equipped with a vision strip 36 inches 

from the floor. Safety glass must be certified by the installer and the 

statement kept on file at the child care family home. 

8. Walls shall be kept clean and free of torn wall covering, chipped paint, 

broken plaster, and holes. No paint that contains lead compounds shall 

be applied to interior walls or woodwork. 

9. A child care family home shall maintain a primary and secondary 

communication device, one of which shall be a telephone. 

10. All fire extinguishers, as required in the fire safety plan, shall be serviced 

on an annual basis by a qualified fire extinguisher technician. 

11. Unused electrical outlets shall be protected by a safety plug cover. 
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12. No extension cords shall be used in areas accessible to children. 

13. Every child care family home that uses nonelectric heating and/or 

cooling systems, cooking stoves, and/or water heaters, or other 

nonelectric equipment, shall have sufficient carbon monoxide monitors 

placed appropriately throughout the child care family home. 

14. All child care family homes are to be kept clean and in good repair. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.2 Openings: 

1. Each window, exterior door, and basement or cellar hatchway shall be 

weather-tight and watertight. 

2. The width of doors shall accommodate wheelchairs and the needs of 

individuals with physical disabilities, if applicable 

3. Doorways and exits shall be free of debris and equipment to allow 

unobstructed traffic to and from the room. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.3 Kitchens: 

1. Children shall only be permitted in meal preparation areas when under direct supervision 

of staff, when there is no danger of injury from equipment, or for instruction/teaching 

purposes. 

2. The following regulations shall apply: 

a. No game or home canned foods shall be served. 

b. Other than fresh or frozen vegetables and fruit, all foods shall be 

from commercial sources. 

c. Food shall be cooked or reheated to a temperature of 165 degrees 

Fahrenheit. Hot food shall be held at a minimum temperature of 

140 degrees Fahrenheit. 

d. Cold food shall be stored at a temperature of 41 degrees 

Fahrenheit or below. 

e. All food shall be covered while in the refrigerator or freezer. 

f. Any prepared foods not properly refrigerated at a temperature of 

41 degrees Fahrenheit or less, or frozen, shall be discarded. 
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g. If manual washing is utilized, a sanitizer shall be used. Rinsing in 

a chlorine solution using one and one-half tablespoons of 

household bleach per gallon of water is sufficient. If a dishwasher 

is utilized, the nozzle ports shall be free of obstructions, and the 

interior of the machine shall be clean. 

h. Hot water, under pressure, shall be available. 

i. Insecticides, poisons, cleaning agents, and medications, shall be 

stored away from food, separately from each other, and out of the 

reach of children. 

j. Children shall not be exposed to insecticides or pesticides, or 

other toxic agents. 

k. Hands shall be washed frequently, when switching between 

working with raw and ready-to-eat foods, and after all non-food 

preparation activities. 

l. Clean clothing shall be worn. 

m. Gloves shall be worn if there are any cuts or abrasions on the 

hands. 

3. All kitchens and/or food/snack preparation areas in a child care family 

home shall be inspected as part of the child care inspection process. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.4 Toilets and Hand Washing Lavatories: 

1. Toilets and hand washing lavatories shall be located within the physical 

confines of child care family home and shall be convenient to outside 

playground areas. 

2. All hand washing lavatories shall have both hot and cold running water. 

Hot water temperature shall not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 

3. Toilets, and hand washing lavatories, and sinks shall be clean and 

operational. Bathrooms, hand washing lavatories, and sinks shall be 

supplied with soap, and individual towels for drying hands. Each toilet 

shall be supplied with toilet paper. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.5  Water: The water supply shall be from a public water system or a 

private system approved by the Mississippi State Department of Health. Water 
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shall be dispensed by the following: 

1. Disposable paper cups; or 

2. Labeled cup for each child that shall be washed and sanitized daily. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.6 Exits: Must comply with local fire codes and municipalities. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.7 Heating, Cooling, and Ventilation: 

1. A draft-free seasonally appropriate temperature of 65 degrees 

Fahrenheit to 78 degrees Fahrenheit shall be maintained. 

2. All rooms used by children shall be heated, cooled, and 

adequately ventilated to maintain the required temperatures, 

and air exchange, and to avoid the accumulation of 

objectionable odors and harmful fumes. 

3. Ventilation may be in the form of openable windows. 

4. Electric fans, if used, shall be guarded to limit the size of the 

opening in the blade guard to less than one-half inch. 

5. When air-cooling is needed, draft-free cooling units shall be 

used. They shall present no safety hazard to the children. 

6. Filters on recirculation systems shall be checked and cleaned 

or replaced as needed. 

7. Thermometers that do not present a hazard to children shall be 

present. 

8. Portable, open flame and kerosene space heaters are 

prohibited. Portable gas stoves shall not be used for heating. 

9. Electric space heaters shall be UL-approved, inaccessible to 

children, and utilized in compliance with all manufacturer’s 

recommendations. 

10. Fireplaces and fireplace inserts shall be properly vented, 

inaccessible to children through a barrier device, and in 

compliance with all manufacturer’s recommendations. 
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11. Heating units, including water pipes and baseboard heaters 

shall be made inaccessible to children. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.8 Outside Grounds and Play Area: Outside play areas shall be free of 

hazardous or potentially hazardous objects and/or conditions that may result 

in injury. The outdoor play area shall be well arranged so that all areas are 

visible to staff. 

1. Outside play areas shall be protected from traffic or other hazards by 

barriers approved by the licensing agency. 

2. All equipment shall be securely anchored to prevent accidents or 

injuries. 

3. Outdoor playground areas shall be free from unprotected swimming 

and wading pools, ditches, and other bodies of water. 

4. Outdoor spaces shall be laid out to ensure ample shaded space for 

children. 

5. Protective surfacing is required beneath climbing and swinging 

equipment. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.9 Garbage Removal: Garbage and trash shall be removed from the child 

care family home daily and from the grounds at least once a week. Garbage 

and trash shall be stored inaccessible to the children and in insect and rodent- 

resistant containers. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.11.10 Pest Control: The home shall be free of insects and rodents. Use of 

agricultural chemicals for pests is strictly prohibited. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 12. HEALTH, HYGIENE, AND SAFETY 

Rule 3.12.1 Employee Health: 

1. Employees manifesting symptoms or otherwise suspected of having 

upper respiratory, gastrointestinal, skin, or other serious contagious 
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conditions shall be excluded from work until either free from symptoms 

or certified by a physician to be no longer infectious. 

2. Staff shall use universal precautions when changing diapers or being 

exposed to blood, fecal material, or urine. 

3. Refer to the MSDH website for proper handwashing procedures. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.12.2 Child Health: 

1. A child who is suspected of having a serious contagious condition shall 

be isolated and returned to the parent as soon as possible. 

2. A child having a serious contagious condition shall not be allowed to 

return to the child care family home until they have been certified by a 

physician to be no longer contagious. 

3. A child with a physical injury shall be treated by a staff member with 

infant, child, and adult valid first aid certificate issued by an agent 

recognized by the licensing agency. A child with a serious physical 

injury shall be treated by a staff member with a valid first aid certificate 

issued by an agent recognized by the licensing agency and transported 

to a hospital or medical facility as soon as appropriate. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.12.3 Child Hygiene: 

1. A child's wet or soiled clothing shall be changed immediately. 

2. A child's hands shall be washed: 

a. Immediately before and after eating. 
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b. After using the toilet or having their diapers changed. 

c. After playing on the playground. 

d. After handling pets, pet cages, or other pet objects. 

e. Whenever hands are visibly dirty. 

f. Before going home. 

3. A child shall have a shower, tub, or sponge bath to ensure bodily 

cleanliness when necessary. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.12.4 Toys and Equipment: Toys and equipment used by infants or 

toddlers shall be cleansed daily with a germicidal solution. Refer to the 

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early 

Education for cleaning and disinfecting procedures. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.12.5 First Aid Supply: 

1. A first aid supply shall be kept on-site and easily accessible to 

employees, but not in reach of the children. 

2. A first aid supply shall be taken on all field trips and excursions and 

shall be easily accessible to employees, but not in reach of the children. 

3. All vehicles used by the  family home in transporting children 

shall be equipped with a first aid kit. 

4. All first aid kits should be periodically inspected for contents. Depleted 

and out-of-date materials should be replaced. 

5. Special attention should be exercised when utilizing first aid supplies or 

any medication for children who have allergies or other special medical 

needs. 

6. For additional information on supplies for first aid kits contact your 

local office of the American Red Cross. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.12.6 Animals and Pets: 
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1. Any pet or animal present at a child care family home, indoors or 

outdoors, shall be in good health, show no evidence of carrying any 

disease, and be a friendly companion for the children. 

2. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be immunized for any disease 

thatcan be transmitted to humans and shall be maintained on a flea, tick, and 

worm control program. 

3. All pets shall be cared for as recommended by the regulating health 

agency. When pets are kept at the child care family home, procedures for 

their care and maintenance shall be written and followed. When 

immunizations are required, proof of current compliance signed by a 

veterinarian shall be on file at the home where the pet is kept. 

4. A caregiver shall always be present when children are exposed to 

animals (including dogs and cats). Children shall be instructed on safe 

procedures to follow when near these animals (e.g., not to provoke or 

startle them or remove their food). Potentially aggressive animals (e.g., 

pit bulls, boxers, etc.) shall not be in the same physical space as the 

children. 

5. Each child’s and staff’s hands shall be properly washed after being 

exposed to animals. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 13. NUTRITION, MEALS, AND FOOD SAFETY 

Rule 3.13.1 General: 

1. A child care family home shall provide adequate and nutritious meals 

prepared in a safe and sanitary manner. 

2. Meal periods are breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. 

3. Meals shall be served where each child may be seated. 

4. Meals shall be served by employees only. 

5. Employees shall wash their hands before preparing or serving food. 

6. Children shall not share food. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.13.2 Nutritional Standards: Meals shall meet the nutritional standards as 

prescribed in Appendix “A” Minimum Standards for Nutritional Care in 
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Child Care Facilities. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.13.5 Snacks: All snacks shall meet acceptable nutritional standards, as 

prescribed in Appendix “A” Minimum Standards for Nutritional Care in 

Child Care Facilities. 
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Subchapter 14. DISCIPLINE AND GUIDANCE 

Rule 3.14.1 Prohibited Behavior: The following behaviors are prohibited by 

anyone (parent, caregiver, or child) in all family home settings: 

1. Corporal punishment, including hitting, spanking, beating, shaking, 

pinching, biting, and other measures that produce physical pain. 

2. Withdrawal or the threat of withdrawal of food, rest, or bathroom 

opportunities. 

3. Abusive or profane language, yelling, and/or harsh tones toward or 

around children is not allowed. 

4. Any form of public or private humiliation, including threats of physical 

punishment. 

5. Any form of emotional abuse, including rejecting, terrorizing, ignoring, 

isolating, or corrupting a child. 

6. Use of any food product or medication in any manner or for any 

purpose other than that for which it was intended. 

7. Inappropriate disciplinary behavior including putting soap or pepper in 

a child's mouth is not allowed. 

8. Any acceptable disciplinary action that is not age-appropriate for the 

child or is excessive in time or duration. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.14.2 Restraint of a Child: Children shall not be physically restrained 

except as necessary to ensure their own safety or that of others, and then for 

only as long as is necessary for control of the situation. Children shall not be 

given medicines or drugs that will affect their behavior except as prescribed 

by a licensed physician and with specific written instructions from the 

licensed physician for use of the medicines or drugs. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.14.3 Time Out: "Time out" that enables the child to regain self-control 

and keeps the child in visual contact with a caregiver shall be used 

selectively, considering the child's developmental stage and the usefulness of 

"time out" for the child. Isolation from a caregiver is not acceptable. “Time 

out” is not allowed for children younger than (3) three years of age. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.14.4 Children Shall Not Discipline Other Children: Children shall 

neither be allowed nor be instructed to discipline other children. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 15. TRANSPORTATION 

Rule 3.15.1 General: The child care family home is responsible for the safety of 

the children. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.15.2 Requirements: 

1. All drivers shall be appropriately licensed. 

2. All vehicles shall have current licenses and registrations. 

3. Insurance is required and shall adequately cover the transportation of 

children. 

4. Children shall board or leave the vehicle from the curbside of the street 

and shall be safely accompanied to their destinations. 

5. A parent shall be present if the child is delivered home. 

6. Age and weight appropriate seat restraints shall be used. 

Source: Miss. Code §43-20-8. 

Rule 3.15.3 Occupant Restraints: 

1. All children will be properly restrained whenever they are being 

transported in a motor vehicle. 

a. Every person transporting a child under the age of four years in a 

passenger motor vehicle, and operated on a public roadway, street 

or highway, shall provide for the protection of the child by 

properly using a child passenger restraint device or system 

meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards. 

b. Every person transporting a child in a passenger motor vehicle 

operated on a public roadway, street or highway, shall provide for 

the protection of the child by properly using a belt positioning 

booster seat system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle 

safety standards if the child is at least four years of age, but less 

than seven years of age and measures less than four feet nine 
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inches in height or weighs less than 65 pounds. 

c. Any vehicle equipped with seatbelts is subject to the requirements 

in items a. and b. above 

2. No vehicle shall be occupied by more individuals than its rated 

capacity. 

3. No children shall be transported in the front seat of vehicles equipped 

with passenger-side airbags. 

4. An individual seat restraint must be used for each child. The use of an 

individual seat restraint for two or more children is not allowed. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.15.4 Staff-to-Child Ratio: The staff to child ratio shall be always 

maintained. The driver of the vehicle shall not be counted as a caregiver 

while transporting the children. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 16. DIAPERING AND TOILETING 

Rule 3.16.1 Diaper Changing Area: A diapering area shall be in a designated 

place of the home accessible to a hand-washing lavatory with hot and cold 

running water, a smooth and easily cleanable surface, a plastic-lined, covered 

garbage receptacle, and sanitizing solution. Refer to the National Resource 

Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education for proper 

diaper changing procedures. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.16.2 Non-Disposable Diapers and Training Pants: The fecal contents 

of non-disposable diapers or training pants shall be disposed of into a toilet. 

The soiled non-disposable diaper or training pants shall then be placed into a 

plastic bag, sealed, and placed in the child's individual container. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.16.3 Disposable Diapers: Disposable diapers shall be placed into a 

plastic bag and sealed or shall be rolled up and taped securely, then placed 

into a plastic-lined covered garbage receptacle. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.16.4 Potty Chairs: Potty chairs, if used, shall be placed in the bathroom 
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area and sanitized after each child’s use. 

Rule 3.16.5 Parental Consultation: A parent-caregiver consultation is required 

prior to toilet training. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 17. FEEDING OF INFANTS AND TODDLERS 

Rule 3.17.1 Hand Washing: Employees shall wash their hands with soap and 

water and dry their hands with individual or disposable towels before and 

after each feeding. The infant and toddler's hands shall be washed with 

soap and water and dried with individual or disposable towels before and 

after each feeding. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.2 Bottle Feeding: Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed. Bottles 

shall not be propped at any time. With parental consent and when infants are 

old enough to hold their own bottles, they may feed themselves without being 

held. The bottle shall be removed at once when empty or when the child has 

fallen asleep. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.3 Formula Storage: Formula shall be labeled with the child's name, 

dated, and placed in the refrigerator upon arrival. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.4 Baby Food: Foods stored or prepared in jars shall be served from a 

separate dish for each infant or toddler. Any leftovers from the serving dish 

shall be discarded. Leftovers in the jar shall be labeled with the child's name, 

dated, refrigerated, and used within the next 24 hours or discarded. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.5 Refrigerator: A refrigerator shall be available and easily accessible 

to the infant or toddler's room(s). 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.6 Heating Unit and Microwave Use: 

1. A heating unit for warming bottles and food shall be accessible only to 

adults. 
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2. Microwave ovens shall not be used for warming bottles or baby/infant 

food. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.17.7 Breast-Feeding Accommodations and Staff Training: This section 

applies to all mothers choosing to breast-feed their child regardless of the 

child’s age. 

1. Breast-feeding mothers, including employees, shall be provided a 

sanitary place that is not a toilet stall to breast-feed their child or to 

express milk. This area shall provide an electrical outlet, comfortable 

chair, and nearby access to running water. 

2. A refrigerator must be available to accommodate storage of expressed 
breast milk. It is acceptable to store expressed milk in the same refrigerator as 

other milk/bottles provided each bottle is appropriately labeled with the child’s 

name and the time of expected expiration of the milk. Milk must be stored in 

accordance with the American Academy of Pediatrics and Centers for Disease 

Control guidelines. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 18. SWIMMING AND WATER ACTIVITIES 

Rule 3.18.1 General: This section shall apply to any child care family home 

that, as part of its program, allows the children to swim, wade, or participate 

in any water activities whether on-site or at any other location during the time 

staff has responsibility for children enrolled. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.18.2 Lifeguard Supervision: 

1. Swimming pools, lakes, etc.: 

a. A person having an American Red Cross lifeguard certificate, or 

the equivalent as recognized by the licensing agency, shall be 

present at all swimming and water activities. 

b. Lifeguards, or the equivalent as recognized by the licensing 

agency, are not counted in the staff-to-child ratio. 

c. The staff-to-child ratio shall be always maintained. 

d. Staff, as well as lifeguards, shall be responsible for enforcing 

general safety rules. 
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e. Staff is responsible for requiring children to obey all 

swimming/water rules. These rules shall be explained each day 

that swimming/water activities occur so that all ages can 

understand what is expected. 

2. Wading pools: For activities taking place in wading pools with a 

water depth of one foot or less the following is required: 

a. There shall always be a person(s) with a valid CPR and first aid 

certificate present. 

b. The staff-to-child ratio shall be always maintained. 

c. Wading pools shall be cleaned after each use. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.18.3 Health and Safety: 

1. Swimming pools equipped with a diving board shall be level. All 

diving boards shall be installed in accordance with manufacturer’s 

guidelines. 

2. Swimming pools, when in use, shall be properly maintained and 

monitored for appropriate concentration of disinfectant based on the 

manufacturer’s guidelines. 

3. A testing kit for measuring the concentration of the disinfectant, shall 

be available at each swimming pool. 

4. The water in a swimming pool shall have sufficient clarity to ensure 

visibility to the floor of the pool. The pool shall be closed immediately 

if this requirement cannot be met. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 19. CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 

Rule 3.19.1 Family Home Adaptation: 

1. The family home areas to be utilized by a child with special needs 

shall be adapted as necessary to accommodate special devices that may 

be required for the child to function independently, as appropriate. 

2. A separate area shall be available for providing privacy for diapering, 

dressing, and other personal care procedures. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.19.2 Activity Plan: A child with special needs shall have an 

individual activity plan. The individual activity plan shall have been 

developed by a person with a bachelor’s or advanced degree in a discipline 

dealing with disabilities, as appropriate. The individual activity plan shall be 

reviewed, at a minimum, once every 12 months. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.19.3 Caregiver Staff Development: Caregivers serving children with 

special needs shall receive staff development related to the specific needs of 

the children served. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.19.4 Staffing: Caregiver staffing shall be appropriate and adequate to 

meet the specific physical and/or developmental needs of the special needs 

children served at the child care home. Staff-to-child ratio shall be 

determined by the needs of the child rather than child’s chronological age as 
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based upon the child’s individual plan (individual education plan, individual 

habilitation plan, individual family service plan, etc.). The family home is 

encouraged to be an active participant in the child’s individual plan 

development. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Subchapter 20. HEARINGS, EMERGENCY SUSPENSIONS, LEGAL 

ACTIONS AND PENALTIES 

Rule 3.20.1 Emergency Suspensions of License: 

1. Any license issued pursuant to these regulations may be suspended 

prior to a hearing if the licensing agency has reasonable cause to believe 

that the operation of the child care family home constitutes a substantial 

hazard to the health or safety of the children cared for by the child care 

family home. 

2. Whenever a license is to be suspended, the operator or director shall be 

notified in writing that the license, upon service of the notice, is 

immediately suspended. The notice shall contain the reason for the 

emergency suspension, and shall set a date for a hearing, which shall be 

within 14 days of the service of notice. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.2 Denial, Revocation, or Suspension of License: The licensing 

agency may deny, refuse to renew, suspend, revoke, or restrict a license of 

any child care family home upon one or more of the following grounds: 

1. Fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment of a material fact by the 

operator in securing the issuance or renewal of a license. 

2. Conviction of an operator of any crime, if the licensing agency finds 

that the acts of which the operator has been convicted could have a 

detrimental effect on the children cared for by the child care family 

home. 

3. Violation of any of the provisions of the act or of these rules and 

regulations. 

4. Any conduct or failure to act, which is determined by the licensing 

agency to threaten the health or safety of a child. 

5. Failure by the child care family home to have all criminal records and 

child abuse central registry checks on file at the family home. 
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6. Information received by the licensing agency as a result of the criminal 

records check or the child abuse central registry check on an operator. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.20.3 Notification: Prior to the denial, refusal to renew, suspension, 

revocation or restriction of a license, and at the time of the imposition of any 

monetary penalty, written notice of the contemplated action shall be given to 

the applicant or person named on the license of the child care family home, at 

the address on record with the licensing agency. Such notice shall specify the 

reasons for the proposed action and shall notify the operator of the right to a 

hearing on the matter. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.4 District Level Hearing for Monetary Penalties: 

1. If requested in writing within ten calendar days of receipt of notice of 

the imposition of a monetary penalty, a district level hearing shall be 

provided in which the operator or applicant may show cause why the 

monetary penalty should not be imposed. The District Health Officer 

or his/her designee will preside at said hearing. 

2. Any hearing requested shall be held no less than five calendar days and 

no more than 20 calendar days from the receipt of any request for a 

hearing, unless both parties agree to an alternate period. 

3. The district level hearing shall be informal. There will be no court 

reporter present and the Department will not be represented by counsel. 

However, the hearing officer will take notes of the proceedings and will 

provide the licensee with a written order outlining his decision within 

ten calendar days of conclusion of the district level hearing. 

4. Within ten calendar days of the receipt of the district level decision the 

licensee may make a written request for a hearing at the state level. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.5 State Level Hearing: 

1. If requested in writing within ten calendar days of receipt of a notice of 

revocation, non-renewal, probation, or suspension, or after a district 

level hearing has been held on a monetary penalty, a hearing shall be 

held at the state level. At the state level hearing a hearing officer shall 

be appointed by the State Health Officer. A court reporter shall 

transcribe the proceeding. The hearing shall be held within 30 calendar 

days of receipt of the request for such hearing, unless waived in writing 

by the licensee. 

2. Within 30 calendar days of the hearing, or such period as determined 

during the hearing, written findings of fact, together with a 
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recommendation for action, shall be forwarded to the State Health 

Officer. The State Health Officer shall decide what, if any, action is to 
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be taken on the recommendation within 14 calendar days of receipt of 

the recommendation. Written notice of the decision of the State Health 

Officer shall be provided to the operator. 

3. At the state level hearing, the licensee shall be entitled to legal 

representation at his or her own expense. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.6 Appeal: 

1. Any operator who disagrees with or is aggrieved by a decision of the 

licensing agency concerning the suspension, revocation, or restriction of a 

license may appeal to the Chancery Court of the county in which the 

child care family home is located. The appeal shall be filed no later than 

30 calendar days after the operator receives written notice of the final 

administrative action by the licensing agency as to the suspension, 

revocation, or restriction of the license. The operator shall have the 

burden of proving that the decision of the licensing agency was not in 

accordance with applicable law and these regulations. 

2. If a family home is allowed to continue to operate during the appeal 

process, it will remain under the regulation of the licensing agency and 

will be subject to all current licensure regulations to include, but not 

limited to, inspection of the family home, review of family home and 

children’s records, submission of all required or requested documents, 

and payment of all applicable fees and/or monetary penalties. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.7 Injunction: Notwithstanding the existence of any other remedy, the 

licensing agency may, in the manner provided by law, in term time or in 

vacation, upon the advice of the Attorney General who shall represent the 

licensing agency in the proceedings, maintain an action in the name of the 

state for injunction or other proper remedy against any person to restrain or 

prevent the establishment, conduct, management, or operation of a child care 

family home with or without a license under the act, or otherwise in violation 

of these regulations. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 

Rule 3.20.8 Criminal Penalties: Any person establishing, conducting, 

managing, or operating a child care family home without a license pursuant 

to these regulations shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction, 

shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) for the first 

offense, and not more than two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each 
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subsequent offense. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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Rule 3.20.9 Violations and Penalties: In the event of an emergency occurring at 

a child care family home which makes it difficult or impossible to comply 

with any of these Rules, the family home shall not be in violation of those 

specific Rules. T he term “emergency” shall include only the following: 

1. Inclement weather; 

2. Damage to the family home and/or structure which might require 

moving, transferring or consolidation of children; 

3. Traumatic injury or acute illness of a caregiver or the caregiver’s 

immediate family while the caregiver is on-site resulting in the 

caregiver having to leave the premises; 

4. Declaration of a state of emergency by local or state officials; 

5. An injury or illness of a child at the family home requiring the 

immediate attention of one or more caregivers, resulting in non-

compliance of child-to-staff ratio or room ratio; and/or 

6. During a period when licensing agency inspectors or other government 

officials require child care family home staff to temporarily not be able to 

perform their normal supervisory duties. 

Any violation of these regulations, in the discretion of the licensing agency, is 

punishable by a monetary penalty. 

Subchapter 21. RELEASE OF INFORMATION 

Rule 3.21.1 Information in the possession of the licensing agency concerning the 

license of individual child care family homes may be disclosed to the 

public, except such information shall not be disclosed in such manner as to 

identify children or families of children cared for at a child care family 

home. 

Nothing in this section shall affect the agency’s authority to release findings 

of investigation into allegations of abuse pursuant to either Sections 43-21- 

353(8) and Section 43-21-257 Mississippi Code of 1972, annotated. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §43-20-8 
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APPENDIX A 

 

Nutritional Standards for Family Child Care Home 

Meals shall meet the nutritional standards as prescribed in this section. A 

child care family home shall provide adequate and nutritious meals prepared 

in a safe and sanitary manner. 

Healthy diets help children grow, develop, and perform well in learning 

environments. Proper nutritional care during the early years is essential for 

intellectual, social, and emotional growth. It is also necessary that a meal 

environment be provided which encourages the development of good eating 

habits. 

Nutritional Goals:  

1. Menus shall be nutritionally adequate.  

2. Foods shall be provided in quantities that balance energy and nutrients 

with children’s ages, appetites, activity levels, special needs, and 

cultural and ethnic differences in food habits. 

3. Parents shall be involved in the nutrition component of the child care 

family home. 

4. A variety of fruits, vegetables, and whole-grain products shall be 

offered to children for meals and snacks. Mealtime should be used as 

an opportunity to teach nutrition concepts. 

5. The addition of fat, sugar, and sources of sodium shall be minimal in 

food preparation and service. 

6. Food preparation and service shall be consistent with best practices for 

food safety and sanitation. 

7. Furniture and eating utensils shall be age-appropriate and 

developmentally suitable to encourage children to accept and enjoy 

mealtime. 

8. Child care caregivers shall encourage positive experiences with food 
and eating. 

9. Child care family homes shall obtain assistance as needed from the 

MSDH Child Care Licensure Bureau.   

10. Nutrition education for children and for their parents shall be 

encouraged as a component of the child care program. 
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11. Family style dining is encouraged. 

 

                             Mealtime Environment: 

1.  Meals and snacks shall be served at regularly scheduled times each     

day. 

2.      Age-appropriate utensils, plates, bowls, cups, and dining area shall 

be provided.  

3.      Children shall not wait longer than fifteen minutes at the table for 

food to be served. 

3. Sufficient time shall be allowed for children to wash their hands and 

prepare for the meal. 

4. Mealtime shall be used for socialization, and shall be a relaxed, 

happy time for the children. No televisions, videos, or DVD’s may 

be viewed during meal and snack times.  

5. Family style dining is encouraged with serving platters, bowls, and 

pitchers on the table so that everyone can serve him/herself. Children 

are encouraged to assist with table setting.  

6. A caregiver shall sit and join the children while they are eating. It is 

suggested that the staff eat the same food items that are served to the 

children. The staff will encourage social interaction, conversation, 

and use the mealtime for education purposes. Extra assistance and 

time shall be provided for slow eaters. 

7. Additional servings shall be provided for the child who requests 

more food at a meal or snack. This is a time to teach children on 

portion control, monitoring extra intake, and better food selections.   

9. Meals and snacks provided by a parent must not be shared with other 

children, unless a parent is providing baked goods for a celebration 

or party being held at the operation.  

10. Children will be permitted in meal preparation areas when under the 

direct supervision of a staff person, when there is no danger of injury 

from equipment, and for instruction/teaching purposes only. 

                     Choking Prevention 

1. Raw vegetables and foods that may cause choking in young children 

shall not be served to children less than two years of age. 
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2. Children should be encouraged to eat slowly, take small bites, and 

chew well before swallowing. 

3.  Cook food until soft and cut into thin slices or small pieces. Remove 

bones from meat, chicken, and fish, and remove seeds and pits from 

fruit. With toddlers, cutting foods into “pea” size is recommended. 

FOODS THAT MAY CAUSE CHOKING 

Sausage shaped meats (hot dogs)* Pop Corn Hard Candy*

 Chips* 

Nuts Dried Fruits 

Grapes Chunks of peanut butter 

Gum* Marshmallows 

Thick Pretzels Rods* Thin pretzel sticks and rounds would be allowed.   

*Not allowed to be served 

Child Requiring a Special Diet:  A child requiring a special diet due to medical reasons, 

allergic reactions, or religious beliefs, shall be provided meals and snacks in 

accordance with the child's needs. If medical reasons exist for the special diet, a 

medical diagnosis from the child’s physician stating that the special diet is medically 

necessary is required. Information required for dietary modifications include: 

• Child’s full name and date of instructions, updated annually 

• Any dietary restrictions based on the special needs 

• Any special feeding or eating utensils 

• Any foods to be omitted from the diet and any foods to be 

substituted 

• Limitations of life activities 

• Any other pertinent special needs information 

• What, if anything, needs to be done if the child is exposed to 

restricted foods. 

1. Religious or ethnic requests should include the above information as 

needed, plus a certified statement of request based upon the religious or 

ethnic beliefs of the family. 
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2. The child’s parent shall meet with the operator to review the written 

instructions. 

3. Parents of children with severe restrictions and special dietary needs 

will need to provide written documentation to the operator.   

4. The child care family home may request the parent to supplement food 

served by the child care family home. When food is supplied by the 

parent, the child care family home shall be responsible for assuring that 

it is properly stored and served to the child in accordance with the diet 

instructions on file. Meals and snacks provided by a parent must not be 

shared with other children, unless a parent is providing baked goods for 

a celebration or party being held at the operation. 

5. Records of food intake shall be maintained when indicated by the child's 

physician.  

6. Request for a vegetarian/vegan diet shall be accommodated with the 

same information completed as for dietary modifications. Specialty 

items may be supplied by the parent to meet nutritional needs.  

                      Infants 

1. Breast milk or formula shall be brought to the child care family home 

daily, ready to be warmed and fed. Each bottle shall be labeled with 

the infant's name and the date. No cereal, juice or other foods may be 

added to the infant’s breast milk/formula without a physician’s written 

request. 

2. Bottles should not be warmed in the microwave.  

3. At the end of each feeding, discard any milk left in the bottle. Staff 

will send all used bottles home with the parent for proper cleaning and 

sanitizing. 

4. Age-appropriate solid foods (complimentary foods) may be introduced 

no sooner than when the child has reached four months of age, but 

ideally at six months. The first food introduced usually is cereal mixed 

with breast milk or formula (not in a bottle). Adding juice to dry cereal 

is not allowed. 

5. Commercially prepared baby foods shall be brought in unopened jars 

and labeled with the infant's name. A child care family home may 

choose to mash and puree the foods served to older children for the 

infants seven months to one year. No additional juice, sauces, or fats 

may be added to the pureed foods. 

6. Iron-fortified dry infant cereal shall be brought in sealed container 

premeasured for each feeding and labeled with the infant’s name. 
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7. Breast milk is the recommended feeding for infants and should be 

encouraged and supported by child care family home personnel. The 

mother may choose to come to the child care family home to nurse her 

infant or may choose to supply bottles of expressed breast milk for the 

child care personnel to feed the infant. To help a mother be successful 

with breastfeeding the child care family home may provide the 

following: 

 

• A quiet, comfortable and private place for feeding.  

• A place to wash the hands.   

• A comfortable chair, stool for feet while breast feeding.   

8. If infant is breast-fed, encourage the mother to provide a back-up 

supply of frozen breast milk that is labeled with the infant’s name and 

date of expression. The mother’s expressed milk shall be used for her 

infant only.  

9. Refer to the Centers for Disease Control for guidelines on the storage 

and preparation of breast milk.   

10. For a breast fed infant, it is acceptable to introduce iron-fortified cereal 

earlier, at four months if desired, but preferably at 6 months. 

11. A written schedule for feeding a breast-fed infant shall be provided by 

the parent and posted for reference by the child care family home staff. 

12. Feeding should be by hunger cues whenever possible. Hunger cues 

may include: 

• Sucking on tongue, lips, hands, or fingers while asleep 

• Moving his arms and hands toward mouth 

• Restless movements while asleep 

• Opening mouth when his lips are touched 

• “Rooting” or searching for the nipple 
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13. Infants are fed when hungry by noting hunger cues, such as crying, 

being restless. Feeding is stopped when it is determined that the infant 

is satisfied. Signs of satiety include, refusing the nurse, turning away 

from the nipple, falling asleep. 

14. Infants shall be held cradled in the arms during feeding. At no time 

shall an infant be fed by propping a bottle. 

15. Introduction of solid foods to an infant should be done in consultation 

with the parent.  

16. Juice shall not be served to infants (children less than 12 months of 
age). 

17. A small amount of water is encouraged at 8-12 months. 

18. Solid foods must be spoon-fed. No solid food shall be fed by bottle or 

infant feeder without written direction from a physician.  

19. Infants are encouraged to start using a cup at six to nine months, based 

upon motor skills. By the age of one, all children should be off a bottle. 

20. Older infants are encouraged to hold and drink from cups and to use child 

appropriate eating and serving utensils. Self-feeding should be 

encouraged.  

21. Breast milk or formula is served to at least 12 months of age. Children 

ages one to two, shall be served whole milk, after age two, toddlers 

should be served fat-free/skim milk or 1% milk.  

22. When centers are reimbursed for meals and must supply formula for 

their infants, only ready to use formula may be purchased for use. The 

center may require the parents to supply clean bottles daily. If the 

center supplies the bottles, there must be provisions in place for the 

proper cleaning, sanitizing, and drying of all bottles and supplies 

outside of the infant room. 

                       Meal Planning for Infants through One Year 

1. Infant food needs are based on the amount of time spent in the child 

care family home.   

2. Any infant in a child care family home at the time of a meal or snack, 

shall be served foods appropriate to age.   
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Meal/Snack Birth through 5 

Months 

6 Months through 12 Months 

Breakfast 4-6 fl. oz. breast milk 

or formula 

6-8 fl. oz. breast milk or formula 

2-4 Tbsp. prepared infant cereal (optional) 

1-4 Tbsp. fruit and/or 

Vegetable (infant or mashed) 

Lunch or Supper 4-6 fl. oz. breast milk 

or formula 

6-8 fl. oz. breast milk or formula 

2-4 Tbsp. prepared infant cereal (optional) 

1-4 Tbsp. fruit and/or vegetable (infant or 

mashed) 

1-4 Tbsp. infant meat 

Supplement/Snack 4-6 fl. oz. breast milk 

or formula 

2-4 fl. oz. breast milk or formula 

0-1/2 dry bread or 0-2 

crackers (optional) 

Meal Schedule for Children One year and older:  

1. Children’s food needs are based on the amount of time spent in the 

child care family home. 

2. Any child in a child care family home at the time of a meal or snack 

will be served that meal or snack.  

IF YOU ARE OPEN YOU MUST SERVE 

Nine hours or less Two snacks and one meal OR One snack and two meals 

Over nine hours Two snacks and two meals OR Three snacks and one meal 

24 hours or during all 

meals 

Three meal and three snacks: one snack should be a late night 

snack only served to children who are awake. 

Parties and Special Occasions:  Parties and party events should not be held more 

than once a month.  

Meal Planning for Children in Family Child Care Homes: 
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Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner/Snack  

 

Milk: 

Milk shall be served at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The milk shall be 

pasteurized fluid milk, fortified with vitamin A and D. Whole milk is 

served to infants and toddlers less than two years of age. After age two 

fat-free/skim milk or 1% milk shall be served. Milk alternatives may be 

served when indicated with dietary restrictions. 

Provisions must be made to serve calcium in alternate forms when no 

milk/substitute may be served to the child due to dietary restrictions. 

If a child cannot be served milk for medical reasons or upon parent’s 

instructions, then that child is not to be served high content milk products, 

e.g., pudding, ice cream, cheese, etc. 

Bread and Bread Alternates: 

Use enriched whole-grain breads and bread alternatives. Dry cereals need 

to be high fiber and not sugar coated. Whole grain pasta, noodles, or brown 

rice are encouraged at all meals.   

The following breakfast breads may be served: muffin, biscuit, toast, 

breakfast bread, pancake or waffle. These items should be limited: 

doughnuts, honey buns, breakfast tarts, pastries, packaged snack cakes, and 

other high fat/sugar foods. 

Plain, low sugar type cookies and snacks, including animal crackers, graham 

crackers, vanilla wafers, oatmeal, oatmeal raisin, peanut butter, low-fat 

granola bars, whole grain fruit and cereal bars, and Rice Krispie treats, and 

ginger snaps may be served as a snack occasionally. Other snack 

suggestions include cheddar cheese, plain or vegetable flavored crackers or 

trail mix made of various dry, no sugar-coated cereals, dried fruits, and small 

marshmallows Items that may not be served include chocolate chip cookies 

and most pre-packaged cookies/snack cakes.  

Fruits and Vegetables: 

Use fresh, canned, dried, or frozen fruit for every meal. No sugar may be 

used in the packaging or preparation of the fruit. Canned or frozen fruit 

should be packed in juice or water - not syrup or sugar packed. 

Vegetables may be used for the breakfast meal.  

Serve a variety of fruits and vegetables.   

Use a different combination of two or more fruit/vegetables during meals. 
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Use fresh, canned, dried, or frozen vegetables and fruits for meals.   

Avoid serving two forms of the same fruit or vegetable in the same day.  

Limit serving starchy vegetables. Starchy vegetables include white/sweet 

potatoes, lima beans, butter beans, English peas, black-eye peas, field peas, 

crowder peas, cream and whole kernel corn, and any dried bean/pea (unless 

counted for a meat alternate). 

The use of high sodium/salt and high fat seasonings should be limited.   

Fruit juice (100%) is allowed once a day.  

Water: 

Water is to be made available with all meals and snacks. Tap or bottled water 

may be served.  Water should be encouraged before and after all meals and 

snacks.   

Meat and Meat Alternates: 

Meats and meat alternates that would be acceptable include eggs, fat-free 

yogurt, low-fat cheese, fat-free cottage cheese, lean ham, Canadian bacon, 

and peanut butter. Bacon is not considered a meat and shall not be served 

infrequently. 

Edible portion for meats and meat alternates is used. No bones may be 

served. One ounce of cooked meat is equal to one medium cooked chicken 

leg with bone removed. 

Processed, pre-fried meats should be limited due to the sodium/salt and fat 

content. Meats not allowed include hot dogs, corndogs, bologna, bacon, 

sausage, pancake sticks, small chicken nuggets, fish sticks, and steak 

fingers. 

Processed cheese, such as cheese spread, canned cheese sauce, and cheese 

in packaged snack crackers is not allowed. Low-fat or fat-free cheese can 

be served. 

Serving nuts and seeds is not recommended due to the prevalence of 

nut/seed allergies. 
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VITAMIN C SOURCES 

VITAMIN C SOURCE MUST BE SERVED DAILY 

**BEST CHOICE 

*GOOD CHOICE 

#ACCEPTABLE CHOICE (ONLY COUNT FOR A VITAMIN SOURCE ONCE PER WEEK) 

Fruits Vegetables 

Food Serving Size  Food Serving Size  

Blackberries ¼ c. # Asparagus ¼ c. * 

Blueberries ¼ c. # Artichoke ¼ medium * 

Cantaloupe ¼ c ** Bok Choy ¼ c. * 

Grapefruit ¼ medium ** Broccoli ¼ c. ** 

Grapefruit Juice ½ c ** Brussel Sprouts ¼ c. ** 

Grapefruit-Orange 

Juice 

½ c. ** Cabbage ¼ c. * 

Guava ¼ c. ** Cauliflower ¼ c. * 

Honeydew Melon ½ c. * Chicory ¼ c. * 

Kiwi ½ medium ** Collard Greens ¼ c. * 

Mandarin Orange 

Sections 

¼ c. * Kale ¼ c. # 

Mango ¼ medium * Kohlrabi ¼ c. ** 

Melon balls ¼ c. *    

Orange ½ medium ** Mustard Greens ¼ c. # 

Orange Juice ¼ c. ** Okra, not fried ¼ c. # 

Papaya ¼ c. * Peppers, green & red ¼ c. ** 

Peach, frozen only ¼ c. ** Potato, White, or Red 
Skinned Baked only-no 

½ medium * 
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instant/fries/tots 

Pineapple ¼ c. # Rutabagas ¼ c. # 

Pineapple Juice ¼ c. * Snow Peas ¼ c. # 

Pineapple- 

grapefruit or orange 
juice 

¼ c. ** Spinach ¼ c. # 

Raspberries ¼ c. * Sweet Potato ½ medium * 

Starfruit ¼ c. # Tomato ½ medium * 

Strawberries ¼ c. ** Tomato or V-8 Juice ¼ c. ** 

Tangelo ½ medium ** Turnip Greens ¼ c. * 

Tangerine ½ medium ** Miscellaneous 

Tropical fruit mix ¼ c. *  

Watermelon ½ c. # Liver, beef 1 oz. ** 
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VITAMIN A SOURCES 

VITAMIN A SOURCE MUST BE SERVED EVERY OTHER DAY, 3 TIMES PER WEEK 

** BEST CHOICE 

* GOOD CHOICE 

#ACCEPTABLE CHOICE (ONLY COUNT FOR A VITAMIN SOURCE ONCE PER WEEK) 

Fruits Vegetables 

Food Serving Size  Food Serving 
Size 

 

Avocado ¼ medium # Asparagus ¼ c. # 

Apricot 2 halves * Artichoke ½ medium # 

Cantaloupe ¼ c. * Bok Choy ¼ c. * 

Cherries, red sour ¼ c. * Broccoli ¼ c. * 

Mandarin Orange 

Segments 

¼ c. * Brussels Sprouts ¼ c. * 

Mango ¼ medium ** Carrots ¼ c. ** 

Melon Balls ¼ c. * Collard Greens ¼ c. ** 

Nectarine ¼ medium #    

Papaya ¼ c. * Kale ¼ c. ** 

Peaches ¼ c. # Lettuce, Green, 

Romaine, or Red - NOT 

Iceberg 

½ c. # 

Plantain ¼ c. # Mixed Vegetables ¼ c. ** 

Prunes ¼ c. * Mustard Greens ¼ c. ** 

Tangerine ½ medium * Okra, not fried ¼ c. # 

   Peas & Carrots ¼ c. ** 

   Peppers, red ¼ c. ** 
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Miscellaneous Pumpkin ¼ c. ** 

Egg 1 medium * Rutabagas ¼ c. # 

Liver, beef 1 oz. ** Spinach ¼ c. ** 

Liver, chicken 1 oz. ** Sweet Potato ½ medium ** 

   Tomato or V-8 Juice ¼ c. ** 

   Turnip Greens ¼ c. ** 

   Winter Squash, Butternut 

or Hubbard 

¼ c. ** 
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APPENDIX B 

CLEANING AND DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

Keeping the child care environment clean is very important for the health and safety of both 

children and providers. One of the most important steps in reducing the number of germs, and 

therefore the spread of disease, is the thorough cleaning of surfaces that could possibly pose a 

risk to children or staff. Surfaces considered most likely to be contaminated are those which the 

children are most likely to have close contact. These include toys that children put in their 

mouths, crib rails, food preparation areas, and other surfaces, such as diaper-changing areas. 

Routine cleaning with soap and water is the most useful method for removing germs from 

surfaces in the child care setting. Physically scrubbing with soap and water reduces the number 

of germs from the surface, just as hand washing reduces the numbers of germs from the hands. 

Removing germs in the child care setting is especially important for soiled surfaces which 

cannot be treated with chemical disinfectants, such as some upholstery fabrics. 

However, some items and surfaces should receive an additional disinfection, to kill germs after 

cleaning with soap and rinsing with clean water. Items that can be washed in a dishwasher on 

the hot cycle of a washing machine are not required to be disinfected because these machines 

use high temperature water for a period long enough to kill most germs. The disinfection 

process uses chemicals that are stronger than soap and water. Disinfection also usually requires 

soaking the item for several minutes to give the chemical time to kill the remaining germs. 

Commercial products that meet the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) standards may be 

used for this purpose. One of the most used chemicals for disinfection in child care settings is a 

homemade solution of household bleach and water. The solution of bleach and water is easy to 

mix, is nontoxic, is safe if handled properly, and kills most infectious agents. Be aware that 

some infectious agents are not killed by bleach. 

A solution of bleach and water loses its strength quickly and easily. It is weakened by organic 

material, evaporation, heat, and sunlight. Therefore, bleach solutions should be mixed fresh each 

day to ensure its effectiveness. Any leftover solution should be discarded at the end of the day. 

NEVER mix bleach with anything but fresh tap water! Other chemicals may react with bleach 

and create and release a toxic gas. 

Keep the bleach solution you mix each day in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight and out of 

the reach of children. 

If a child care family home uses a commercial cleaner, sanitizer, or disinfectant it must be a EPA 

registered product that has an EPA registration number on the label. Such products shall only be 

used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. NOTE: All EPA-registered products may not 

be appropriate for use in a child care family home. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the operator 

to make sure any product use is appropriate for use in a child care family home. 
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Recipe for Bleach Disinfecting Solution 

For use on non-porous surfaces such as diaper change tables, counter tops, door cabinet 

handles toilets, etc. 

1/3 cup or 5 tablespoons bleach 

added to 

1 gallon of cool water 

OR 

4 teaspoons bleach 

added to 

1 quart of cool water 

Recipe for Weaker Bleach Sanitizing Solution 

For food contact surfaces sanitizing, e.g., dishes, utensils, cutting boards, highchair trays, 

toys that children may place in their mouths, and pacifiers. 

1 tablespoon bleach 

added to 

1 gallon of cool 

water 

Washing and Disinfecting Toys 

Infants and toddlers should not share toys. Toys that children (particularly infants and 
toddlers) put in their mouths should be washed and disinfected between uses by individual 
children. Toys for infants and toddlers should be chosen with this in mind. If you cannot 
wash a toy, it probably is not appropriate for an infant or toddler. 

When an infant or toddler finishes playing with a toy, you should retrieve it from the play 
area and put it in a bin reserved for dirty toys. This bin should be out of reach of the 
children. Toys can be washed at a later, more convenient time, and then transferred to a bin 
for clean toys and safely reused by the other children. 

To wash and disinfect a hard plastic toy: 

• Scrub the toy in warm, soapy water. Use a brush to reach into the crevices. 

• Rinse the toy in clean water. 

• Immerse the toy in a mild bleach solution (see above) and allow it to soak in the 
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solution for 10-20 minutes. 

• Remove the toy from the bleach and rinse well in cool water. 

• Air dry. 

Hard plastic toys that are washed in a dishwasher or cloth toys washed in the hot water cycle of the hot 

water cycle of a washing machine do not need to be additionally disinfected. 

Children in diapers should only have washable toys. Each group of children should have its own 
toys. Toys should not be shared with other groups. 

Stuffed toys used by only a single child should be cleaned in a washing machine every week or 
more frequently if heavily soiled. 

Toys and equipment used by older children and not put into their mouths should be cleaned at a 

minimum of weekly and/or when soiled. A soap and water wash followed by clear water rinsing 

and air drying should be adequate. No disinfection is required. (These types of toys and 

equipment include blocks, dolls, tricycles, trucks, and other similar toys.). 

Do not use wading pools for children in diapers. 

Water play tables can spread germs. To prevent this: 

• Disinfect the table with chlorine bleach solution before filling it with water. 

• Disinfect all toys to be used in the table with chlorine bleach solution. Avoid 
using sponge toys. They can trap bacteria and are difficult to clean. 

• Have all children wash their hands before and after playing in the water table. 

• Do not allow children with open sores or wounds to play in the water table. 

• Carefully supervise the children to make sure they do not drink the water. 

• Discard the water after play is over. 

Washing and Disinfecting Bathroom and Other Surfaces 

Bathroom surfaces, such as faucet handles and toilet seats, should be washed and disinfected 

several times a day, if possible, but at least once a day or when soiled. The bleach and water 

solution or chlorine-containing scouring powers or other commercial bathroom surface 

cleaner/disinfectants can be used in these areas. Surfaces that infants and young toddlers are 

likely to touch or mouth, such as crib rails, should be washed with soap and water and 

disinfected with a nontoxic disinfectant, such as bleach solution, at least once every day, more 

often if visibly soiled. After the surface has been cleaned with the disinfectant, it should be 

thoroughly wiped with a fresh towel moistened with tap water. Be sure not to use a toxic cleaner 

on surfaces likely to be mouthed. Floors should be washed and disinfected at least once a day 

and whenever soiled. 
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Washing and Disinfecting Diaper Changing Areas 

Diaper Changing Areas should: 

• Only be used for changing diapers. 

• Be smooth and nonporous, such as Formica (NOT wood). 

• Have a raised edge or low fence around the area to prevent a child from falling off. 

• Be next to a sink with hot and cold running water.  

• Not be used to prepare food, mix formula, or rinse pacifiers. 

• Be easily accessible to providers. 

• Be out of reach of children. 

Diaper changing areas should be cleaned and disinfected after each diaper changer as follows: 

• Clean the surface with soap and water and rinse with clear water. 

• Dry the surface with a paper towel. 

• Thoroughly wet the surface with the recommended bleach solution. 

• Wipe dry with a clean disposable towel or air dry. If using a commercial 

disinfectant/sanitizer, follow labeled manufacturer’s instructions. 

Washing and Disinfecting Clothing, Linen, and Furnishings 

Do not wash or rinse clothing soiled with fecal material in the child care setting. You may 

empty solid stool into the toilet. Put the soiled clothes in a plastic bag and seal the bag to await 

pick up by the child’s parent or guardian at the end of the day. Always wash your hands after 

handling soiled clothing. 

Explain to parents that washing or rinsing soiled diapers and clothing increases the chances that 

you and the children may be exposed to germs that cause disease. Although receiving soiled 

clothes is not pleasant, remind parents that this policy protects the health of all children and 

providers. Each item of sleep equipment, including cribs, cots, mattresses, blankets, sheets, etc., 

should be cleaned and sanitized before being assigned to a specific child. The bedding should 

be labeled with that child’s name and should only be used by that child. Children shall not share 

bedding. Infant linens (sheets, pillowcases, blankets) shall be cleaned and sanitized daily, and 

crib mattresses shall be cleaned and sanitized weekly or when soiled. Linens from beds of older 

children shall be laundered at least weekly and whenever soiled. However, if a child 

inadvertently uses another child’s bedding, you shall change the linen and mattress cover before 

allowing the assigned child to use it again. 
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Cleaning Body Fluid Spills 

Spills of body fluids, including blood, feces, nasal and eyed discharges, saliva, urine, and vomit 

shall be cleaned up immediately. Wear gloves while cleaning. Be careful not to get any of the 

fluid you are cleaning in your eyes, nose, mouth or any open sores you may have. Clean and 

disinfect any surfaces, such as counter tops and floors, on which body fluids have been spilled. 

Discard fluid-contaminated material in a plastic bag that has been securely sealed. Mops used to 

clean up body fluids should be cleaned, rinsed with a disinfecting solution, wrung dry, and hung 

to dry. Be sure to wash your hands after cleaning up any spill. 

Source: Centers for Disease Control 


