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T, s __ MississipPl STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CHILD CARE LICENSURE INFORMATION MEMORANDUM
Number 4 April, May, & June Volume FY 2013
ANNOUNCEMENTS

1. The Child Care Licensure Division would like to welcome our new Licensing Official in District VI, Britthey Robinson.
We would aso like to bid afond farewell to Cynthia Lesure from District 111, Fallon Brewster & LaRonda Canada from
District V and Marshall Dixon from District VIII.

2. Thenext Child Care Advisory Council Meeting is scheduled for April 26, 2013 at 1:00 p.m. The meeting will be held at
the Child Care Licensing Central Office located at 143B Lefleurs Square, Jackson, MS 39211.

3. The proposed amendments to the child care licensing regulations that are scheduled to go before the Mississippi Board of
Health (BOH) for approval are posted in the Child Care Licensure section of the Mississippi State Department of Health
website located at http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/30,0,183,88.html. The BOH will meet in the MSDH Osborne
Building Auditorium located at 570 E. Woodrow Wilson Blvd., Jackson, MS 39215 at 10:00 am., on April 10, 2013.

The Oral Proceeding to hear public comments regarding the proposed regulation amendments is scheduled for 11:00 am.,
on April 5, 2013, in the MSDH Osborne Building Auditorium located at 570 E. Woodrow Wilson Blvd., Jackson, MS
39215.

4. The Child Care Licensure Training Unit wishes to remind providers to check the calendars and sign up for classes more
than 1 week prior to the training (not the day before or the day of), as your trainers need this information to properly
prepare for the class. Training classes/schedules are posted on the MSDH website at
http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/30,0,183,437.html.

a.  Thelocation of thetrainingsis provided in the confirmation letter which is emailed (or mailed if no email address
is provided) to the provider after registration.

b. If you are attending trainings in an area unfamiliar to you, please allow extratime to find the training location.
Registrants who arrive more than 15 minutes after a class has started WILL NOT receive a certificate for the class
even if they stay for the remainder of that class.

c. Non-mandatory trainings are now being offered. Please seethe attached calendar for more details!

5. PLEASE NOTE: Effectiveimmediately, the following procedures will be followed concerning payments made to the
Child Care Licensure Division:

a. “CASH” isnolonger accepted for payments for regulation books, monetary penalties, application fees, initial
licensing fees, renewal fees, late fees, etc.

b. All paymentsto MSDH/Child Care are to be made by Personal Check, Company Check, Certified Check, or
Money Order.

c. Checksand money orders should be made payable to Mississippi State Department of Health or MSDH.

d. Should apersona check or company check be returned to MSDH for “insufficient funds,” a $50 returned check fee
will be assessed. Should such occur, only certified checks or money orders will be accepted from a facility
henceforth.

6. Federal Regulations mandate that, effective December 28, 2012, Drop Side baby cribs can no longer be used in child care
facilities.

7. Asareminder, the Child Abuse Reporting Law states, “ Any attorney, physician, dentist, intern, resident, nurse,
psychologist, social worker, child care giver, minister, law enforcement officer, public or private school employee or any
other person having reasonable cause to suspect that a child is a neglected child or an abused child shall cause an oral report

to be made immediately by telephone or otherwise and followed as soon thereafter as possible by areport in writing to the
Department of Human Services.”



8. If you areinterested in becoming approved to offer contact hours to child care providers, the document, “ How to Become
An Approved Staff Development Trainer” has been placed on the M SDH website under the “ Child Care Provider
Training” section and then beneath “Related Resources.” For additional information, please contact Ms. Nancy Nunley,

Region 1 Trainer.

9. The Child Care Licensure Division has collaborated with the Office of Tobacco Control to promote the new Care for Their
Air program. This program is geared toward educating child care providers, preschoolers, and their parents about the
dangers of second-hand smoke. One contact hour will be available for providers trained by the M S Tobacco-Free Coalition
(MTFC) Director in your county (www.tobaccofreems.org). For more information, contact the MSDH Office of Tobacco

Control at 866-458-4948 or 866-724-6115.

10.

send only the renewal fee that is based on the capacity of your center.

An application fee of $100.00 must to be paid when applying for anew license. For regular annual license renewal, please

“Anyone who does anything to help a child in his life is a hiero to me.”

— Fred Rogers

Please note changes for the Child
Care Licensure Training Unit.

Region 1 — Trainer: Nancy Nunley
Districts—1,2 & 4

Region 2 — Trainer: Coming Soon
Districts—3,5& 7

Region 3 — Trainer: Josie Smith
Districts—6,8& 9

Child Care Regulations Training will now be
credited at 4 Contact Hours instead of 6
Contact Hours.

- Child Care Regulations classes through
July 2013 will continue to be credited at 6
Contact Hours.

Non-mandatory trainings (2-3 contact hours)
will be offered after the Child Care
Regulations training in the evenings.

Trainings will be offered in Centralized
locations in each District.
These locations are as follows:

District 1. Southaven & Grenada
District 2: Tupelo & Oxford

District 3: Greenwood & Greenville
District 4. Starkville & Amory
District 5: Jackson & Y azoo City
District 6: Meridian & Philadelphia
District 7: Natchez & McComb
District 8: Hattiesburg & Laurel
District 9: Biloxi & Pascagoula

Child Care Trainer Areas
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Nancy Nunley
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MEMORANDUM

December 28, 2012

TO: ALL LICENSED CHILD CARE PROVIDERS

FROM: Gay W. Logan, Director
Child Care Licensure Division

SUBJECT: Change of Policy Regarding All Money Sent to Child Care

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY

There has been a change in policy regarding where to send all payments for Monetary Penalties, Initial
Application Fees, Renewal Fees, Regulation Books, etc. Starting immediately, all payments of money,
I.e., checks and money orders (do not send cash) are to be sent directly to the Child Care Licensure
Division in Jackson, Mississippi.

The Department recommends that providers place a note with the payment (check or money order)
regarding why you are making the payment. Also, contact your licensing official, by phone or email,
and inform them of the reason for the payment and the amount that you are sending to the Child Care
Licensure Division in Jackson.

Mail All Materials To:
Mississippi State Department of Health
Child Care Licensure Division
PO Box 1700
Jackson, M'S 39215-1700

Please make sure you make out the check or money order payable to the Mississippi State Department
of Health or MSDH.

Reminder: DO NOT SEND CASH

Y our understanding and cooperation in this matter is greatly appreciated.



®  Child Care Providers

ree Your Guide to New Crib Standards

Beginning December 28, 2012, any crib provided by child care facilities and family child care homes must
meet new and improved federal safety standards. The new standards take efiect for manufacturers, retailers,
importers and disinbutors on June 28, 2011, addressing deadly hazards previously seen with radifional
drop-side rails, requiring more durable hardware and parts and mandating more Agorous testing.

What you should know... What you should do...

» This is more than a drop side is=ue. Immobilzing your » All ebuld care facilities, fanuly child eare homses, and
current erih will not make it compliant. places of public accommedation:
* You canmot decermine comphiance by loolang at the produet. o Must prepare to replace thedr current cobs with new,

aant cribs before December 28, 2012,
* The new standards apply to all full-zze and non full-mze o Should pot resell, donate or pive away a cob that does
erihs ineluding wood, metal and stackable eribs. Dot meet the new eob standands.

» If you parchaze a enth prior to the June 28, 2011 effectve » Dispoze of older, noneomphiant eribs i a manmer that
date and you are uncare it meets the new federal standard, the erths cammat be reassembled and wsed.
CP5C recommends that you verify the erb meets the

standard by aslang for proof * Noncomphiant eribs should not be resold throagh
online auetion sites or domated to local thrift
0 Ack the mannfacturer, retailer, importer o distobuwtor to stores. CPSC recommends disassembling
showr a Certificate of Comphiance. The document nmst: the erih hefore diseardimg it.
- Dieserbe the product
- Give pame, full mailing address and telephone mumber
fori or domestic mamufactrer
ity the rule for wiich it comphes
{16 CFR 1219 or 1220}

- (Zive pame, full magliee addmess, emal address and
telephoee mumber for the racords keeper and location
of testing Lsb

- Give daie and Jocation of memofacture and testmp

© The eob nmst also kave » Labe] affached with the
date of mamifsctme




t} The Infant and Toddler Institute

Managing Everyday Experiences
With Infants and Toddlers

June 7-8, 2013 ~ E.E. Thrash Universities Center

This Institute is designed to teach infant and toddler child care providers how to
create an environment with meaning and purpose. Providers will gain knowledge
about classroom experiences such as the importance of play , bringing books alive,
connecting with music and movement, early literacy, and art creativity.

Registration: 7:30a.m.-8:15a.m.
Friday-Saturday: 8:15a.m.-4:00p.m.
Lunch: 11:30a.m.-12:55p.m. (on your own)
Cost: $39.00 per person
JSU Students $10.00 (with a copy of their spring/summer schedule and student identification)

Participants can earn 12 Contact Hours and 1.2 CEU’s

For more information:
JTackson State University
School of Lifelong Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson. Mississippi 39211
601-432-6109 or toll free: 1-800-264-6234
You can also visit the website at: services.smec-jsu.org



Jackson State University Jackson State University
School of Lifelong Learning P JCHOOL OF

3825 Ridgewood Road r}x':: i fe I on g

Jackson, M5 39211 earning
Phone: (601)-432-6109 or 1-800-264-6234
Fax: 601-432-6124
Managing Everyday Experiences with Infants and Toddlers
The Infant and Toddler Institute
June 7-8 2013
Registration Form
Instructions: Please complete and fax the registration form to (601)-432-6124 or mail form to:
3825 Ridgewood Road, Box 23, Jackson, MS 39211
Application Date: E-Mail:
Name:
Address:
Street City State Zip Code

Telephone No: Work:
Cell: Fax:
Agency:

Total Number of Staff Members Attending Institute:

Total Amount of Money Owed:

Total Amount of Money Enclosed:

Cost $39.00 per person
JSU Students: $10.00 (with a copy of their spring/summer 2013 schedule and student identification)
Please make all checks payable to: Jackson State University

Method of Payment: Money Order Check Purchas Order

*¥¥Please attach a list of all participants attending the institute. ***



KEEP BABY
IN SPACE

Starting February 28, 2013, testing for play yards will be more rigorous.

4 y —

SAFE SLEEP TIPS:

A play yard is a framed enclosure with a floor and
mesh or fabric side panels. It may be folded for
storage or travel. It is primarily intended to provide
a play or sleeping environment for children who are
less than 35 inches tall who cannot climb out of
the product.




ANNOUNCEMENT

CHILD CARE ADVISORY COUNCIL VACANCIES

The Mississippi State Department of Health, Child Care Facilities Licensure Division has two (2) upcoming vacancies on
the Child Care Advisory Council. We are now taking applications from those individuals that would like to serve on the
council. All terms are for three years and the selected individuals will be eligible for reappointment to the Council at that
time.

The purpose of the Child Care Advisory Council is to assist and advise the licensing agency in the development of
regulations governing the licensure and regulation of child care facilities.

Council members are required to attend meetings at least four (4) times a year and more often if necessary. The
Department reimburses the council members for their travel according to the rates established by state law.

Individuals eligible to serve on the Council must either be:

1. Provider - A licensed child care provider, i.e., either an owner of a licensed child care facility or an employee of
licensed child care facility. Documentation of ownership or employment is required.

2. Professional Organization - A person officially representing a child care professional organization, child
advocacy group, or a state agency that provides child care funding or services. The entity the individual wants to
represent must officially nominate them in writing to serve on the Council.

The vacancies that are available in each of the Supreme Court Districts are listed below. See enclosed:

1. Supreme Court District 2 - One Vacancy — Provider

2. Supreme Court District 3 - One Vacancy - Professional Organization

To be considered for appointment to the Council, you must apply in the following manner.

1. Complete the enclosed Child Care Advisory Council Application form.

2. Prepare a cover letter explaining why you want to serve on the Council.

3. Prepare a resume.

4, If you are applying for a Professional vacancy, you must submit with your application a letter of nomination

from the organization you want to represent.
Mail all required documents to the following mailing address:

Mississippi Department of Health
Child Care Licensure
143 Lefleurs Square
PO Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215

Incomplete applications will NOT be considered.
All applications must be received in this office no later than May 15, 2013.
Please contact Gay Logan at 601-364-2827 if additional information is required.



CHILD CARE ADVISORY COUNCIL
APPLICATION

Please refer to the attached map to identify the Supreme Court District in which you reside. Please complete
and mail this form with a cover letter and resume to the:

Mississippi Department of Health
Child Care Licensure — Advisory Council
P.O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215
Phone: (601) 364-2827

I desire to be considered for appointment to the Child Care Advisory Council. The information I have provided
below details my credentials and the category in which I am eligible for consideration. I have submitted a cover
letter detailing why I desire to serve on the council as well as a complete resume detailing my experience.
training, and role in childcare. If appointed. I understand that the term will last until 06/30/16 and that I may be
required to attend four (4) or more meetings per year.

NOTE: Ifyou are representing an Agency/Professional Organization, or Child Advocacy Group, you must
also submit with your application a lefter from your organization that nominates you fo serve on the
Council.

Signature Date
Please PRINT the following information:

NAME:

HOME MAILING ADDRESS:

SUPREME COURT DISTRICT (Refer to Attached Map): Circleone: 1 2 3
MEMBER CATEGORY (Check ALL that apply):

( ) Licensed Provider: Facility Name & License #:

( ) Agency/Professional Organization Representative (Please provide name of Agency or Organization)

( ) Child Advocacy Group Representative (Please provide name of Advocacy Group)

NOTE: Ifyou are going to represent an Agency/Professional Organization, or Child Advecacy Group, you
must also submit with your application a letter from your organizafion that nominates you fo serve on the
Council.



Child Care Advisory Council Revised: 03/01/2007
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Care for Their Airs
$moke~Free Home Pledge Event

Care for Their Air is a prograom for MS child care centers to educate parents & caregivers about the health

risks to children from secondhand smoke exposure & encourage them to commit to providing a smoke-free
environment in their homes & cars.

Program materials are available at no cost to child care centers interested in implementing the activities.
Child care centers can receive incentives for their participation!

For more information, please contact:
Mississippi State Department of Health
Office of Tobacco Control
805 S. Wheatley St., Suite 400
Ridgeland, MS 39157
601-991-6050 or 1-866-724-6115

OR

The Mississippi Tobacco-Free Coalition (MTFC) Director
serving your county (www.tobaccofreems.org)

Request Form

Ready to plan your Care for Their Air event? Please complete this form & submit it to the
MSDH Office of Tobacco Control at the address listed above.

Name of Organization:

Name of Event Coordinator:

Address:
County:
Phone Number:
Fax Number:
E-mail Address:
& A




Are you a mother-to-be, new mother, mother who is
breastfeeding a baby, or mother

of a child less than 5 years old?

If you answered “yes” to any of these questions,
you may be eligible for WIC

WIC is a supplemental food and nutrition education

program for Women, Infants, and Children. WIC provides
+ Healthful foods like milk, cheese, cereal, fresh fruit,

and vegetables

Information about healthy eating

Breastfeeding support

Referrals for other health care needs like shots and checkups

X/
SR X4

0‘0
7
L X4

Bring to Health Department for WIC visit:

Proof of ID: baby, crib card, driver’s license, Social security card, birth certificate
Proof of residence: utility bill, driver’s license, picture ID

Proof of income: current pay stubs, W-2, tax return OR proof of Medicaid, TANF, or Food Stamps
WIC Income Guidelines

*Each additional family member: Yearly: +$7,067;

Family
Monthly: +$589; Weekly: +$136

Size Weekly | Monthly | Annually
$398 $1,723 $20,665
$539 $2,333 $27,991
$680 $2,944 | $35,317
$821 $3,554 | $42,643
$961 $4,165 $49,969

$1,102 | $4,775 $57,295

$1,243 | $5,386 $64,621
$1,384 | $5,996 $71,947

You can apply for WIC at your local health
department.
For more information go to www.HealthyMS.com.

ON|O|OIA~IW[IN|F-




¢ERESUNA FUTURA MAMA O UNA MAMA QUE ESTASAMAMANTANDO A TU BEBE, O
TIENES NINOS MENORES DE CINCO ANOS?
Si tu repuestaes’ s “acuaquiera de estas preguntas, tu puedes ser elegible parael programade WIC.

WI C es un programa suplementar de comiday nutricion educacional para mujeres, nifios e infantes. WIC
proporcionar
e Comidas saludables como leche, queso, ceredles, frutas frescas y vegetales.
Informacion acerca de como comer saludablemente
Apoyo e informacion acerca de amamantamiento para su bebé
Referencia a otras necesidades de salud como chequeos y vacunas.
Para citasa WIC traiga lo sigiente al Departamento de Salud

e Pruebadeidentificacion: tarjeta del hospital con informacion del nacimiento de su bebé, prueba de
identificacion personal, licencia de manejo, tarjeta de seguro social, certificado de nacimiento.

e Prueba de direccién: Puede ser, cobro de utilidades, identificacién personal con su direccion o licencia
de mangjo.

e Pruebadeingreso: Talones de pago, W-2, declaracion de impuestos o tarjeta de Medicaid, TANF, o
prueba de estampillas de comida

e Cadamiembro familiar adiciona : anuamente: $7,067, mensualmente +$589; semana mente:+$136

GUIA DE INGRESOSDE WIC

? Miembros Semana | Mensua Anua
7 defamilia

4 1 $398 $1,723 | $20,665
4 2 $539 $2,333 $27,991
7 3 $680 $2,944 $35,317
4 $821 $3,554 $42,643
; 5 $961 $4,165 $49,969
7 6 $1,102 $4,775 $57,295
53 7 $1,243 $5,386 $64,621
% 8 $1,384 $5,996 $71,947

Puede aplicar a WIC en su Departamento de Salud L ocal:
(Revisado Mayo 2012)



SAFE?Y ALERT

National Transportation Safety Board

* 1 5-Passenger Vans

Follow these safety precautions if you own
or ride in a 15-passenger van

The grim facts

Between 1994 and 2004, there were 1,512 fatal crashes involving 15-passenger vans.
A total of 642 of these were single-vehicle crashes; 515 of the vehicles rolled over.

In 2004 alone, 120 occupants of 15-passenger vans died in crashes involving these
vehicles.

More than half of the 15-passenger vans involved in single-vehicle accidents rolled over,
compared to one-third of passenger cars.

Eighty-one percent of crash-related occupant deaths in 15-passenger vans occur in
single-vehicle rollover accidents.

The problems

Large vans are frequently used to transport college and other school sports teams,
commuters, students, day care children, the elderly, and church groups.

A major problem with 15-passenger vans is that their tires are often underinflated,
leading to higher tire temperatures, faster tire deterioration, and diminished driving
stability.

Adding passengers and cargo causes the center of gravity to move upward and
rearward, increasing a vehicle’s tendency to roll over and increasing the potential for the
driver to lose control in emergency maneuvers.

Fifteen-passenger vans are 3 times more likely to roll over when loaded with more than
10 passengers.

In just two 15-passenger van crashes alone, in North Carolina and Texas in 2001, a
teenager and four senior citizens died when left rear tires failed, the drivers lost control
of the vehicles, and the vans rolled over several times.

What can you do to make a trip in a 15-passenger van safer?

Beware! Front and back tires may require different inflation pressures and these
pressures may be higher than those of passenger car tires. Car tire pressures are
typically 28-32 Ibs. and the same for all 4 tires. However, van tires are very different
with typically up to 50 Ibs. in the front tires and up to 80 Ibs. in the rear tires. The
manufacturer's recommended pressure is usually provided on the driver’'s doorsill or in
the owner’'s manual.



+ Always check the conditions of the tires. Examine tires for uneven wear, cracks, and
damage, and replace them if necessary. Many of these 15-passenger vans are not
continuously driven like a family car. Exposure to sunlight and sitting parked for long
periods can lead to deadly tire degradation and dry rot.

s |t is critical to remember that low mileage doesn’t mean tires are safe. Unfortunately,
dangerously deteriorated tied cannot always be detected by visual inspection alone.

* Wear seat belts! Keep all seat belts accessible and require that all passengers use
them. NTSB accident investigations show that several of the van passengers who died
might not have lost their lives if they had been wearing seat belts. They were ejected
from the 15-passenger vans when the vehicles rolled over.

+ Inspect seat belts and replace missing buckles, as well as broken and worn belts. Seat
belts are often forgotten when they are out of sight and wedged between the seat
bottom and seat back.

* Be aware that van drivers need additional training since these vans handle differently
than other vehicles, especially when they are fully loaded.

+ Remember that in emergencies, vans react differently than a family car. Make all
drivers of these vans aware that the handling characteristics of vans are different,
especially during an emergency like a tire blow out.

+* Do not overload 15-passenger vans, and do not use a roof rack or strap on cargo to the
back of the van. As the weight inside a van increases, so does the van’s propensity to
roll over.

*» Highway safety experts at the NTSB strongly suggest you use these safety tips and
pass along this information to organizations that use 15-passenger vans.

Need more information?
+ Visitthe NTSB Web site, wwww.ntsb.gov, for the following accident reports:

* 15-Passenger Van Single-Vehicle Rollover, Henrietta, Texas, May 8, 2001 and
Randleman, North Carolina, July 1, 2001.

e 15-Passenger Child Care Van Run-Off-Road Accident, Memphis, Tennessee, April 4,
2002.

* Highway Accident Brief: 15-Passenger VVan Median Crosssover and Impact with Truck,
Joliet, lllinois, January 26, 2001.

SA-001 May 2006



MSDH Approved Staff Development Trainers

As of March 12, 2013

Name Courses Telephone No.
Rachell Vicknair Various 225-567-6981
Dorothy Lewis Various 601-736-4915
Dr. Buddy Fish Various 601-573-6771
Annie Ward Lowery Various 601-469-9801
Win Maxey-Shumate Various 601-481-1376

Or 601-527-9495

Phyllis Kitchens

o0k, wN R

Singing as a Teaching Tool

Could you Repeat That?

Transitioning Children into a New Surrounding/Environment
Emergency Safety Training

Self-Esteem Movement & Learning

Classroom Arrangement for Preschool

662-282-7668
or 662-282-4721

Dr. Carrie Ford-Campbell

Various

601-877-6252

Beverly Peden

Various

601-825-9153

Brenda M. Pritchett

Various

662-328-4805

Annie Y. Griffin

RBOONOOA~WDND R
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Playtime is Learning Time

Resolving Conflicts Independently

Active Learning

Math for Toddlers & Preschoolers

Creating Critical Thinkers

Physical Development & Health for Toddlers & Preschoolers
Language & Literacy for Toddlers & Preschoolers

Building Relationships with Parents & Extended Family
Promoting Interaction Among Children

. Promoting Acceptance of Diversity
. Nature & Science for Toddlers & Preschoolers

662-812-7184

Dr. Alan M. Gross

Various

662-607-0300

Linda Glaze

PR

Caught in the Love...Understanding Early Childhood

Use Your Words

Environmental Rating Scales Overview Training

Any training provided to directors involved in the Lafayette County Excel by Five
Project*

662-234-3517

Dr. Mary Ann Greene

Various

601-987-8127

Elizabeth Freeman

pLODOE

Understanding Children’s Behavior

The Early Childhood Learning Environment: Group Care & Spaces to Grow
Learning and Development with Infants/Toddlers

Culture, Families and Providers

662-897-4905

Dr. Deborah Minor

Various

662-417-1487

Cassandra Townes

= O

Effective Classroom Management for Child Care Providers
Effective Teaching Practices for Child Care Providers
Speech Development Through Reading & Music, birth-4 yrs
3 Skills a Preschooler Really Needs

Why Do Babies Do That?

Effective Teaching Strategies - 1

Developmental Skills Checklist for Preschool Students
What to Expect from your Preschool Student at Age 3

What to Expect from your Preschool Student at Age 4

. What to Expect from your Kindergartener
. Ten Skills Children Really Need to Become Successful

662-299-2361

Kathy S. Burns

ORPONPRBOONDOAWDE
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123, Look at ME: Developmental Stages of Children Ages 0-4

123, Look at Me: Developmental Stages of Children Ages 0-4, Part 2
FUN-damentals of Science

FUN-damentals of Science, Part 2

Exploring Literature Through the Arts: Books to Read, Songs to Sing, “Art to Go”
Part 1

Exploring Literature Through the Arts: Books to Read, Songs to Sing, “Art to Go”
Part 2

I've Got the Music In Me

228-209-7846

Dr. Tabitha A. Smith

Various

601-437-4831

Dr. Linda Channell

Various

601-914-2725
601-940-7130




Don Hicks Various 601-927-7079
1. Autism Spectrum Disorders
Stephanie Watson 2. Managing Problem Behaviors 803-640-0615
3. The 5 Critical Needs of Children
LaTasha Brown-Homes Various 601-597-8044
gg /:’_V ggftae:('ENfiwe!'d Various 601-634-8941
o quipped, Executive Leadership Training or 601-529-1322
Deborah T. Craig “Are You Prepared?” - Disaster Readiness Training 901-337-8383
Dr. Grace Powell 2. Postive Disciniing (Teahmiaues) - o et 601-259-2267
' Coe P a or 601-877-3858
3. Various
) . . 601-454-5376
Dr. Shakira Cain Various or 601-825-5414
Josenda Wright Various 662-298-9925
g Improving Your Time Management System or 662-429-2460
. . . 662-895-1900
Alan Wilson Teaching to Change Lives or 901-262-5200
Jaqueline Carter Bullying 901-550-5965
1. Introduction to Youth Court
2. Abused/Neglected Children 601-955-1887
Jason Zebert, JD 3. Working with Child Victims or 601-208-0768
4. Teaching Children About Prevention & Safety
Kimberly Hunt Various 214-636-5446
Wilhelmenia Newson Various 662-902-7673
Eileen Beazley Various 601-918-3672
. “ . . " 336-918-8845 or
Jarrod T. Covington Working with 5-12 Year Olds 901-682-8025
Lawrence Swindall Crisis Management 901-233-1235
Artricia S. Polk 1. Motivated to Succeed 901-921-3983 or
’ 2. Protecting Our Children: Abuse & Detection Training 901-543-6372
Tasha Bailey Various 662-379-5541
1. Sign-On! American Sign Language (Face-to-face & Online Distance Learning)
. 2. Searching for Library Treasures - Online Distance Learning : i
Marilynn J. Ward 3. Your Life is in Your Hands - Online Distance Learning 770-862-4603
4. Let's Talk, Let’s Listen, Let’s Learn - Online Distance Learning

Dr. Lanitra M. Kinkle

Various

662-801-0976

Joyce P. Greer

The DAP for Phonic & Phonemic Awareness

Developing Building Blocks for Preschoolers

Mean Buisness without Being Mean

Thinking Math: Activities to Develop Reasoning & Thinking for Children
What's in a Nursery Rhyme

Common Core Math Strategies that “Make Sense” to Parents

601-260-1639

Tonya J. Barton

Learning Fun for Infants & Toddlers

More than Routines

Learning Centers...How Children Learn Best

Guidance & Discipline with Young Children

Developmental Appropriate Practices with Infants, Toddlers & Preschoolers

601-201-7976

Terre B. Harris

Remember Who You Are

The Magic Words

Using the Finer Things in Life

We Are Thankful

Learning Life with 3 & 4 Year Olds

601-573-1572

Kathy Edwards

Safety is our Priority
Fine Motor is Child’s Play
Developmental Readiness

601-201-4220

Bobby A. Adams

ORPONRPONPOAONROREONE OOTRWON R

How Children Develop & Learn
Promoting Dual Language Learners
School Readiness

Promoting a Healthy Environment
Lesson Plans

601-270-6801

Tonia F. Bailey

Various

601-609-4668




The Following Providers Have Standing Approval
For Child Care Staff Development

Any program related to child care sponsored or conducted by PROJECT PREPARE, Institute for Disability Studies
at The University of Southern Mississippi. For information, contact Ann Henson at 601-331-7369

Any program related to childcare sponsored by an accredited University, College, Community College, Mississippi
State University Extension Service, the Mississippi State Department of Education, or Public School District, or
The Mississippi Arts Commission (www.mswholeschools.org)

Mississippi Department of Human Services-Office for Children and Youth Director’s Childcare Credentialing
Project and any other training offered by MDHS - Division of Early Childhood Care & Development.

Any program related to child care offered by Mississippi Building Blocks.

Any program related to childcare sponsored by a state or regional professional childcare organization, etc.,
including but not limited to Jackson Childhood Association, Mississippi Early Childhood Association, or local
affiliate, Rankin Childcare Director’s Association, Pine Belt Childcare Directors Network, Gulf Coast Child Care
Directors Network,, Pontotoc Area Childcare Professionals: Committed to Excellence (PACE), and National
Association of Child Care Professionals (NACCP).

Any program related to childcare sponsored by a national childcare organization, National Association for the
Education of Young Children, Child Welfare League of America, or National Child Care Association, Southern
Early Childhood , etc., or their affiliates.

Any program related to childcare presented by the Appelbaum Training Institute.

Any program related to childcare offered by the Mississippi Low Income Child Care Initiative. Contact Carol
Burnett at 228-374-2218.

CPR and FIRST AID training that is provided by a CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR and results in the certification of the
attendee. Caregivers must take adult, infant, and pediatric First Aid and CPR. Online training for these courses
will not be accepted - must be face-to-face.

Any program related to childcare provided by the Mississippi Forum on Children and Families.

Any program related to childcare provided by the Mississippi State University’s Partners for Quality Childcare
Project or the Mississippi Childcare Resource and Referral Network (1-866-706-8827).

Any program related to childcare by Natural Learning, 103 Sycamore St., Leland, MS 38756. Contact Mary Jo
Ayres at 662-686-9691.

Home-Study courses for child care providers through Care Courses. Contact Care Courses at
www.carcourses.com or 1-800-685-7610.

Home-Study courses for child care providers through ECE Training. Contact ECE Training at
mhancock@ecetraining.net or (707)339-0488.

Any program related to childcare offered by the Mississippi SIDS Alliance (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome).

Any program related to child development or childcare offered by New Dimensions Child Development Training
Institute, 1065 Raymond Road, Jackson, MS 39204. Contact Jo Gregory at 601-502-2700

(CDA) Credentialing Director Associate Certificate offered by Collate Education For Mississippi, INC. P.O. Box
75664 / Jackson, MS 39282, Contact: Annie Thompson @ 601-953-9917 or 601-397-62640r
baptiZm@comcast.net.

Any program related to early care and learning offered by Collate Education for Mississippi, Dr. Annie Thompson,
P.O. Box 75664, Jackson, MS 39282. 601-953-9917 or 601-397-6264 or baptiZm@comcast.net.

Any program related to child care provided by Voices for Mississippi’s Children, Inc., Helen M. Taylor, President.



Various courses related to Child Care and CPR/First Aid provided by Memphis International Training Institute.

Various courses related to child care offered by the Sunflower/Humphreys Counties Progress, Inc. Early
Childhood Education Development Service Department. Contact: Gwendolyn Williams, 662-887-1431, ext. 109.

Any program related to early care and education provided by Mississippi Center for Education Innovation, 601-
354-3356.

Any program related to early care and education provided by the Mississippi Grassroots Coalition for Families
and Children, Dorothy Lewis, President, 601-736-4915.

Any distance learning course for early childhood professionals offered by Training on Demand by MB&A,
Alpharetta, Georgia. Contact MB&A at 1-877-655-7139.

Any training provided by Mississippi Action for Progress, Inc. Demonstration Training Unit. Contact Annie H.
Lewis, 601-923-4100.

Any training related to early care and education provided by The Public Policy Center of Mississippi. Contact
Dawn Trotti Hall, 601-949-7000.

Any training related to early care and education provided by Building Foundations for Children, 1735 Main
Street, Southaven, MS 38671 Contact Priscilla Harris, 901-356-4676

Any training related to early care and education for child care providers offered by Mississippi Museum of
Natural Science. Contact Angel Rohnke, (601) 354-7303 or angel.rohnke@mmns.state.ms.us.

Any training related to early care and education provided by Save the Children. Contact: Gabriel M. Nehrbass,
228-342-5180, or gnehrbass@savechildren.org.

Any training related to early care and safety provided by a certified American Red Cross instructor.

Any training related to early care and safety provided by the Tishomingo County Families First Resource Center.
Contact Janice Cutshall, 662-423-7318.

Any training related to early care and education of young children offered by Sampson Educational Resources.
Contact Glennda Hill, 800-371-5248, ext. 242.

Any training related to early care and education of young children offered by Child Care Lounge. Contact Ellen
Small, 412-885-5172. http://www.childcarelounge.com/child-care-lounge.php

Trainings offered by Desoto Assimilation Center on Spanish language acquisition. Contact Alison Rumler, 662-
420-9163.

Any training related to child care and early care and education sponsored or provided by the Children’s Defense
Fund Southern Regional Office SPARK-MS Initiative. Contact Ellen Collins, 601-321-1966.

Any online training related to early care and education for young children provided by Child Care Education
Institute. Contact Donna Holzer, 800-499-9907, ext. 521 or at their website: www.cceionline.edu.

Any training related to early care and education of young children provided by The Center for Guided Montessori
Studies, 1-888-344-7897.

Any online training related to early care and education of young children provided by ProSolutions Training. For
information, contact their website at www.prosolutionstraining.com or by phone at 800-227-3410.

Any training related to early care and education provided by the Gilmore Early Learning Initiative, 203 Gilmore
Drive, Amory, MS 38821. Contact Nancy Stanford, 662-257-2395.

Any online training related to early care and education of young children provided by Quality Assist. For
information contact their website at www.qgassist.com or contact Barb McWethy at 404-325-2225.




Cavity Pree Kids Ihformation

Cavity Free Kids is a train-the-trainer oral health curriculum that provides education about
cavities, what causes the disease, & how it can be prevented. The curriculum was developed
for child care directors & staff who work closely with parents & children. Those who
participate will acquire knowledge, skills, & resources to educate families & children. Hands-
on training includes exercises that are fun & easy for parents & children to understand. The training is
free & child care staff will receive 2 contact hours for attending. For more information, contact the Office

of Oral Health at (601) 576-7500.

e The goal of the CFK curriculum is to improve the oral health of young children who attend licensed child
care centers.

e CFKis a 2-hour train-the-trainer course designed for center directors and staff that are interested in
promoting and providing the curriculum training to staff, families, and children in their centers.

e Participants will receive a CFK booklet, flash drive, and 2 contact hours upon completion of the course.

Registration Instructions:

e Locate CFK trainings in your community by visiting the MSDH Child Care Provider Training Calendar
at www.HealthyMS.com/childcare.

e Pre-registration is required. Registration forms must be filled out completely and legibly. Training
certificates will be issued from the registration form.

e Submit registration forms at least 1 week prior to training date by mail, e-mail, or fax to the Regional
Oral Health Consultant in the area of the training. (see attached map)

e You will receive a phone call confirmation verifying your acceptance to the training.

Child Care Center Name:

Center Director’s Name: Center Phone Number:
Center Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Please indicate which session you will attend:

Month: Date: Time:

Individual (s) Requesting Attendance




Program Coordinator

Mary Parr , LSW, MS

570 East Woodrow Wilson
Oral Health Program

P: 601-576-7500

F: 601-576-8190
Mary.parr@msdh..state.ms.us

|

Northwest Public Health District
L ethea Jackson, RDH

100 Preston McKay Drive
Senatobia, MS 38668

P: 662-523-3217

F: 662-562-0654

L ethea. Jackson@msdh.state.ms.us

1l

Northeast Public Health District
L ethea Jackson, RDH

100 Preston McKay Drive
Senatobia, MS 38668

P: 662-523-3217

F: 662-562-0654

L ethea. Jackson@msdh.state.ms.us

111

Delta Hills Public Health District
Natasha Bennett, RDH

628 Byron Street

Ruleville, MS 38771

P: 601 630-5443

F: 662 756-2030
Natasha.Bennett@msdh.state.ms.us

1V

Tombigbee Home Health Region C
Gennette Robinson, RDH

400 A Wilkins-Wise Rd. Suite 1
Columbus, MS 39705

P: 662-352-3598

F: 662-328-6382

Gennette. Robinson@msdh.state.ms.us

Vv

West Central Public Health District
Amber Beck, RDH

110 Crosspark Drive Suite A

Pearl, MS 39208

P: 662-418-4866

F: 601-420-2185
Amber.Beck@msdh.state.ms.us

VI
East Central Public Health District

Mississippi State Department of Health
Office of Oral Health
Regional Oral Health Consultants

vit
Southwest Public Health District

Kimberlye Mulloy, RDH

352 Magnolia Drive

Raleigh, MS 39153

P: 662-822-9999

F: 601-576-8190

Kimberlye.Mulloy @msdh.state.ms.us

Marta Carmical, RDH

5168 Highway 11

Ellisville, MS 39437

P: 601-323-1562

F: 601-425-1080

Marta.Carmical @msdh.state. ms.us

Pear| River

George

Stone

Jackson

e

VIl

Southeast Public Health District
Marta Carmical, RDH

5168 Highway 11

Ellisville, MS 39437

P: 601-323-1562

F: 601-425-1080

Marta.Carmical @msdh.state. ms.us

N

Harrison

IX

1X
Coastal Plains Public Health District
Mar sha Parker, RDH

3062 Longfellow Road Bldg #25

Bay St. Louis, MS 39520

P: 228-760-7868

F: 228-255-7868

Marsha.Parker @msdh.state.ms.us

“Good Oral Health is Vital to Health and Well-Being”

Nicholas G. Mosca, DDS Dental Director
570 East Woodrow Wilson ¢ Post Office Box 1700 « Jackson, MS 39215-1700
1-866-HLTHY4U (1-866-458-4948) « www.HealthyMS.com

Equal Opportunity in Employment and Services




MSDH CHILDCARE LICENSURE
REGISTRATION FORM

REPRODUCE AS NEEDED

1) All forms must be filled out completely and legibly.

2) You will receive an email confirmation (if you do not have an email, one will be mailed to you) which
specifies exact location. Bring the confirmation letter to the training session on the date of your scheduled
training. Your acceptance into the training is verified only with a letter of confirmation.

3) Pre-registration is required and will be accepted via mail, email, or fax. Please refer to the Region listed
on the Provider Training Schedule and mail or fax to the following trainers:

a. Region 1 (Northern) — Nancy Nunley, 1742 Cliff Gookin Blvd., Tupelo, MS 38801-6497. Fax (662) 842-3045
b. Region 2 (Central) - Vacant, MSDH Child Care Licensure, PO Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700. Fax (601)364-5058
C. Region 3 (Southern) — Josie Smith, 761 Esters Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530. Fax (228) 435-4853

4) Please bring your Regqulation book to the scheduled training sessions.

Sessions Requested
Please check the sessions you wish to attend & write the location & date you wish to attend on the blank

provided.
O Child Care Regulations O Infant/Toddler Regulations
0 Playground Safety O After-School Regulations
0 Director’s Orientation OTransportation Regulations
0 Hand-Washing & Sanitation O Discipline & Guidance
0 Menu Writing 201 0 Wonders of Music on IT Dev.
O Color-Me-Healthy O Physical Dev. of Infants/Toddlers
0 Guide to Food Code O Promoting Physical Activity
O Identifying Infectious Diseases O Child Abuse & Neglect

Individual(s) Requesting Registration

Please type or print clearly. Training Certificates will be issued at the end of the each session.

Center Name

Mailing Address
Director
City State Zip
Center Telephone Owner
Center Fax Center Email

Director Designees
THIS FORM IS TO BE USED TO REGISTER FOR SESSIONS PRESENTED BY
MSDH/CHILD CARE LICENSURE




April 2013

Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday | Sunday
2 3 4 5 6 7
Booneville: Booneville:
CC Regulations 9-4 Playground Safety 9-12
. Directors Orientation 1-4
Meridian:
PI.ayground §afety. 11-2 Meridian:
Directors Orientation  3-6 —CC Regulations 9-4
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Cleveland:
Brookhaven: Invest. Abuse/Neglect 11-2
Playground Safety  11-2
Directors Orientation 3-6 Brookhaven:
CC Regulations 9-4
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Jackson: Jackson:
CC Regulations 9-4 Playground Safety =~ 8:30-11:30
Directors Orientation 12:30-3:30
Hattiesburg:
Playground Safety 10-1 Hattiesburg:
Directors Orientation 2-5 CC Regulations 9-4
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
Columbus: Columbus:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety ~ 8:30-11:30
CC Regulations 12-6 Directors Orientation 12:30-3:30
29 30
Batesville: Batesville:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30
CC Regulations 12-6 Directors Orientation  12:30-3:30
Pascagoula: Pascagoula:
Playground Safety 9-12 CC Regulations 9-4

Directors Orientation 1-4




Tuesday

To Honor
America’s
Heroes

Long Beach:
Playground Safety 9-12
Directors Orientation 1-4

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 2 3 4 5
Laurel: Brookhaven:
Playground Safety 11-2 Invest. Abuse/Neglect 10-1
Directors Orientation 3-6
Laurel:
CC Regulations 9-4
6 7 8 9 10 11
Tupelo: Tupelo: Jackson: Jackson:
CC Regulations 8:30-3:30 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30 Cavity Free Kids 10-12 CC Regulations 9-4
Directors Orient. 12:30-3:30 Playground Safety 12-3
Directors Orientation 4-7
13 14 15 16 17 18
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
McComb: Grenada: Grenada:
Playground Safety 11-2 | Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30
Directors Orientation 3-6 CC Regulations 12-7 Directors Orient. 12:30-3:30
McComb:
CC Regulations 9-4
27 28 29 30 31
MEMORIAL DAY We?t Point: . West Point: Long Beacf_\:
. b Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30 CC Regulations 9-4
e - . . . 203
i \ % CC Regulations 12-7 Directors Orient. 12:30-3:30
- A Time




4 June2013

. -
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Oxford: Oxford: Columbus:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety =~ 8:30-11:30 Invest. Abuse/Neglect 10-1
CC Regulations 12-7 Directors Orientation 12:30-3:30
Brandon: Brandon:
Cavity Free Kids 10-12 CC Regulations 9-4
Playground Safety 12-3
Directors Orientation 4-7
10 11 12 13 14 15
Greenwood: Greenwood: Natchez:
CC Regulations 12-7 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30 | CC Regulations 9-4
Directors Orientation  12:30-3:30
Natchez:
Playground Safety 12-3
Directors Orientation 4-7
dtappy father’s
Py’
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Olive Branch: Olive Branch:
CC Regulations 10-5 Playground Safety =~ 8:30-11:30
Directors Orientation 12:30-3:30
Columbia:
Playground Safety 10-1 Columbia:
Directors Orientation 2-5 CC Regulations 9-4
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Starkuville: Starkville: Pascagoula:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety 8:30-11:30 CC Regulations 9-4
CC Regulations 12-7 Directors Orient. 12:30-3:30
Pascagoula:
Playground Safety 9-12

Directors Orientation 1-4




Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
[Lth of
July
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Meridian: Meridian:
Greenwood: CC Regulations 12-4 Playground Safety =~ 9-12
Directors Orientation 9:30-12:30 Wonders of Music 5-7 Directors Orientation 1-4
Playground Safet 12:45-3:45
ve y Greenwood:
CC Regulations 9:30-1:30
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Biloxi: Biloxi:
CC Regulations 9-1 Playground Safety 9-12
Identifying Inf. Diseases 2-5 Directors Orientation 1-4
Jackson: Jackson:
CC Regulations 8-12 Playground Safety 8-11
Directors Orientation 12-3
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
McComb: Laurel: Laurel:
Playground Safety 9-12 CC Regulations 12-4 Playground Safety =~ 9-12
Directors Orientation 1-4 Discipline & Guidance 5-7 Directors Orientation 1-4
McComb:
CC Regulations 9-1
29 30 31
Amory: Amory:
CC Regulations 12-4 Playground Safety 9-12

Infant/Toddler Regs 5-7

Directors Orientation  1-4




""1*.

Monday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 2 3 4
Greenville: Greenville:
Directors Orientation 9:30-12:30 CC Regulations  9:30-1:30
Playground Safety 12:45-3:45
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
Grenada: Philadelphia: Philadelphia:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Invest. Abuse/Neglect 9-12 Playground Safety 9-12
CC Regulations 12-4 CC Regulations 1-5 Directors Orientation 1-4
Discipline & Guidance 6-8 Identifying Inf. Diseases 6-9
Grenada:
Playground Safety 9-12
Directors Orientation 1-4
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
Yazoo City: Yazoo City:
Directors Orientation  8:30-11:30 CC Regulations 8:30-12:30
Playground Safety 12:30-3:30
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
Oxford: Hattiesburg: Hattiesburg:
CC Regulations 12-4 CC Regulations 10-2 Playground Safety 9-12
Discipline & Guidance 6-8 Identifying Inf. Diseases  3-6 Directors Orientation 1-4
Oxford:
Playground Safety 9-12
Directors Orientation 1-4
26 27 28 29 30 31
Pascagoula: Pascagoula:
CC Regulations 9-1 Playground Safety 9-12
Phys. Dev. of Inf/Toddlers 2-4 Directors Orientation 1-4
Starkville: Starkville:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 Playground Safety 9-12
CC Regulations 12-4 Directors Orientation 14
Discipline & Guidance 6-8 Natchez:
Natchez: Directors Orientation 9:30-12:30
CC Regulations 9:30-1:30 Playground Safety 12:45-3:45




Tuesday

Monday Wednesday Thursday Friday y | Sunday
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
. I Southaven: Southaven: Jackson:
m@; Invest. Abuse/Neglect  9:45-12:45 Playground Safety 9-12 | Directors Orientation 8-11
CC Regulations 1-5 Directors Orientation 1-4 | Playground Safety 12-3
@E? After School Regs 6-8
Jackson:
CC Regulations 8-12
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Amory: Meridian: Meridian:
Cavity Free Kids 9-11 CC Regulations 12-4 Playground Safety =~ 9-12
CC Regulations 12-4 Hand-Washing/Sanitation 5-7 Directors Orientation 1-4
After School Regs 5-7
Amory:
Playground Safety 9-12
—G_reenwood:. . Directors Orientation 1-4
Directors Orientation 9:30-12:30
Playground Safety 12:45-3:45 Greenwood:
CC Regulations 9:30-1:30
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
Laurel: Laurel:
CC Regulations 12-4 Playground Safety 9-12
Promoting Phys. Act. 5-7 Directors Orientation 1-4
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Tupelo: Tupelo: Biloxi: Biloxi:
CC Regulations 1-5 Playground Safety 9-12 CC Regulations 9-1 Playground Safety  9-12
After School Regs 6-8 Directors Orientation 1-4 After-School Regs 2-4 Directors Orientation 1-4
McComb: McComb:
CC Regulations 9-1 Directors Orientation 9-12
Playground Safety 1-4

30




