A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z [CLOSE]

Vital Records

Birth and death certificates, marriage records and information

The MSDH Vital Records office is located at 222 Marketridge Drive in Ridgeland, off Highland Colony Parkway. The Office is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Public counter closes at 4:30 p.m.

Visit our Vital Statistics page for statistical reports on births and deaths in Mississippi.

Birth Certificates

Ordering Birth Certificates

Birth Certificates Outside of Mississippi

  • If you are a US Citizen born outside Mississippi, check with the National Center for Health Statistics for information regarding your home state.
    NCHS Vital Records page »

  • If you were born in another country, check with the Embassy for that country.

Older Records

We maintain birth and death records dating only from November 1912 and later. Earlier records of births and deaths may be kept in your county's archives.

Death Certificates

Marriage Records

  • Order by mail: mail the form below with a check or money order to us. (Marriage records are available for January 1, 1926 to June 30, 1938, and for January 1, 1942 to present.)
    Marriage record application form »

  • Order on-line or by phone from a private vital records service, using a credit card.
    Order on-line or by phone »

  • Come in person to our Ridgeland Office at 222 Marketridge Dr between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and pay by cash, check, or money order. The record will be mailed within 7 - 10 business days of ordering.

Note: Though required by law, all marriage records are not on file with the Office of Vital Records.

Divorce Records

Vital Records does not maintain divorce records. A five-year search of the divorce indexes is available for January 1, 1926 to June 30, 1938, and for January 1, 1942 to present for a fee of $15. A five-year search is available to locate the county where the divorce was granted, the book, and the page number in the Chancery Clerk's office where it was recorded. The Chancery Clerk's office will need to be contacted directly in order to obtain a certified copy of the divorce decree.

Note: Though required by law, all divorce records are not on file with the Office of Vital Records.

Contact

For more information or questions about vital records, contact our Vital Records office at 601-206-8200, or visit the Vital Records Department home page for health statistics, vital records, reports and data.

You can also contact the Vital Records office by sending e-mail to VRInfo@HealthyMS.com

Last reviewed on Mar 19, 2013

Related resources

More topics

Mississippi State Department of Health 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr Jackson, MS 39216 866-HLTHY4U web@HealthyMS.com
Facebook Twitter RSS