
Medical First Responder 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Q Where can I get a copy of the Mississippi EMS Rules and Regulations that pertain 

to the Medical First Responders? 

A You may view or download a copy of the Mississippi Laws, Rules and Regulations from 

www.ems.ms.gov . Chapter 5 of the Mississippi EMS Rules and Regulations pertains to 

the Medical First Responder. You will find this document under ‘EMS Systems / 

Regulations/ Adopted Regulations” on the website. The file is in adobe Acrobat format. 

If you do not have the Adobe Reader, you can download it free by clicking the link on the 

page or from www.adobe.com. . 

Q What is the age requirement to take Medical First Responder training? 

A You must be eighteen (18) years of age prior to class completion. 

Q Does Medical First Responder Refresher courses have to have BEMS approval? 

A Yes, all Medical First Responder courses must have BEMS approval 14 days prior to the 

first day of class. BEMS will assign a course number to all approved Medical First 

Responder courses. You may view or download a copy of these forms from 

www.ems.ms.gov You will find this document under “EMS Personnel/EMS 

Training/Instructor Section/Manual Forms/Medical First Responder Forms” on the 

website. The file is in Adobe Acrobat format. If you do not have the Adobe Reader, you 

can download it free from www.adobe.com. . 

Q Who has training authority to administer the Medical First Responder programs. 

A The guidelines and minimum standards are set forth in order to establish a minimum 

level of training for the Medical First Responder in the State of Mississippi. These 

guidelines and minimum standards shall be met by all Medical First Responder courses in 

the state. BEMS may approve Medical First Responder programs if it is determined after 

review by the BEMS staff and the Medical Direction, Training and Quality Assurance 

Committee that the objectives of the training program equal or exceed those of the State 

of Mississippi. Additionally, organized EMS districts as recognized by BEMS, 

Mississippi State Department of Health, are authorized to provide this training. All 

Medical First Responder training programs must have BEMS approval prior to the start 

of class. 

Q Are there forms that an approved Medical First Responder Instructor should have 

filled out prior to the start of a Medical First Responder course ? 

A Yes, Medical First Responder forms are available on the website at www.ems.ms.gov or 

by a request to BEMS office. There are four forms for Medical First Responder courses. 

The course Approval/Request form that should be submitted 14 days prior to the first day 

of class. The initial roster should be submitted immediately following the second 

meeting of the class. The final roster, along with the skill competency form for each 

student that completed the class should be submitted immediately following the last 

meeting of the class. 

You may view of download a copy of these forms from www.ems.ms.gov 

You will find this document under “ EMS Personnel/EMS Training/ Instructor 

Section/Manual Forms/Medical First Responder Forms” on the website. The file is in 

Adobe Acrobat format. If you do not have the Adobe Reader, you can download it free 

from www.adobe.com. . 

Q What is the new skills that was added to the Medical First Responder Curriculum? 



A In addition to the 40 hour First Responder Dot National Standard Training Curriculum, 

the following modules were added from the EMT-Basic DOT NSTC: Automatic External 

Defibrillator (AED), and oxygen therapy. 

Q What is the process for a Medical First Responder to apply for Mississippi 

certification and recertification? 

A The Bureau of Emergency Medical Services began state certifying Medical First 

Responders on July 1. 2004. Forms to be completed for this process are found at 

www.ems.ms.gov. You will find the document under “EMS Personnel/First Responder 

Cert/Recert” on the website. The file is in Adobe Acrobat format. If you do not have the 

Adobe Reader, you can download it free from www.adobe.com. . 

The following list requirements for Medical First Responder state certification and 

recertification 

Medical First Responder Certification 

1. Any person desiring certification as a Medical First Responder shall apply to the 

BEMS using forms provided (Application for State Certification). 

2. All certification applications must be accompanied by ten dollar ($10.00) money 

order or business check payable to the Mississippi State Department of Health - BEMS, a 

copy of the applicant's current National Registry card, and a BEMS may withhold or 

deny the application for certification for a like period of time equal to the like period of 

time under which a person failed to comply. Mississippi requires that all Medical First 

Responder’s maintain current registration with the National Registry of Emergency 

Medical Technicians. 

Recertification of Medical First Responders 

1. Any person desiring re-certification as a Medical First Responder shall apply to 

BEMS using forms provided (Application for state certification). 

2. All re-certification applications must be accompanied by ten dollar 

($10.00) money order or business check payable to the Mississippi State Department of 

Health – BEMS. Also include a copy of the applicant’s current National Registry 

card. 

3. All Medical First Responder’s failing to re-certify with BEMS on or before the 

expiration date of his/her certification period will be considered officially 

expired. 

4. BEMS may withhold or deny an application for re-certification for a like period of 

time equal to the like period of time under which a person fails to comply. 

5. A Medical First Responder certificate issued shall be valid for a period not exceeding 

two and one-half (2 ½ ) years from date of issuance and may be renewed upon payment 

of a renewal fee of ten dollars ($10.00), which shall be paid to the Board, provided that 

the holder meets the qualifications set forth in regulations promulgated by the Board. 

6. The Board may suspend or revoke a certificate so issued at any time it is 

determined that the holder 

Q What is the required hours for a Medical First Responder course and Refresher 

course? 

A The minimum hours required for Medical First Responder are 40 hours didactic/lab with 

time allowed for the additional modules taken from the EMT Basic DOT National 

Standard Training Curriculum: Automatic External Defibrillator (AED), and oxygen 

therapy. 



The minimum hours required for the Medical First Responder Refresher are 12 hours 

didactic/lab with time allowed to refresh on the additional modules taken from the EMT 

Basic National Standard Training Curriculum: Automatic External Defibrillator (AED), 

and oxygen therapy. 

The Mississippi Medical First Responder Curriculum and the Medical First Responder 

Refresher Curriculum must conform, at minimum, to the National Standard Training 

Curriculum (NSTC) developed by the United States Department of Transportation and all 

current revisions as approved for use by BEMS. 

Q What is the cost for a Medical First Responder to take the National Registry? 

A At this time the cost for the Medical First Responder National Registry examination is 

$20.00. 

Q How can I locate a Medical First Responder National Registry examination? 

A First Responder National Registry examination are scheduled by request to the BEMS 

office. There should be at least ten applicants scheduled for the examination. You may 

request a First Responder National Registry examination by submitting three days (not in 

the same week), nights and/or weekends. In addition, please list a preference to time and 

location for the examination. 

Send request to: 

Joshua Dawson
Mississippi State Department of Health 

Bureau of Emergency Medical Services 

Post Office Box 1700 

Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700 

Email: joshua.dawson@msdh.ms.gov
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