
Dear Applicant:

Enclosed you will find the forms necessary for you to apply for registration as a medical
radiation technologist.  It is strongly suggested that you read the Regulations prior to filling out the
application, and then examine the directions entitled "STEPS TO REGISTRATION" to see which
forms are appropriate for you.

Please note the following:

(a) Applications not completed in their entirety will be returned, minus the
application fee, which is non-refundable.

(b) The photograph must be a "passport photo."
(c) The name on the application must match the name on the driver's license or

Social Security Card.  We will not accept nicknames, abbreviations, or
alterations.

(d) All fees are to be made payable to the Mississippi State Department of
Health.

If you have any questions regarding the above, please contact our office as follows:

MISSISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE-RADTECH
P.O. BOX 1700
JACKSON, MS  39215-1700
(601) 364-7360

Please be advised that it is illegal to practice Medical Radiation Technology in Mississippi
without being registered or exempted by statute or regulations.  Individuals engaging in such
practices, or employing non-registered practitioners, will be subject to criminal and/or civil
penalties.



STEPS TO REGISTRATION
MEDICAL RADIATION TECHNOLOGY

Enclosed is an application packet for registration as a medical radiation technology.
Two types of registrations are currently issued in Mississippi: Regular and Temporary.
The requirements for each are as follows:

1. Regular

a. Completed, notarized application.
b. Copy of driver’s license or social security card.
c. Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
d. Application fee - $50.00 (non-refundable)
e. Copy of current ARRT or NMTCB card.
f. Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.

2. Temporary (a 6 month registration - not renewable):

a. Completed, notarized application.
b. Copy of driver’s license or social security card.
c. Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
d. Application fee - $25.00 (non-refundable)
e. Verification of Education form showing eligibility to sit for the

ARRT or NMTCB examination.
f. Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.

NOTE:   Application for temporary registration can be applied for only after
graduation from the program.

All requirements must be on file and satisfactory to this office before a registration
may be issued.



Registration Type: (check all that apply)   Radiologic Technologist q
Nuclear Technologist q
Radiation Therapist q

1. Date: ________________________

2. Name: ________________________________________________________________________________________________
Last                                                                    First                                                                                          Middle/Maiden

3. Home Address: _________________________________________________    4. Telephone Number: (___) _______________

5. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________
City                                                                         State                                                                         Zip Code                

6. Email Address: _________________________________________________________________________________________

7. Social Security Number: __________-_______-__________ 8. Date of Birth: ______/______/______

9. Race: ___________ 10. Sex:   Male q Female q 11. U.S. Citizen   No q Yes q 12. Legal Alien   No q Yes q

13. Place of Employment: _________________________________________________________________________________

14. Title of Position: ______________________________________________   15. Supervisor: _________________________

16. Employment Address: __________________________________________   17. Telephone Number: (__) ______________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
City State Zip Code

18. Are there any criminal or civil suits pending against you? No q Yes q
19. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor? No q Yes q
20. Have you ever had any license, registration, or certificate encumbered in any way,

i.e., revoked, suspended, censured, rejected, denied, placed on probation, reprimanded,
etc.? If yes, attach a full explanation including the type of license, registration, 
or certificate, and jurisdiction where the action occurred. No q Yes q

21. Have you ever been declared mentally incompetent by any court? If yes, attach an explanation. No q Yes q
22. a.    Are you currently credentialed by the ARRT?  Credential Number ___________________ No q Yes q

A copy of the credential must be submitted with the application for registration.
b.    Are you currently credentialed by the NMTCB? No q Yes q

A copy of the credential must be submitted with the application for registration.
23. Are you now or have you ever been, registered or licensed in another state in the area of No q Yes q

Medical Radiation Technology? A copy of the license or registration for each state must be attached.
a.     List states  (1) __________________________    (2) __________________________

(3) __________________________    (4) __________________________

Medical Radiation Technology
Application for Licensure

(Please type or print in ink)

Check No. __________
Amount $ ___________
Date ____/____/____

Office Use
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Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______ day

of _____________________________, 20 ______.

My commission expires _____________________.

__________________________________________
Notary Public

I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear or affirm that I am the above
applicant. I have read the above application and all statements 
contained therein or accompanying this application are true to the
best of my knowledge and belief. I have also read and understand
the Regulations Governing Licensure of Medical Radiation 
Technologist and affirm that all conditions for licensure have 
been met and will be maintained.

_____________________________________________________________
Applicant’s Signature

Copy of Social Security Card
or

Drivers License

Notary Seal

Complete form, enclose fee and mail to:   Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure:    Radiation Technology
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Photo
(only a Passport Photo 

will be accepted)
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Medical Radiation Technology
Verification of Education for Temporary Registration

Name (Last, First, Middle, Initial) Maiden Name or Given Surname

Address (Street, City, State and Zip Code) Phone Number Home Work
(    ) (    ) (    )

Social Security Number Date of Graduation

Instruction to Applicant:
Upon completion of the demographic information and waiver below, this form should be signed, notarized, and forwarded to the
Institution where you obtained your degree in Medical Radiation Technology.

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 1-08-14 Form 920 E
Page 3 of 3

Date

Waiver for the Release of Information:
I am applying for a temporary registration as a Medical Radiation Technologist in the State of Mississippi. I hereby authorize the
verification of my degree conferred and further authorize the release of any transcript or other information, favorable or otherwise,
to the Mississippi State Department of Health, Professional Licensure – Rad Tech, should this information be requested at any
time.

__________________   _________________________________
Date                                          Signed

Instructions to Educational Institution:
Upon completion of this form please send to:     Mississippi State Department of Health

Professional Licensure - Rad Tech
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Name of Institution Location of Institution (City & State)

Date Degree Conferred Degree Conferred

Program Name & Curriculum Description
Is this applicant eligible to sit for the ARRT or NMTCB Examination    q Yes    q No

Seal of the Institution

____________________________________________________________________________
Name

____________________________________________________________________________
Title

____________________________________________________________________________
Telephone Number
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Title 15:  Mississippi State Department of Health 

Part 19:  Bureau of Professional Licensure 

Subpart 60:  Professional Licensure 

CHAPTER 7:  REGULATION GOVERNING REGISTRATION OF MEDICAL 
RADIATION TECHNOLOGISTS 

Subchapter 1: General 

Rule 7.1.1 Legal Authority:  The State Board of Health is authorized to establish 
and enforce these rules and procedures by virtue of Sections 41-58-1 et 
seq. of Mississippi Code of 1972, annotated.  

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.1.2 Definitions:  The following terms shall have the meaning set forth below, 
unless the context otherwise requires: 

1. “Department” means the Mississippi Department of Health. 

2. “Licensed practitioner” means a person licensed or otherwise authorized 
by law to practice medicine, dentistry, chiropractic, osteopathy or podiatry, 
or a licensed nurse practitioner. 

3. “Ionizing radiation” means x-rays and gamma rays, alpha and beta 
particles, high speed electrons, neutrons and other nuclear particles. 

4. "X-radiation" means penetrating electromagnetic radiation with 
wavelengths short than ten (10) nanometers produced by bombarding a 
metallic target with fast electrons in a vacuum. 

5. “Supervision” means responsibility for and control of, quality radiation 
safety and protection, and technical aspects of the application of ionizing 
radiation to human beings for diagnostic and/or therapeutic purposes. 

6. “Medical radiation technology” means the science and art of applying 
ionizing radiation to human beings for diagnostic and/or therapeutic 
purposes.  The three (3) specialized disciplines of medical radiation 
technology are diagnostic radiologic technology, nuclear medicine 
technology and radiation therapy. 

7. “Radiologic technologist” means a person other than a licensed 
practitioner who has passed a national certification examination such as 
the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist examination or its 
equivalent, who applies x-radiation or ionizing radiation to any part of the 
human body for diagnostic purposes. 
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8. “Nuclear medicine technologist” means a person other than a licensed 
practitioner who has passed a national certification examination such as 
the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist examination or the 
Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board examination or its 
equivalent, who performs in vivo imaging and measurement procedures 
and in vitro non-imaging laboratory studies, prepares 
radiopharmaceuticals, and administers diagnostic/therapeutic doses of 
radiopharmaceuticals and administers other medications or procedures 
incidental for nuclear medicine exams to human beings while under the 
supervision of a licensed practitioner who is licensed to possess and use 
radioactive material.  A certified nuclear medicine technologist also may 
perform diagnostic CT exams on hybrid equipment for diagnostic 
purposes, including the administration of parenteral and enteral contrast 
media and administration of other medications or procedures incidental to 
CT exams.  Certified nuclear medicine technologists who perform CT 
scans must be certified in CT by the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists, the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board, or 
other CT certifying body.  A certified nuclear medicine technologist may do 
on-the-job training on hybrid equipment provided that the certified nuclear 
medicine technologist is supervised by a certified technologist and obtains 
a CT certification within six (6) months of that training. 

9. “Radiation therapist” means a person other than a licensed practitioner 
who has passed a national certification examination such as the American 
Registry of Radiologic Technologist examination or its equivalent, who 
applies x-radiation and the ionizing radiation emitted from particle 
accelerators, cobalt sixty (60) units and sealed sources of radioactive 
material to human beings for therapeutic purposes while under the 
supervision of a licensed radiation oncologist or a board certified 
radiologist who is licensed to possess and use radioactive material. 

10. “Council” means the Medical Radiation Advisory Council. 

11. “Act” shall mean Section 41-58-1 et seq. of Mississippi Code of 1972, 
annotated. 

12. “State” shall mean the State of Mississippi. 

13. “Limited X-Ray Machine Operator” means a person other than a 
licensed practitioner or radiologic technologist who is issued a Permit by 
the State Board of Medical Licensure to perform medical radiation 
technology limited to specific radiographic procedures on certain parts of 
the human anatomy, specifically the chest, abdomen and skeletal 
structures, and excluding fluoroscopic, both stationary and mobile (C-
arm), and contrast studies, computed tomography, nuclear medicine, 
radiation therapy studies and mammography.  Limited X-Ray machine 
operators are regulated by the State Board of Medical Licensure. 
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SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 2: Medical Radiation Technologists Advisory Council (“Council”) 

Rule 7.2.1 Council Structure and Purpose: 

1. The Council shall consist of nine (9) members, who shall serve without 
compensation.  They shall be selected by the Department, to serve under 
the jurisdiction of the Department for a three (3) year term, except for 
those members appointed to the first council, four (4) of whom shall be 
appointed for two (2) year terms, and five (5) of whom shall be appointed 
for three (3) year terms. 

2. The council composition shall be as follows: 

a. One (1) radiologist who is an active practitioner and member of the 
Mississippi Radiological Society; 

b. One (1) licensed family physician; 

c. One (1) licensed practitioner; 

d. Two (2) registered radiological technologists; 

e. One (1) nuclear medicine technologist; 

f. One (1) radiation therapist; 

g. One (1) radiation physicist; 

h. One (1) hospital administrator; and 

i. The State Health Officer, or his designee, who shall serve as ex 
officio chairman with no voting authority. 

3. All council members engaged in medical radiation technology and not 
exempt from registration must, at the time of appointment, be registered 
with the Department, except for the initial council members, who must be 
registered within one (1) month of the Department issuing registration 
certificates.  Any other person serving on the council who is a practitioner 
of a profession or occupation required to be licensed, credentialed, or 
certified in the state, shall hold an appropriate license, credential, or 
certificate issued by the state.  The purpose of the Council is to serve in 
an advisory capacity to the Department in matters relating to the 
administration and interpretation of the Act. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 
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Rule 7.2.2 Meeting:  The Council shall meet at places and at times designated by 
the Department.  A quorum shall consist of five (5) members of the 
Council, and shall be necessary for the Council to take action by vote. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 3: Registration 

Rule 7.3.1 Types of Registration: 

1. “Radiologic technologist registration” means the registration which permits 
a person to apply x-radiation or ionizing radiation to any part of the human 
body for diagnostic purposes. 

2. “Nuclear medicine technologist registration” means the registration which 
permits a person to perform in vivo imaging and measurement procedures 
and in vitro non-imaging laboratory studies, to prepare 
radiopharmaceuticals, and to administer diagnostic and therapeutic doses 
of radiopharmaceuticals to human beings while under the supervision of a 
licensed practitioner who is identified as an authorized user on a 
Department license that authorizes the medical use of radioactive 
material. 

3. “Radiation therapist registration” means the registration which permits a 
person to apply x-radiation and the ionizing radiation emitted from particle 
accelerators, cobalt-60 units and sealed sources of radioactive material to 
human beings for therapeutic purposes while under the supervision of a 
licensed radiation oncologist or a board certified radiologist who is 
identified as an authorized user by the Department to possess and apply 
x-radiation and the ionizing radiation emitted from particle accelerators, 
cobalt-60 units and sealed sources of radioactive material to human 
beings for therapeutic purposes.  

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.3.2 General Requirements:  An applicant for registration shall submit to the 
Department, verified under oath, written evidence in form and content 
satisfactory to the Department that the applicant: 

1. Is of good moral character, which is a continuing requirement for 
registration. 

2. Is a United States citizen or has status as a legal resident alien, which is a 
continuing requirement for registration. 

3. Has not been convicted of a crime relating to dishonest or unethical 
conduct, which is a continuing requirement for registration. 
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4. Has not been declared mentally incompetent by any court, and if any such 
decree has ever been rendered, that the decree has since been changed, 
which is a continuing requirement for registration. 

5. Is free from dependency on alcohol or drugs, which is a continuing 
requirement for registration. 

6. Has not had a license or registration in medical radiation technology 
suspended or revoked in any other state, jurisdiction, or country, which is 
a continuing requirement for registration. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.3.3 Specific Registration Requirements: 

1. Radiologic technologist registration- An applicant for registration as a 
radiologic technologist shall submit to the Department written evidence in 
form and content satisfactory to the Department that the applicant is an 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) Registered Medical 
Radiologic Technologist. 

2. Nuclear medicine technologist registration - An applicant for registration as 
a nuclear medicine technologist shall submit to the Department, verified by 
oath, written evidence in form and content satisfactory to the Department 
that the applicant is an American Registry of Radiologic Technologist 
(ARRT) Registered Nuclear Medicine Technologist and/or the Nuclear 
Medicine Technologist Certifying Board (NMTCB). 

3. Radiation therapist registration - An applicant for registration as a radiation 
therapist technologist shall submit to the Department written evidence in 
form and content satisfactory to the Department that the applicant is an 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) Registered 
Radiation Therapist Technologist. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.3.4 Temporary Permit:  the Department may, in its discretion, issue a 
temporary permit to practice a specialty of medical radiation technology for 
a period of six (6) months to an applicant for a registration, pending the 
completion of the requirements for registration, providing the applicant 
submits to the Department, verified by oath, in form and content 
satisfactory to the Department that: 

1. the applicant has successfully completed an approved program accredited 
by the JRCERT or the JRCNMT, or their successor organizations, in the 
registration specialty; and 
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2. the applicant has qualified to sit for the appropriate ARRT or NMTCB 
specialty examination. 

3. applications under this section must be submitted within 1 year from the 
date of graduation from an approved program. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.3.5 Abandonment:  An application shall be deemed abandoned by the 
Department if, after two years from the date of filing, the requirements for 
registration have not been completed and submitted to the Department. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.3.6 Production and Display of Registration:  A person registered to 
practice medical radiation technology in the State of Mississippi shall be 
issued a “Certificate of Registration” and “Registration Identification 
Letter.”  The “Certificate of Registration” or copy thereof shall be on record 
at the place(s) of employment.  The licensee shall carry the “Registration 
Identification Letter” with them at all times when providing services and 
show said Registration Identification Letter when requested. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 4: Renewal of Registration 

Rule 7.4.1 General Provisions: 

1. The Department shall issue registrations which shall be renewed 
biennially, after the initial registration phase. 

2. The licensure year shall be construed as September 1st through August 
31st. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.4.2 Procedure for Renewal of Registration:  The Department shall mail 
notices, at least thirty (30) days prior to the renewal date, to the last 
address registered with the board, to the persons to whom registrations 
were issued or renewed during the preceding renewal period.  The 
registrant shall: 

1. complete the renewal form; 

2. submit proof of continuing education credit as detailed in Subchapter 5 of 
these regulations; 
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3. file the above with the Department prior to the end of the renewal period 
with the appropriate fee. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.4.3 Failure to Renew:  A registrant who does not file, with the Department, 
his renewal application within the renewal period will be deemed to have 
allowed his registration to lapse.  Said registration may be reinstated by 
the Department, in its discretion, by the payment of the renewal fee and a 
reinstatement fee, provided said application for reinstatement is made 
within two (2) years of the end of the renewal period. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 5: Continuing Education 

Rule 7.5.1 Requirements: 

1. Regulations set the requirement of twenty-four (24) clock hours to be 
accrued during the registration term. 

2. Individuals applying for initial registration within a registration term must 
accrue continuing education hours on a prorated scale.  Written 
notification of required hours will be sent to the applicant at the time of 
registration. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.5.2 Sources of Continuing Education: All continuing education hours for 
individuals registered with the Mississippi Department of Health must be 
approved by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists 
(A.R.R.T.). 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.5.3 Reporting Procedures for Continuing Education: 

1. It is the responsibility of the registrant to submit, at the time of renewal, 
written evidence in form and content satisfactory to the Department, proof 
that the continuing education requirement has been met. 

2. Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall 
be issued a probationary registration for one (1) registration term.  Failure 
to satisfy the terms and conditions of the probation and to accrue the 
required hours will result in the revocation of the registration.  Hours 
accrued are first credited for the delinquent hours lacking from the 
previous registration period, and then applied to the present registration 
term. 
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3. Probationary registrations will be issued for one registration term only.  No 
ensuing registration may be probationary as a result of not meeting 
continuing education requirements. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 6: Exceptions and Exemptions 

Rule 7.6.1 Exceptions:  No person shall practice medical radiation technology 
unless he is registered by the Department, except as otherwise provided 
in this section. 

1. A student enrolled in and participating in an approved course of study for 
diagnostic radiologic technology, nuclear medicine technology or radiation 
therapy, who as a part of his clinical course of study applies ionizing 
radiation to a human being while under the supervision of a licensed 
practitioner, registered radiologic technologist, registered nuclear medicine 
technologist or registered radiation therapist; 

2. Laboratory personnel who use radiopharmaceuticals for in vitro studies; 

3. A dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is not a radiologic 
technologist, nuclear medicine technologist or radiation therapist, who 
possesses a radiology permit issued by the Board of Dental Examiners 
and applies ionizing radiation under the specific direction of a licensed 
dentist; 

4. A chiropractic assistant who is not a radiologic technologist, nuclear 
medicine technologist or radiation therapist, who possesses a radiology 
permit issued by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners and applies ionizing 
radiation under this specific direction of a licensed chiropractor; 

5. An individual who is not a radiologic technologist, nuclear medicine 
technologist or radiation therapist, is permitted as a Limited X-Ray 
Machine Operator by the Board of Medical Licensure and applies ionizing 
radiation in a physician's office or a radiology clinic under the specific 
direction of a licensed physician; and 

6. An individual who is not a radiologic technologist, nuclear medicine 
technologist or radiation therapist, who is employed by a licensed hospital 
in Mississippi and applies ionizing radiation under the specific direction of 
a licensed practitioner. 

7. Nothing in these regulations is intended to limit, preclude, or otherwise 
interfere with the practices of a licensed practitioner as defined in the 
definitions of these regulations, who is duly licensed or registered by the 
appropriate agency of the State of Mississippi, provided that the agency 
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specifically recognizes that the procedures covered by these regulations 
are within the scope of practice of the licensee or registrant. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 7: Criminal Offenses and Punishment 

Rule 7.7.1 Offenses:  It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any provisions 
these regulations. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.7.2 Punishment: Such misdemeanor shall, upon conviction, be 
punishable by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) 
or by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months or by both fine and 
imprisonment for each offense. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 8: Revocation, Suspension and Denial of Registration 

Rule 7.8.1 Standards of Conduct:  Registrants may, at the discretion of the 
Department, have their registration placed on probation, suspended or 
revoked, or, denied at the time of application or renewal, or have such 
other disciplinary action taken as deemed appropriate, if the Department 
determines that the registrant: 

1. Is guilty of fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a 
registration or renewal of a registration to practice medical radiation 
technology. 

2. Has failed to service a patient in a professional manner, or is unfit or 
incompetent by reason of negligence, habits, or other causes of 
incompetency. 

3. Is habitually intemperate in the use of alcoholic beverage. 

4. Is addicted to, or has improperly obtained, possessed, used, or distributed 
habit-forming drugs or narcotics. 

5. Is guilty of dishonest or unethical conduct. 

6. Has practiced medical radiation technology after his registration has 
expired or has been suspended. 

7. Has practiced medical radiation technology under cover of any registration 
illegally or fraudulently obtained or issued. 
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8. Has violated any of the rules, regulations, or Standards of Ethics of the 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists. 

9. Has been convicted of any crime involving dishonest or unethical conduct. 

10. Has been convicted of any felony. 

11. Has violated, aided, or abetted others in violation of any provision of the 
Act or the regulations promulgated thereto. 

12. Has engaged in any conduct considered by the Department to be 
detrimental to the profession of medical radiation technology. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.8.2 Summary Suspension:  The Department may summarily suspend a 
registration without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal 
complaint and notice of hearing, if the Department determines that: 

1. The health, safety, or welfare of the general public is in immediate danger; 
or 

2. The registrant's physical capacity to practice his profession is in issue; or 

3. The registrant's mental capacity to practice his profession is in issue. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.8.3 Complaints:  All complaints concerning a registrant, his business, or 
professional practice, shall be reviewed, evaluated, and if required, 
investigated by the Department. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.8.4 Notice of Charges and Hearing: 

1. Following the investigative process, the Department may file formal 
charges against the registrant.  Such formal complaint shall, at a 
minimum, inform the registrant of the facts which are the basis of the 
charge and which are specific enough to enable the registrant to defend 
against the charges. 

2. Each registrant, whose conduct is the subject of a formal charge which 
seeks to impose disciplinary action against the registrant, shall be served 
notice of the formal charge at least fifteen (15) days before the date of 
hearing.  A hearing shall be presided over by the Department's designee.  
Service shall be considered to have been given if the notice was 
personally received by the registrant, or the notice was mailed certified, 
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return receipt requested, to the registrant at the registrant's last known 
address as listed with the Department. 

3. The notice of the formal hearing shall consist at a minimum of the 
following information: 

a. The time, place and date of hearing; 

b. That the registrant shall appear personally at the hearing and may 
be represented by counsel; 

c. That the registrant shall have the right to produce witnesses and 
evidence in the registrant's behalf and shall have the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses and evidence; 

d. That the hearing could result in disciplinary action being taken 
against the registrant's registration; 

e. That rules for the conduct of these hearings exist and it may be in 
the registrant's best interest to obtain a copy; and 

f. That the Department's designee shall preside at the hearing and 
following the conclusion of the hearing shall make findings of facts, 
conclusions of law and recommendations, separately stated to the 
State Health Officer as to what disciplinary action, if any, should be 
imposed on the registration. 

4. The Department's designee shall hear evidence produced in support of 
the formal charges and contrary evidence produced by the registration.  At 
the conclusion of the hearing, the State Health Officer shall issue an order, 
within sixty (60) days. 

5. Disposition of any complaints may be made by consent order or stipulation 
between the Department and the registrant. 

6. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and 
shall be preserved pursuant to state law. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.8.5 Department Sanctions:  The Department may impose any of the 
following sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds that a registrant 
is guilty of any of the offenses set forth in Rule 7.8.1 and Rule 7.8.2 
above: 

1. Revocation of the registration; 

2. Suspension of the registration, for any period of time; 
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3. Censure the registrant; 

4. Issuance of a letter of reprimand to the registrant; 

5. Place a registrant on probationary status and require the registrant to 
submit to any of the following: 

a. report regularly to the board upon matters which are the basis of 
probation; 

b. continue to renew professional education until a satisfactory degree 
of skill has been attained in those areas which are the basis of 
probation; or 

c. such other reasonable requirements or restrictions as are proper; 

6. Refuse to renew a registration; or 

7. Revoke probation which has been granted and impose any other 
disciplinary action in this subsection when the requirements of probation 
have not been fulfilled or have been violated. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.8.6 Appeal:  Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board shall have a 
right of appeal to the Hinds County Circuit Court, in the manner provided 
for in the Laws of the State of Mississippi. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 9: Fees 

Rule 7.9.1 Method of Payment: The following fees, where applicable, are 
payable to the Mississippi Department of Health by certified check, 
cashier’s check, or money order.  Fees paid to the Department are non-
refundable. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.9.2 Schedule of Fees 

1. The first full two (2) year term of registration shall begin on September 1, 
1998, and all licenses issued prior to that date will be subject to renewal 
on September 1, 1998. 

2. Initial Registration Fee 

a. before September 1, 1998 - $25.00 
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b. after September 1, 1998 - $50.00 

3. Renewal Fee-$50.00 

4. Temporary Permit - $25.00 

5. Reinstatement Fee - $200.00 

6. Replacement Fee - $50.00  

7. Registration Verification Fee - $25.00 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Subchapter 10: Administrative Grievance Procedure 

Rule 7.10.1 Administrative Appeals:  All persons aggrieved by a decision regarding 
the initial application for registration or the renewal of registration shall 
have the right of administrative appeal and a hearing to be conducted 
according to the policy of the Department of Health. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 

Rule 7.10.2 Notification: Written notice will be provided to all applicants regarding 
denial of an original registration or a renewal registration.  Such notice 
shall contain the reason thereof and shall offer the applicant an 
opportunity to submit additional information pertinent to their application 
for a second review by the Department. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3 

Rule 7.10.3 Hearing: 

1. If requested in writing within the specified time frame a hearing will be 
provided in which the applicant may show cause why the registration 
should be granted or renewed. 

2. Within sixty (60) days of the hearing, or other such time frame as 
determined during the hearing, written findings of fact, together with a 
recommendation for action on the registration in question, shall be 
forwarded to the State Health Officer.  The State Health Officer shall 
decide what action will be taken on the recommendation. 

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-58-3. 
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