
Dear Applicant: 
 
Enclosed you will find the forms necessary for you to apply for licensure as a speech-language 
pathologist/audiologist (SLP/A).  It is strongly suggested that you read the regulations prior to filling out 
the application, and then examine the directions entitled "STEPS TO LICENSURE" to see which forms 
are appropriate for you.  Please note the following: 
 

(a) Applications not completed in their entirety will be returned, minus the applicable fees, 
which are non-refundable. 

(b) The photograph must be a "passport-style photo." 
(c) The practice history must be current and complete (form enclosed). 
(d) The names on the application and the licensure requirements must be the same or a copy 

of the legal document(s) effecting the name change(s) must be included with your 
application.  The  name on the driver's license or U.S. Social Security Card must be the 
same as the name on the application.  We will not accept nicknames, abbreviations, or 
alterations. 

(e) The home address on the application is considered the address of record.  Written notice 
signed by the applicant is required for any address change. 

(f) All checks/money orders for fees are to be made payable to the Mississippi State 
Department of Health. 

(g) Our overnight mail address (see "OVERNIGHT MAIL") is as follows: 
 

Mississippi State Department of Health 
Professional Licensure - SLP/A 
570 E. Woodrow Wilson Blvd 

Jackson, MS 39216 
 
Please be advised that it is illegal to practice or represent oneself as a speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist in Mississippi unless currently licensed in accordance with the provisions of these regulations 
or specifically exempted by state statute.   
 
If you have any questions regarding the above, please contact the licensure office. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Office of Professional Licensure 

 
 
 



STEPS FOR LICENSURE 
 
Enclosed is a licensure packet for speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists.  Two types of licensure are 
currently issued in Mississippi.  The requirements for each are as follows: 
 
 I. Regular 
 
 1. Completed and notarized application; 

2. Fees ($200.00) - $100.00 Application fee and $100.00 Licensure fee  
 3. Verification of all SLP/A licensure/registration, current or not current, reported directly to this 

office from the licensing authority (with seal); 
 4. Certified transcript indicating that a masters degree or higher was awarded in the area of 

Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology reported directly to this office from the institution 
awarding it (with seal); 

 5.* Proof of satisfactory completion of the Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) reported directly to this 
office from ASHA or of satisfactory Supervised Professional Employment Program (SPEP) 
completion; and 

 6.* National Exam in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology Score (minimum passing score: 
600). 

 
*NOTE:  An applicant holding the ASHA CCC may submit a copy of his/her current ASHA Certified 
Member Card in lieu of items 5 and 6 above. 

 
II. Temporary (Supervised Professional Employment Plan (SPEP) participants only): 
 
 1. Completed, notarized application;  

2. Fees ($175.00) - $100.00 Application fee; $75.00 Licensure fee 
 3. Certified transcript indicating a Masters Degree or higher was awarded in the area of 

Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology reported directly to this office from the institution; 
 4. Original SPEP Agreement form.  The supervisor must have a current, regular license to practice 

in Mississippi. 
5. Verification of all SLP/A licensure/registration, current or not current, reported directly to this 

office by the licensing authority (with seal). 
 

NOTES: (1)An applicant’s National Exam in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology score must be 
submitted prior to a license being upgraded to regular (minimum passing score: 600).  (2)An SPEP Report 
must be filed upon the completion of the SPEP along with a $25.00 fee. 

 
The application review process begins once all licensure requirements are on file and generally takes 7-10 week 
days.  Requirements must be satisfactory to this office before a license of any kind will be issued. 
 

OVERNIGHT MAIL 
 
Overnight mail packages containing official, verification documents must be shipped directly to the Department of 
Health from the institution or agency office.  The licensure requirement should be sealed in an official envelope of 
the reporting office within the overnight package. Official, verification documents mailed through the applicant or a 
third party will not be accepted for licensure purposes. 
 
Enclosures: 
 
1. Licensure application 
2. Verification of Licensure form 
3. Practice History form 
4. Regulations Governing Licensure of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 



Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Last                                                                  First                                                                                            Middle/Maiden

Home Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________
Street                                                                                          

____________________________________________________________     Telephone Number: (____) ____________________
City                                               State                                              Zip Code             

Email Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________
U.S. Social Security Number: __________-_______-__________ Date of Birth: ______/______/______

Male q U.S.        No q Legal       No q        Visa Type
Race: ___________ Sex:   Female q Citizen:   Yes q Alien:      Yes q        & No.: ______________

Speech-Language Pathologist and/or Audiologist
Application for Licensure

Check No. __________
Amount $___________
Date ____/____/____

Office Use
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Personal

Speech-Language Pathologist q Temporary q  (CFY or SPEP participants only)
Audiologist q

License Type

Employer: ________________________________________________________________________________________________
Business Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________     Telephone Number: (____) ____________________

City                                                   State                                                 Zip Code                               

Professional

Insert # ____

1. Patient Care 4. Research
2. Administration 5. Other Activity
3. Teaching 6. Not Active in SLP/A

Practice Type Insert Primary # ____       Secondary # ____

1. > 100 Bed Hospital 4. Home Health 7. Private Practice
2. < 100 Bed Hospital 5. Physician’s Office 8. College/University
3. Nursing Home 6. School 9. Outpatient Facility

10. Other

Practice Setting

Certified transcript must be reported directly from the institution.

School: ________________________________________________________________________________________________
Name                                                                        City                                                                   State                                     

Type of Degree ___________________    Date ___________________

Education

Have you ever been licensed or registered in any state, territory or country?  No q    Yes q    If yes, list all licenses 
(current/not current) including Mississippi. All licenses must be verified by the licensing authority - with board seal.
(See Verification of Licensure Form.)

1. ____________________    4. ____________________    7. ____________________    10. ____________________
2. ____________________    5. ____________________    8. ____________________    11. ____________________
3. ____________________    6. ____________________    9. ____________________    12. ____________________

Licensure

(Please type or print in ink)

MISSISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
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Have you ever had any license, registration, or certificate encumbered in any way,
i.e., revoked, suspended, censured, rejected, denied, placed on probation, reprimanded,
etc.? If yes, attach a full explanation including the type of license, registration, 
or certificate, and jurisdiction where the action occurred.                                  No q    Yes q
Are there any criminal or civil suits pending against you? No q    Yes q
Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor? No q    Yes q

Licensure (continued)

(Current CCC-A/CCC-SLP) Omit this section and attach copy of current ASHA Certified Member Card.
Have you ever taken the PRAXIS?   No q    Yes q If yes, please attach score report.

Examination

Attach completed Practice History formOccupational Status

Temporary license applicants only. Attach CFY Registration Agreement or SPEP.Supervision

Fees enclosed:  __________  Application $100.00
__________  Regular Licensure $100.00
__________  Temporary Licensure $75.00
__________  Total (non-refundable)

I, the undersigned, so solemnly swear or affirm that I am the above applicant. I have read the above application and all statements
contained therein or accompanying this application are true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I have also read and 
understand the Regulations Governing Licensure of Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologists and affirm that all conditions
for Licensure have been met and will be maintained.

_______________________________________________________________________
Applicant’s Signature

Fees $100.00

Make check or money order payable to:
Mississippi State Department of Health

Complete form, enclose fee and mail to:
Mississippi State Department of Health

Professional Licensure: SLP/A
Post Office Box 1700

Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Attach Copy
of Driver’s License

or
U.S. Social Security Card

Attach Photo
(Xerox copies are not accepted)

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day
of ________________________________, 20 _____.
My commission expires _______________________.

___________________________________________
Notary Public



Practice History
Instructions:  Please list the facility, home health agency, etc., its location (city & state), and the dates that you practiced at that
facility in chronological order beginning with your last practice site. A resume’ may be attached if the information needed to
complete this history is on the resume. This sheet may be copied if additional space is needed.
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Facility    Location Dates

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.



Speech-Language Pathologist/Audiologist
Verification of License in Another State
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To be Completed by Applicant (Please print or type) Social Security Number: ________-_______-________

Name: __________________________________________________________________________________________________

Licensing Authority: ______________________    Number: ________________________    Date Issued: ___________________
State, Territory, or Country

_______________________________________________________
Applicant Signature

To be Completed by Secretary of Licensing Board
Licensee’s Name: _____________________________________________________________

Licensing Type (SLP/A): _____________________________________________________________

Licensing Number: _____________________________________________________________

Date Issued: _____________________________________________________________

Expiration Date: _____________________________________________________________

Licensing by: State Exam: ___________________________________________________

Reciprocity with: _______________________________________________

ASHA CCC Credential: __________________________________________

Has license ever been disciplined?     q No    q Yes (If yes, please attach findings and disposition.)

Remarks: ________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________
Authorized Signature

This document must show Seal of licensing agency.

Seal

Licensing Board must return to:
Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure:  SLP/A
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700
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Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure
Post Office Box 1700

Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Supervised Professional Employment Plan (SPEP) Agreement
Speech Language Pathology/Audiology

I. Temporary Licensee/SPEP Participant

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Email Address: _____________________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number: (    ) ________________________ Social Security Number: ________-_______-________

II. Supervisor:

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Email Address: _____________________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number: (    ) ________________________ Social Security Number: ________-_______-________

License number: ____________________________________________________________________________

ASHA Certification Area:   q SLP    q AUD

III. SPEP Setting:

Facility Name: _____________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number: (    ) ______________________________________________________________________

Beginning date of SPEP ______/______/______ Ending date of SPEP ______/______/______
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IV. SPEP Experience:

A. Indicate the length of the SPEP experience and number of hours per week below:
q 36 weeks of full time professional employment of at least 30 hours per week.
q 48 weeks of full time professional employment of at least 25 hours per week.
q 60 weeks of full time professional employment of at least 20 hours per week.
q 72 weeks of full time professional employment of at least 15 hours per week.

At least 80% of the SPEP week will be spent in direct client contact (assessment/diagnosis/evaluation, 
screening, habilitation/rehabilitation) and activities related to client management.

q Yes    q No

B. Professional clinical employment responsibilities:
(List approximate number of hours a week in each activity.)

Activity Hours per week

Assessment/diagnosis/evaluation _____________

Screening _____________

Treatment (direct and indirect services) _____________

Activities related to client management _____________
(report writing, family/client consulation/counseling, etc.)

Inservice training _____________

V. SPEP Supervision:
A. q There will be at least 36 supervisory activities during the entire SPEP, including 18 hours of onsite

observation and 18 other monitoring activities. SPEP supervision will be divided equally among
three segments (1/3 length of SPEP). There will be at least 6 hours of on-site observation and at
least 6 other monitoring activities during each segment of the SPEP. All supervisory activities
must be documented and filed with the SPEP Report.

B. Supervision
Activity

Methods Times per mo. Length-hrs. (See list under see.
(Estimated) (Estimated) IV (B) of this form)

1. On-site observations ___________ ___________ ___________
2. Remote observations ___________ ___________ ___________

(audio-video-tape-telephone)
3. Conferences ___________ ___________ ___________

(Telephone-corres.)
4. Review of records ___________ ___________ ___________
(A) Therapy Plans
(B) Diagnostic rpts.

5. Staff meetings ___________ ___________ ___________
6. Case meetings ___________ ___________ ___________
7. Other ___________ ___________ ___________
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VI. Rules for the SPEP

(1) An SPEP participant must be issued a temporary license prior to beginning the SPEP.

(2) A temporary licensee may only practice in the SPEP setting.

(3) The SPEP setting must be designed to evaluate, habilitate, or rehabilitate individuals with speech, 
language and hearing difficulties.

(4) The SPEP setting must allow the temporary licensee to complete the SPEP as planned. 
This is the temporary licensee’s responsibility.

(5) Direct patient contact, consultations, record keeping, or other duties relevant to a program of clinical 
works are the only activities to be included in an SPEP.

(6) A temporary licensee must submit a new SPEP agreement prior to beginning the new SPEP if there is
a change in the setting, supervisor, or number of hours worked per week. An SPEP report must be filed
by the licensee who is terminating supervision or changing the SPEP. (see #10)

(7) The supervisor is responsible for all treatment for a patient by the SPEP participant. 

(8) The SPEP must be completed at settings in the State of Mississippi.

(9) The SPEP supervisor is required to report any unacceptable practices to the Branch within five (5) 
calendar days. A plan detailing corrective measures must accompany any such report.

(10) The SPEP supervisor has ten (10) calendar days from the end of the SPEP in which to file the SPEP Report 
with the Branch for review. The Branch will take appropriate action regarding licensure following the review.
The Branch will take appropriate action regarding licensure following the review. A temporary licensee
receiving an unsatisfactory SPEP report will be given an opportunity to challenge the report.

VII. Supervisor’s Agreement:

I agree to conduct one formal evaluation during each segment of the SPEP. I have read and discussed this
agreement with the applicant and have agreed to supervise the applicant as specified above. I have read
and understand The Regulations Governing Licensure of Speech Language Pathologists and Audiologists.
I agree to complete and submit an SPEP Report form to the Mississippi State Department of Health,
Professional Licensure Branch, within 10 days of the completion of the SPEP experience. I will fulfill
this responsibility even if I am unable to approve the SPEP. Furthermore, I verify that my license is current
and will be maintained during the SPEP.

The SPEP is being used to satisfy the requirements of a Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) for certification 
by ASHA.

q Yes    q No

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Supervisor Date
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VIII. Temporary License Applicant’s Agreement:

I have read, discussed, and agreed with the supervisor on all sections listed above. I have verified that my
supervisor holds a current license in the area in which I am seeking licensure. I have read and understand
The Regulations Governing Licensure of Speech Language Pathologists and Audiologists.

The SPEP is being used to satisfy the requirements of a Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) for certification 
by ASHA.

q Yes    q No

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Applicant Date

Note: Please submit the original copy to Professional Licensure and keep a copy for your records.
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Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure
Post Office Box 1700

Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Supervised Professional Employment Plan (SPEP) Report
Speech Language Pathology/Audiology

I. Temporary Licensee/SPEP Participant

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Email Address: _____________________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number: (    ) ________________________ Social Security Number: ________-_______-________

License Number: ____________________________________________________________________________

II. Supervisor:

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Email Address: _____________________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number: (    ) ________________________ Social Security Number: ________-_______-________

License number: ____________________________________________________________________________

ASHA Certification Area:   q SLP    q Audiology

III. SPEP Setting:

Facility Name: _____________________________________________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________
Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number: (    ) ______________________________________________________________________

Beginning date of SPEP ______/______/______ Ending date of SPEP ______/______/______

How many weeks of the SPEP does this report cover? ______ weeks
How many hours per week were spent in:

Speech-Language Pathology? _____Hrs.     Audiology_____Hrs.



IV. Supervisory Activities:

There were 36 supervisory activities during the SPEP, including 18 hours of on-site observations in direct
client contact and 18 other monitoring activities.    _____ Yes     _____ No

SPEP supervision was divided equally among three segments including 6 hours of on-site observation and at
least 6 other monitoring activities during each segment of the SPEP. _____ Yes     _____ No

Direct clinical activities:    At least 80% of the SPEP weekly activities must be in direct clinical activities
related to the management process of individuals who exhibit communication difficulties. Specify the number
of hours per week spent in each of the following activities.

Activity Hours per week

Assessment/diagnosis/evaluation _____________

Screening _____________

Treatment (direct and indirect services) _____________

Activities related to client management _____________
(report writing, family/client consulation/counseling, etc.)

Inservice training _____________

TOTAL _____________
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Complete the following chart indicating the distribution of on-site observation hours and other monitoring activities
completed during each segment of the SPEP. Include only activities supervised by the individual identified as the 
supervisor in this report. Complete a separate SPEP Report for activities supervised by different individuals.
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Weeks of SPEP Number of On-Site Hours Number of Other Monitoring
Activities

Weeks 1-4

Weeks 5-8

Weeks 9-12

Weeks 13-16

Weeks 17-20

Weeks 21-24

Weeks 25-28

Weeks 29-32

Weeks 33-36

Weeks 37-40

Weeks 41-44

Weeks 45-48

Weeks 49-52

Weeks 53-56

Weeks 57-60

Weeks 61-64

Weeks 65-68

Weeks 69-72

TOTALS



Documentation of Skills:

While under my supervision during the SPEP, the temporary licensee exhibited a satisfactory level of competency 
for the skills listed below. A satisfactory level of competency means that, in most situations, the temporary licensee
independently, accurately, and consistently performed the skills. The temporary licensee appropriately sought my
supervision when needed outside of the normal supervisory activities.

1. Implements screening procedures.
2. Collects case history information and integrates information from client, family, care givers, significant others,
and other professionals.

3. Selects and implements evaluation procedures nonstandardized tests, behavioral observations, and standardized tests.
4. Adapts interviewing and testing procedures to meet individual client needs.
5. Interprets and integrates test results and behavioral observations, synthesizes information gained from all sources,
develops diagnostic impressions, and makes recommendations.

6. Develops and implements specific, reasonable, and necessary treatment plans.
7. Selects/develops and implements intervention strategies for treatment of communication and related disorders.
8. Selects/develops and uses intervention materials and instrumentation for treatment of communication and related
disorders.

9. Plans and implements a program of periodic monitoring of the client’s communicative functioning through the 
use of appropriate data collections systems. Interprets and uses data to modify treatment plans, strategies, materials,
and/or instrumentation to meet the needs of the client.

10. Adapts intervention procedures, strategies, materials, and instrumentation to meet individual client needs.
11. Schedules and prioritizes direct and indirect service activities, maintains client records, and documents professional

contacts and clinical reports in a timely manner.
12. Complies with program administrative and other regulatory policies such as required due process documentation,

reports, service statistics, and budget requests.
13. Demonstrates communication skills (including listening, speaking, nonverbal communication, and writing) 

that take into consideration the communication needs as well as the cultural values of the client, the family,
care givers, significant others, and other professionals.

14. Identifies and refers clients for related services including audiological, educational, medical, psychological,
social, and vocational, as appropriate.

15. Collaborates with other professionals in matters relevant to case management.
16. Provides counseling and supportive guidance regarding the client’s communication disorder to client, family,

care givers, and significant others.

Any unsatisfactory practice was reported to the Mississippi State Department of Health as required and has been
sufficiently corrected. I have discussed this report with the temporary licensee. I verify that my license in Mississippi
was current throughout the SPEP.

Was the SPEP used to satisfy the requirements of a Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) for certification by ASHA?
_____ Yes     _____ No

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Supervisor/License Number Date
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I have read and discussed this report with my SPEP supervisor. I verified that my supervisor held current licensure
in Mississippi throughout the entire SPEP. I agree/do not agree with the findings of this report.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Applicant/License Number Date

Note: The supervisor should submit the original copy to Professional Licensure and keep a copy for his/her 
records. A check for $25.00 made payable to the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) 
should be filed by the temporary licensee for a regular license.
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Title 15:  Mississippi State Department of Health 

Part 19:  Bureau of Professional Licensure 

Subpart 60:  Professional Licensure 

CHAPTER 10: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF SPEECH-
LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 

Subchapter 1: General  

Rule 10.1.1 Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to safeguard the public's 
health, safety, and welfare by establishing minimum qualifications and 
creating exclusive titles corresponding to the level of qualifications for 
individuals who wish to offer speech-language pathology or audiology 
services to the public.  Further, in order to insure the highest degree of 
professional conduct by those engaged in offering speech-language 
pathology or audiology services to the public, it is the purpose of these 
regulations to provide and impose disciplinary sanctions, be they civil or 
criminal, against persons who do not meet or adhere to the procedures, 
qualifications, and standards set out in these regulations. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.1.2 Legal Authority: 

1. The Mississippi State Board of Health shall be empowered under Title 73, 
Chapter 38, Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, to license qualified 
applicants in the practice of speech-language pathology and audiology. 

2. The Mississippi State Board of Health shall promulgate such rules as are 
necessary to provide for the licensing of speech-language pathologists, 
audiologists, speech-language pathology aides, and audiology aides. 

3. The principal offices of the Mississippi State Board of Health and the 
Mississippi Council of Advisors in Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology are located in the Mississippi State Department of Health 
building, 570 East Woodrow Wilson, Jackson, Mississippi 39216. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.1.3 Definitions: 

1. Board means the Mississippi State Board of Health. 

2. Council means the Mississippi Council of Advisors in Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology. 
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3. ASHA means the American Speech-Language Hearing Association. 

4. Department is the Mississippi State Department of Health. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.1.4 Publication:  The Department shall publish, annually, a list of the names 
and addresses of all persons licensed by the Board as speech-language 
pathologists and audiologists and a list of all persons whose licenses have 
been suspended, revoked, denied renewal, put on probationary status, 
censured, or reprimanded. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 2: Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology Advisory Council 
(“Council”) 

Rule 10.2.1 Council Structure and Purpose:  The Council shall consist of seven (7) 
members as set forth in §73-38-11 of the Code, for the terms indicated 
therein, and shall serve under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Health.  
The purpose of the Council is to serve in an advisory capacity to the 
Department in matters relating to the administration and interpretation of 
the Speech Pathologists and Audiologists Act. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 

Rule 10.2.2 Meetings:  The Council shall meet at least twice each year, with the first 
meeting being in January.  Additional meetings may be held, at the 
discretion of the chairperson of the Council or any two council members.  
A quorum shall consist of four (4) members of the Council, including one 
speech-language pathologist and one audiologist present, and shall be 
necessary for the Council to take action by vote.  A notice of meeting shall 
be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the state not less 
than ten (10) days prior to any meeting. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 3: State Board of Health (“Board”) 

Rule 10.3.1 Responsibilities:  The Board, with the advice of the council, shall: 

1. establish examination, licensing, and renewal of license criteria for 
applicants; 

2. maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals licensed to practice speech-
language pathology or audiology, with such list being available, upon 
request, to the public; 
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3. conduct disciplinary hearings, upon specified charges, of a licensee; 

4. refer disciplinary actions of any individual engaged in the practice of 
speech-language pathology or audiology to the appropriate government 
agency for prosecution, whether licensed or otherwise, or, in its discretion, 
refer same to the appropriate committee or council; 

5. maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals whose license has been 
suspended, revoked, or denied and make such list available to public 
inspection and supply such list to similar regulatory boards in other states 
or jurisdictions; 

6. keep a record of all proceedings of the Board, and make said record 
available to the public; and 

7. direct the Department to promulgate and implement rules and procedures 
to carry out the purpose of the Speech Pathologists and Audiologists Act. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 4: Licensure 

Rule 10.4.1 General Requirements: 

1. An application for a license as a speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist shall be submitted to the State Board of Health at its principal 
office in Jackson on an application form provided by the State Board of 
Health. 

2. Every application shall be typed or written in ink, signed under the penalty 
of perjury, and accompanied by the appropriate fee and by such evidence, 
statements, or documents as therein required. 

3. Approved applications and all documents filed in support thereof shall be 
retained by the State Board of Health. 

4. Licenses issued under these regulations shall expire and become invalid 
at midnight of the expiration date. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.4.2 Qualifications for Licensure: 

1. Education 

a. Education qualifications deemed equivalent to those specified in 
Section 73-38-9 shall be at least a master's degree, e.g., M.S., 
M.A., or M.Ed., with major emphasis in speech-language pathology, 
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audiology, communicative disorders, or speech and hearing 
science from an institution recognized by the State Board of Health. 

b. Institutions recognized by the State Board of Health within the 
meaning of Section 73-38-9 shall be those institutions with 
academic programs accredited by the American Speech-Language-
Hearing Association or any other national accrediting body deemed 
appropriate by the Board. 

2. Supervised Professional Employment 

a. The applicant must have obtained the equivalent of nine (9) months 
of full-time professional experience (the Supervised Professional 
Employment) in which bona fide clinical work has been 
accomplished in the major professional area (speech-language 
pathology or audiology) in which the license is being sought.  Full-
time employment is defined as a minimum of thirty (30) clock hours 
of work a week.  For applicants awarded a master’s degree, the 
Supervised Professional Employment Plan (SPEP) must begin after 
the degree has been awarded.  For applicants awarded a doctoral 
degree, the Supervised Professional Employment Plan requirement 
may be met prior to awarding of the degree, provided the 
equivalent of the Supervised Professional Employment Plan is an 
integral part of the course of study which leads to the awarding of a 
doctoral degree.  For applicants awarded a doctoral degree from 
institutions that do not incorporate the equivalent of the Supervised 
Professional Employment Plan into the degree-granting process, 
the Supervised Professional Employment Plan must begin after the 
degree has been awarded. 

b. Professional experience is construed to mean direct clinical work 
with patients, consultations, record keeping, or any other duties 
relevant to a bona fide program of clinical work.  Eighty percent 
(80%) of full-time clinical experience and one hundred percent 
(100%) of part-time clinical experience will be in direct clinical 
contact with persons who have communication handicaps.  Time 
spent in supervision of students, academic teaching, and research, 
as well as administrative activity that does not deal directly with 
management programs of specific patients or clients will not be 
counted as professional experience in this context. 

c. An applicant desiring to complete the Supervised Professional 
Employment Experience must apply to the Board for a temporary 
license on a form available from the Board and must demonstrate 
that he is or will be supervised according to Rule 10.4.5 of these 
regulations. 
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3. The National Examinations In Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology: 

a. The applicant must have passed a National Examination in 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, either the National 
Examination in Speech-Language Pathology or the National 
Examination in Audiology.  Each year at its first meeting, the 
Advisory Council will recommend to the State Board of Health a 
passing score for the coming year. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.4.3 Licensure by Reciprocity:  An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall 
submit to the Department, verified by oath, written evidence in form and 
content satisfactory to the Department that the applicant has met all 
requirements set forth in Rule 10.4.1 and 10.4.2 of these regulations. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.4.4 Temporary License: 

1. A temporary license to practice as a speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist may be granted to an applicant for licensure meeting the 
requirements of Rule 10.4.1 and Rule 10.4.2 who has or has not taken the 
approved examination or who is entering the supervised professional 
employment plan subject to the conditions of Rule 10.4.5. 

2. A temporary license must be issued prior to the beginning of the 
supervised professional employment plan. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.4.5 Conditions of Temporary Licensure: 

1. A temporary license shall be issued for one 2-year period only beginning 
on the date of issuance.  All regular license requirements must be 
completed and submitted to the department during the temporary 
licensure period.  Supervision must be maintained according to the 
Supervised Professional Employment Plan (SPEP) agreement until the 
temporary license is upgraded to a regular license by the department. 

2. A temporary licensee shall restrict his practice setting to the State of 
Mississippi. 

a. A temporary licensee in a department approved SPEP shall 
practice under the supervision of a current licensee holding a 
corresponding, regular license issued by the department.  
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b. A temporary licensee in an employment setting that is exempt from 
licensure under §73-38-7 of the Code and who is engaged in a 
department approved SPEP shall practice under the supervision of 
a current, licensee holding a corresponding, regular license issued 
by the department. 

c. A temporary licensee may practice only in the practice setting listed 
in the department approved SPEP. 

d. A temporary licensee may not supervise any other licensee or 
registered aide.  

3. Documentation in form and substance acceptable to the Department that 
the conditions of Rule 10.4.5(2) have been met must be on file with the 
Department before a temporary license will be issued. 

4. A temporary license will not be issued to any individual who has had a 
temporary license revoked pursuant to the provisions of these regulations. 

5. Any person who has completed the Supervised Employment Experience 
and who has taken, but not passed, the required examination in another 
jurisdiction shall not be eligible for a license of any type until an approved 
examination is passed. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.4.6 Abandonment:  An application shall be deemed abandoned by the 
Department if, after six (6) months from the date of filing, the requirements 
for licensing have not been completed and submitted to the Department. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 5: Professional Identification 

Rule 10.5.1 Production and Display of License;  A person licensed to practice 
speech-language pathology or audiology in Mississippi shall be issued a 
"Certificate of Licensure" and "License Identification Card.”  The licensee 
shall prominently display the "Certificate of Licensure" or copy thereof at 
their place(s) of employment.  The licensee shall carry the "License 
Identification Card" when providing services and show said ID card when 
requested. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 
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Subchapter 6: Renewal of License 

Rule 10.6.1 General Provisions: 

1. The Board shall issue regular licenses which shall be renewed prior to the 
expiration date of the license. 

2. The licensure period shall be construed as July 1 through June 30 with all 
regular licenses expiring at midnight on June 30 of even-numbered years. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.6.2 Procedure for Renewal of License:  The Department shall mail notices 
approximately sixty (60) days prior to the license expiration date to the last 
home address registered with the Department, to the persons to whom 
licenses were issued or renewed during the preceding licensure period.  
The licensee shall: 

1. complete the renewal form; 

2. submit proof of continuing education credit as detailed in Subchapter 7 of 
these regulations; 

3. enclose the renewal fee; and 

4. file the above with the Department prior to the licensure expiration date. 

5. Renewal applications filed or postmarked after the licensure expiration 
date are subject to a late renewal penalty of $50.00. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.6.3 Failure to Renew:  A licensee who does not file, with the Department, 
renewal requirements prior to licensure expiration will be deemed to have 
allowed his license to lapse.  Failure to submit all renewal requirements 
postmarked on or before September 30 shall result in the necessity of the 
payment of a “renewal”, the “late renewal penalty”, and the “license issued 
after the expiration date” fee.  Said license may be reinstated by the 
Department, in its discretion, by the payment of the "renewal,” the "late 
renewal penalty", and the "license issued after expiration date" fees, and 
the required continuing education hours provided said application for 
reinstatement is made within two (2) years after its last expiration date.  A 
license may not be reinstated after having lapsed for two (2) consecutive 
years.  A new application must be made and the licensure regulations in 
effect at the time of application must be met. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 
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Subchapter 7: Continuing Education 

Rule 10.7.1 Definition and philosophy:  Each individual licensed as a speech-
language pathologist or audiologist is responsible for optimum service to 
the consumer and is accountable to the consumer, the employer, and the 
profession for evidence of maintaining high levels of skill and knowledge. 

1. Continuing education is defined as education beyond the basic 
preparation required for entry into the profession, directly related to the 
performance and practice of speech-language pathology or audiology.  
Relevancy of continuing education hours will be determined by the 
department with the advice of the council. 

2. Pursuant to §73-38-33 of the Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated, continuing 
education is mandatory. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.7.2 Requirements: 

1. Regulations set the requirement of 20 contact hours (CH) or 2 Continuing 
Education Units (CEU) to be accrued during the licensing term.  No 
carryover of continuing education hours from one licensure period to 
another shall be allowed.  At least fifty (50) percent (10 Contact Hours or 1 
CEU) of the continuing education requirement must be directly related to 
the clinical practice of speech-language pathology or audiology. 

2. Individuals applying for initial licensure within a licensing term must accrue 
continuing education hours on a prorated scale.  Written notification of 
required hours will be sent to the applicant at the time of licensure. 

3. Individuals holding a temporary license must meet the same CEU 
requirements as regularly licensed practitioners. 

4. Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall 
be issued a CE probationary license for the licensure term.  Failure to 
accrue the required hours during the CE probationary period will result in 
the revocation of the license.  Hours accrued are first credited for the 
delinquent hours lacking from the previous licensure period, and then 
applied to the current (CE probationary) licensing period.  CE probationary 
licenses will be issued for one licensure term only.  No ensuing license 
may be CE probationary as a result of not meeting continuing education 
requirements. 

5. NOTE: Reinstatement of a license revoked for failure to meet 
continuing education requirements is subject to the discretion of the 
Department.  If said license is permitted to be reinstated, payment of 
the "renewal,” the "late renewal payment penalty", and the "license 
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issued after expiration date" fees as stated in Subchapter 11 of these 
regulations will be required before licensure may be reinstated. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.7.3 Content Criteria:  The content must apply to the field of speech-language 
pathology or audiology and performance and must be designed to meet 
one of the following goals: 

1. Update knowledge and skills required for competent performance beyond 
entry level as described in current legislation and regulations. 

2. Allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and skills. 

3. Provide opportunities for interdisciplinary learning. 

4. Extend limits of professional capabilities and opportunities. 

5. Facilitate personal contributions to the advancement of the profession. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 

Rule 10.7.4 Sources of Continuing Education (Revised 1/14/09):  Only 
courses/providers of CE courses approved by one of the organizations 
listed in Rule 10.7.4(1) (a) will be accepted as continuing education for 
licensure renewal purposes.  A course not approved by an organization 
listed in this section of the regulations may be reviewed by the department 
prior to attendance at the course.  Contact the department for information.  
Continuing education hours may be accrued from the following sources, 
when the content of the programs relates to the profession of speech-
language pathology or audiology: 

1. Attendance at educational programs: 

a. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by the American Speech-Language 
Hearing Association (ASHA), including other state association 
educational programs; 

b. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by the American Medical Association 
(AMA) and its components; 

c. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by accredited universities. 
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d. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by the Academy of Dispensing 
Audiologists. 

e. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by the American Academy of 
Audiology. 

f. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by the American Auditory Society. 

g. attendance at educational programs where continuing education 
credit is given and approved by licensure authorities for speech-
language pathology or audiology of other states or territories of the 
United States or the District of Columbia. 

h. attendance at other programs approved for continuing education 
credit by ASHA, AMA, or their components. 

2. Presentations, made before recognized groups of speech-language 
pathologists or audiologists, medical practitioners, or other health related 
professionals, rather than civic groups, and directly related to the 
profession of speech-language pathology or audiology.  To be considered 
for continuing education credit, material outline and a synopsis must be 
submitted to the Department thirty (30) days prior to the presentation date.  
Notice of approval or disapproval will be sent following a review by the 
Department.  For approved presentations, the presenter may accrue one 
(1) hour of continuing education credit for each hour of the actual 
presentation, and one (1) hour of preparation time, for a total of (2) two 
hours.  Presenter credit is given one (1) time only, even though the 
session may be presented multiple times.  No more than 30% of total 
required hours may be accrued through presentations. 

3. Academic course work taken after successful completion of the master’s 
degree licensure requirement and taken for credit from a regionally 
accredited college or university.  The courses must relate to the clinical 
practice of speech-language pathology or audiology.  One academic 
semester hour shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours for continuing 
education credit.  Courses must be on the graduate level.  A minimum 
grade of "C" is needed for CE purposes 

4. Online or Home Study Courses: 

a. One hundred percent (100%) of the total required hours may be 
accrued through online or home study courses. 

b. Correspondence courses are not considered self-study. 
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c. Courses must be approved by one of the organizations listed in 
Rule 10.7.4(1)(a) of these regulations. 

5. Teleconferences approved by a provider listed under Rule 10.7.4(1)(a) of 
these regulations.  Viewing of taped teleconferences is not acceptable 
unless authorized by the provider in writing. 

6. Publication in a professional, refereed journal.  Licensee must be the 
principal author.  A maximum of 30% of the total CE requirement may be 
accrued through publication. 

7. Specific UNACCEPTABLE activities include: 

a. All in-service programs not approved under Rule 10.7.4(1)(a) of 
these regulations. 

b. Orientation to specific work-site programs dealing with 
organizational structures, processes, or procedures. 

c. Meetings for purposes of policy decision. 

d. Non-educational meetings at annual conferences, chapter, or 
organizational meetings. 

e. Entertainment or recreational meetings or activities. 

f. Committee meetings, holding of office, serving as an organizational 
delegate. 

g. Visiting exhibits. 

h. CPR education. 

i. Self-directed studies other than those previously outlined. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.7.5 Reporting Procedures for Continuing Education:  Continuing 
education credit must be awarded by the approved program provider on a 
form furnished by the program provider.  Proof of program approval by an 
organization listed in Rule 10.7.4(1) must be submitted with the certificate 
if a recognized approval source is not evident on the CE certificate. 

1. It is the responsibility of the licensee to insure that the following criteria are 
met with respect to continuing education credit:  Attendance at seminars, 
workshops, presentations, etc., approved by one of the providers listed in 
Rule 10.7.4(1): Certificate of attendance or completion must be submitted 
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during the licensure renewal period (must include source, number of 
continuing education hours and date of attendance). 

2. Credit for presentations: Submit a copy of the Department's approval 
letter. 

3. Academic course work credits must meet the content criteria in Rule 
10.7.3, and must be accompanied by a course description from the 
college or university catalog and a copy of the transcript or final grade 
report.  A minimum course grade of "C" is required for CE credit. 

4. Home Study Course: A certificate of completion must be submitted to 
receive continuing education credit. 

5. Teleconferences: A certificate of completion from the approved provider of 
the teleconference. 

6. Publication: A copy of the article and the name, volume, page number, 
etc. of the journal in which the article was published. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 8: Revocation, Suspension and Denial of License 

Rule 10.8.1 Standards of Conduct:  Licensees subject to these regulations shall 
conduct their activities, services, and practice in accordance with this 
section.  Licensees may be subject to the exercise of the disciplinary 
sanctions enumerated in Rule 10.8.6 of these regulations if the Board 
finds that a licensee is guilty of any of the following: 

1. Negligence in the practice or performance of professional services or 
activities. 

2. Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or unprofessional conduct of a 
character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public in the course of 
professional services or activities. 

3. Perpetrating or cooperating in fraud or material deception in obtaining or 
renewing a license or attempting the same. 

4. Being convicted of any crime which has a substantial relationship to the 
licensee's activities and services or an essential element of which is 
misstatement, fraud, or dishonesty. 

5. Being convicted of any crime which is a felony under the laws of this state 
or the United States. 
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6. Engaging in or permitting the performance of unacceptable services 
personally or by others working under the licensee's supervision due to 
the licensee's deliberate or negligent act or acts or failure to act, 
regardless of whether actual damage or damages to the public is 
established. 

7. Continued practice although the licensee has become unfit to practice as 
a speech language-pathologist or audiologist due to: 

a. failure to keep abreast of current professional theory or practice; or 

b. physical or mental disability; the entry of an order or judgment by a 
court of competent jurisdiction that a licensee is in need of mental 
treatment or is incompetent shall constitute mental disability; or 

c. addiction or severe dependency upon alcohol or other drugs which 
may endanger the public by impairing the licensee's ability to 
practice. 

8. Having disciplinary action taken against the licensee's license in another 
state. 

9. Making differential, detrimental treatment against any person because of 
race, color, creed, sex, religion, or national origin. 

10. Engaging in lewd conduct in connection with professional services or 
activities. 

11. Engaging in false or misleading advertising. 

12. Contracting, assisting, or permitting unlicensed persons to perform 
services for which a license is required under these regulations. 

13. Violation of any probation requirements placed on a license by the Board. 

14. Revealing confidential information except as may be required by law. 

15. Failing to inform clients of the fact that the client no longer needs the 
services or professional assistance of the licensee. 

16. Charging excessive or unreasonable fees or engaging in unreasonable 
collection practices. 

17. For treating or attempting to treat ailments or other health conditions of 
human beings other than by speech or audiology therapy as authorized by 
these regulations. 
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18. For applying or offering to apply speech or audiology, exclusive of initial 
evaluation or screening and exclusive of education or consultation for the 
prevention of physical and mental disability within the scope of speech or 
audiology therapy, or for acting as a speech- language pathologist or 
audiologist, or speech-language pathologist or audiologist aide other than 
under the direct, on-site supervision of a licensed speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist. 

19. Violations of the current codes for speech-language pathologists or 
audiologists, and speech-language pathologist or audiologist assistants 
adopted by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 

20. Violations of any rules or regulations promulgated pursuant to these 
regulations. 

21. Has engaged in any conduct considered by the Board to be detrimental to 
the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology. 

22. The Board may order a licensee to submit to a reasonable physical or 
mental examination if the licensee's physical or mental capacity to practice 
safely is at issue in a disciplinary proceeding.  Failure to comply with a 
board order to submit to a physical or mental examination shall render a 
licensee subject to the summary suspension procedures described in Rule 
10.8.0 of these regulations. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.2 Rules For Professional Conduct: 

1. Preamble:  The preservation of the highest standards of integrity and 
ethical principles is vital to the successful discharge of the professional 
responsibilities of all speech-language pathologists and audiologists.  
These Rules of Professional Conduct have been promulgated by the State 
Board of Health in an effort to stress the fundamental rules considered 
essential to this basic purpose.  Any action that is in violation of the spirit 
and purpose of these Rules shall be considered unethical.  Failure to 
specify any particular responsibility or practice in these Rules should not 
be construed as denial of the existence of other responsibility or practices.  
The fundamental rules of ethical conduct are described in three 
categories: Principles of Ethics, Ethical Proscriptions, and Matters of 
Professional Propriety. 

2. Principles of Ethics:  Five Principles serve as a basis for the ethical 
evaluation of professional conduct and form the underlying moral basis for 
these Rules.  Individuals subscribing to these Rules shall observe these 
principles as affirmative obligations under all conditions of professional 
activity. 
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3. Ethical Proscriptions:  Ethical Proscriptions are formal statements of 
prohibitions that are derived from the Principles of Ethics. 

4. Matters of Professional Propriety:  Matters of Professional Propriety 
represent guidelines of conduct designed to promote the public interest 
and thereby better inform the public and particularly the persons in need of 
speech-language pathology and audiology services as to the availability 
and the rules regarding the delivery of those services. 

5. Principles of Ethics I: 

a. Individuals shall hold paramount the welfare of persons served 
professionally. 

b. Individuals shall use every resource available, including referral to 
other specialists as needed, to provide the best service possible. 

c. Individuals shall fully inform persons served of the nature and 
possible effects of the services. 

d. Individuals shall fully inform persons participating in research or 
teaching activities of the nature and possible effects of these 
activities. 

e. Individual’s fees shall be commensurate with services rendered. 

f. Individuals shall provide appropriate access to records of persons 
served professionally. 

g. Individuals shall take all reasonable precautions to avoid injuring 
persons in the delivery of professional services. 

h. Individuals shall evaluate services rendered to determine 
effectiveness. 

6. Ethical Proscriptions: 

a. Individuals must not exploit persons in the delivery of professional 
services, including accepting persons for treatment when benefit 
cannot reasonably be expected or continuing treatment 
unnecessarily. 

b. Individuals must not guarantee the results of any therapeutic 
procedures, directly or by implication.  A reasonable statement of 
prognosis may be made, but caution must be exercised not to 
mislead persons served professionally to expect results that cannot 
be predicted from sound evidence. 
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c. Individuals must not use persons for teaching or research in a 
manner that constitutes invasion of privacy or fails to afford 
informed free choice to participate. 

d. Individuals must not evaluate or treat speech, language, or hearing 
disorders except in a professional relationship.  They must not 
evaluate or treat solely by correspondence.  This does not preclude 
follow-up correspondence with persons previously seen, or 
providing them with general information of an educational nature. 

e. Individuals must not reveal to unauthorized persons any 
professional or personal information obtained from the person 
served professionally, unless required by law or unless necessary 
to protect the welfare of the person or the community. 

f. Individuals must not discriminate in the delivery of professional 
services on any basis that is unjustifiable or irrelevant to the need 
for and potential benefit from such services, such as race, sex, or 
religion. 

g. Individuals must not charge for services not rendered. 

7. Principle of Ethics II: 

a. Individuals shall maintain high standards of professional 
competence. 

b. Individuals engaging in clinical practice shall possess appropriate 
qualifications as stated in Section 73-38-9. 

c. Individuals shall continue their professional development 
throughout their careers. 

d. Individuals shall identify competent, dependable referral sources for 
persons served professionally. 

e. Individuals shall maintain adequate records of professional services 
rendered. 

8. Ethical Proscriptions: 

a. Individuals must provide neither services nor supervision of 
services for which they have not been properly prepared, not permit 
services to be provided by any of their staff who are not properly 
prepared. 
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b. Individuals must not provide clinical services by prescription of 
anyone who does not hold a license in speech-language pathology 
or audiology. 

c. Individuals must not delegate any service requiring the professional 
competence of a licensed clinician to anyone unqualified. 

d. Individuals must not offer clinical services by supportive personnel 
for whom they do not provide appropriate supervision and assume 
full responsibility. 

e. Individuals must not require anyone under their supervision to 
engage in any practice that is a violation of the Rules for 
Professional Conduct. 

9. Principle of Ethics III:  Individuals' statements to persons served 
professionally and to the public shall provide accurate information about 
the nature and management of communicative disorders, and about the 
profession and services rendered by its practitioners. 

10. Ethical Proscriptions: 

a. Individuals must not misrepresent their training or competence. 

b. Individuals' public statements providing information about 
professional services and products must not contain 
representations or claims that are false, deceptive, or misleading. 

c. Individuals must not use professional or commercial affiliations in 
any way that would mislead or limit services to persons served 
professionally. 

11. Matters of Professional Propriety:  Individuals should announce services in 
a manner consonant with highest professional standards in the 
community. 

12. Principle of Ethics IV: 

a. Individuals shall maintain objectivity in all matters concerning the 
welfare of persons served professionally. 

b. Individuals who dispense products to persons served professionally 
shall observe the following standards: 

i. Products associated with professional practice must be 
dispensed to the person served as a part of program of 
comprehensive habilitative care. 
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ii. Fees established for professional services must be 
independent of whether a product is dispensed. 

iii. Persons served must be provided freedom of choice for the 
source of services and products. 

iv. Price information about professional services rendered and 
products dispensed must be disclosed by providing to or 
posting for persons served a complete schedule of fees and 
charges in advance of rendering services, which schedule 
differentiates between fees for professional services and 
charges for products dispensed. 

v. Products dispensed to the person served must be evaluated 
to determine effectiveness. 

13. Ethical Proscriptions: Individuals must not participate in activities that 
constitute a conflict of professional interest. 

14. Matters of Professional Propriety: 

a. Individuals should not accept compensation for supervision or 
sponsorship of a person holding a temporary license who is 
completing the supervised professional employment requirement 
for licensure as stated in Section 73-38-5.  He may, however, 
accept reasonable reimbursement for expenses incurred during this 
supervision or a consultant fee from the employer of the temporary 
licensee. 

b. Individuals should present products they have developed to their 
colleagues in a manner consonant with highest professional 
standards. 

15. Principle of Ethics V:  Individuals shall honor their responsibilities to the 
public, their profession, and their relationships with colleagues and 
members of allied professions. 

16. Matters of Professional Propriety: 

a. Individuals should seek to provide and expand services to persons 
with speech, language, and hearing handicaps as well as to assist 
in establishing high professional standards for such programs. 

b. Individuals should educate the public about speech, language, and 
hearing processes, speech, language, and hearing problems, and 
matters related to professional competence. 
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c. Individuals should strive to increase knowledge within the 
profession and share research with colleagues. 

d. Individuals should establish harmonious relations with colleagues 
and members of other professions, and endeavor to inform 
members of related professions of services provided by speech-
language pathologists and audiologists, as well as seek information 
from them. 

e. Individuals should assign credit to those who have contributed to a 
publication in proportion to their contribution. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.3 Summary Suspension: 

1. The Department may summarily suspend a license without a hearing, 
simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint and notice of hearing, if 
the Department determines that: 

a. the health, safety, or welfare of the general public is in immediate 
danger; or 

b. the licensee's physical capacity to practice his/her profession is in 
issue; or 

c. the licensee's mental capacity to practice his/her profession is in 
issue. 

2. If the Board summarily suspends a license, a hearing must begin within 
twenty (20) days after such suspension begins, unless continued at the 
request of the licensee. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.4 Complaints:  All complaints concerning a licensee, his business, or 
professional practice, shall be reviewed by the Department.  Each 
complaint received shall be logged, recording at a minimum the following 
information: 

1. licensee's name 

2. name of the complaining party, if known; 

3. date of complaint; 

4. brief statement of complaint; and 
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5. disposition. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.5 Investigation:  All complaints will be investigated and evaluated by 
Department. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.6 Notice of Charges and Hearing: 

1. Following the investigative process, the Department may file formal 
charges against the licensee.  Such formal complaint shall, at a minimum, 
inform the licensee of the facts which are the basis of the charge and 
which are specific enough to enable the licensee to defend against the 
charges. 

2. Each licensee, whose conduct is the subject of a formal charge which 
seeks to impose disciplinary action against the licensee, shall be served 
notice of the formal charge at least twenty (20) days before the date of 
hearing.  A hearing shall be presided over by the Board or the Board's 
designee.  Service shall be considered to have been given if the notice 
was personally received by the licensee, or the notice was mailed 
certified, return receipt requested, to the licensee at the licensee's last 
known address as listed with the Department.  The notice of the formal 
hearing shall consist at a minimum of the following information: 

a. the time, place, and date of hearing; 

b. that the licensee shall appear personally at the hearing and may be 
represented by counsel; 

c. that the licensee shall have the right to produce witnesses and 
evidence in the licensee's behalf and shall have the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses and evidence; 

d. that the hearing could result in disciplinary action being taken 
against the licensee's license; 

e. that rules for the conduct of these hearings exist and it may be in 
the licensee's best interest to obtain a copy; and 

f. that the Board, or its designee, shall preside at the hearing and 
following the conclusion of the hearing shall make findings of facts, 
conclusions of law and recommendations, separately stated, to the 
Board as to what disciplinary action, if any, should be imposed on 
the licensee. 
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3. The Board may order a licensee to submit to a reasonable physical or 
mental examination if the licensee's physical or mental capacity to practice 
safely is at issue in a disciplinary proceeding.  Failure to comply with a 
board order to submit to a physical or mental examination shall render a 
licensee subject to the summary suspension procedures described in Rule 
10.8.2 of these regulations. 

4. The Board or its designee shall hear evidence produced in support of the 
formal charges and contrary evidence produced by the licensee.  At the 
conclusion of the hearing, the Board shall issue an order, within sixty (60) 
days. 

5. Disposition of any complaints may be made by consent order or stipulation 
between the Board and the licensee. 

6. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and 
shall be preserved pursuant to state law. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.7 Sanctions:  The Board may impose any of the following sanctions, singly 
or in combination, when it finds that a licensee or applicant for license is 
guilty of any violations of the practice act or any lawful order, rule or 
regulation rendered or adopted by the Board: 

1. Revoke the license. 

2. Suspend the license, for any period of time. 

3. Censure the licensee. 

4. Impose a monetary penalty of not more than Two Hundred Dollars 
($200.00). 

5. Place a licensee on probationary status and require the licensee to submit 
to any of the following: 

a. report regularly to the Department, or its designee, upon matters 
which are the basis of probation; 

b. continue to renew professional education until a satisfactory degree 
of skill has been attained in those areas which are the basis of 
probation; or 

c. such other reasonable requirements or restrictions as are proper. 

6. Refuse to renew a license. 
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7. Revoke probation which has been granted and impose any other 
disciplinary action in this subsection when the requirements of probation 
have not been fulfilled or have been violated. 

8. The Board may reinstate any licensee to good standing under this chapter 
if, after hearing, the board is satisfied that the applicant's renewed practice 
is in the public interest. 

9. The Board may seek the counsel of the Council regarding disciplinary 
actions. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.8 Criteria For Rehabilitation;  Upon the suspension or revocation of a 
license on the grounds that the licensee has been convicted of a crime, 
the Board, in evaluating the rehabilitation of such person and his eligibility 
for licensure, will consider the following: 

1. The nature and severity of the act(s) which resulted in the suspension or 
revocation of his license. 

2. The extent of time elapsed since the commission of the act(s) which 
resulted in the suspension or revocation. 

3. Whether he has committed any act(s) which if done by a licensee would 
be grounds for suspension or revocation of a license since the date of 
suspension or revocation. 

4. Whether he has done any act(s) involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit with 
the intent to substantially benefit himself or another, or substantially injure 
another since the date of the suspension or revocation. 

5. Whether he has complied with any or all conditions or probation or 
restitution, or any other civil or criminal sanction imposed against him as a 
result of the act(s) including such administrative penalties and conditions 
or probation as have been imposed on him by the Board; and 

6. Such other evidence of rehabilitation as the person may submit. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.8.9 Appeals:  Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board shall have a 
right of appeal in the manner provided for in the Act and the Laws of the 
State of Mississippi.  

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 
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Subchapter 9: Exceptions and Exemptions 

Rule 10.9.1 Persons and Practices Exempt:  Nothing in this chapter shall be 
construed as preventing or restricting: 

1. A physician from engaging in the practice of medicine in this state, or a 
person using an audiometer to test hearing under the direct supervision of 
a licensed physician, provided such person does not present himself to 
the public by any title or description of services incorporating the words 
"audiologist," "hearing clinician," "hearing therapist," or any similar title or 
description of services; 

2. Any person licensed as a hearing aid dispenser from measuring and 
testing hearing in relation to the fitting, usage and dispensing of hearing 
aids, rendering post fitting services to his clients, or using any title 
provided in Sections 73-14-1 through 73-14-47; 

3. Any person licensed in this state by any other law from engaging in the 
profession or occupation for which he is licensed; 

4. A person from being employed or working in a volunteer capacity without 
a license, as provided in this chapter, as a speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist by the government of the United States or by the governing 
authority of any school district or private or parochial school in this state, if 
such person performs speech-language pathology or audiology services 
solely within the confines or under the jurisdiction of the organization by 
which he is employed, or working in a volunteer capacity; however, such 
person may, without obtaining a license under this chapter, consult with or 
disseminate his research findings and other scientific information to 
speech-language pathologists and audiologists outside the jurisdiction of 
the organization by which he is employed; such person may also offer 
lectures to the public for a fee, monetary or other, without being licensed 
under this chapter; such person may additionally elect to be subject to this 
chapter. 

5. The activities and services of persons pursuing a course of study leading 
to a degree in speech-language pathology at a college or university if such 
activities and services constitute a part of the supervised course of study 
and that such person is designated speech-language pathology intern, 
speech-language pathology trainee, or by other such titles clearly 
indicating the training status appropriate to his level of training; 

6. The activities and services of a person pursuing a course of study leading 
to a degree in audiology at a college or university if such activities and 
services constitute a part of a supervised course of study and such person 
is designated audiology intern, audiology trainee, or by any other such 
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titles clearly indicating the training status appropriate to his level of 
training; or 

7. The performance of speech-language pathology or audiology services in 
this state by any person not a resident of this state who is not licensed 
under this chapter if such services are performed for no more than five (5) 
days in any calendar year and in cooperation with a speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist licensed under this chapter, and if such person 
meets the qualifications and requirements for application for licensure 
described in subsections (a) through (c) of Section 73-38-9; however, a 
person not a resident of this state who is not licensed under this chapter, 
but who is licensed under the law of another state which has established 
licensure requirements at least equivalent to those established by Section 
73-38-9, or who is the holder of the ASHA Certificate of Clinical 
Competence in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology or its 
equivalent, may offer speech-language pathology or audiology services in 
this state for no more than thirty (30) days in any calendar year if such 
services are performed in cooperation with a speech-language pathologist 
or audiologist licensed under this chapter; or 

8. Any person employed by a private industry or firm for the purpose of 
conducting hearing tests incident to the operations of such firm or industry 
relative to its employees and employment practices. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.9.2 Good Samaritan Act:  [LEFT BLANK ON PURPOSE] 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 10: Regulations Governing Registration of Speech-Language 
Pathology Aides/Audiology Aides 

Rule 10.10.1 Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to set minimum 
qualifications for the registration of speech-language pathology and 
audiology aides by the State Board of Health; to provide qualifications for 
registration; to provide the method of supervision of aides by speech-
language pathologists or audiologists; to provide for the denial, 
suspension and revocation of such registration; to provide for the denial, 
suspension and revocation of licenses of speech-language pathologists 
and audiologists employing or supervising speech-language pathology or 
audiology aides; and for related purposes. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 

Rule 10.10.2 Legal Authority:  The Legislation Governing Speech-Language 
Pathologists/Audiologists, Section 73-38-1, et seq., of the Mississippi 
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Code of 1972, provides the legal authority under which the State Board of 
Health, established and empowered by Section 41-3-1, et seq., 
Mississippi Code of 1972, and the State Department of Health, 
established by section 41-3-15, Mississippi Code of 1972, are authorized 
to establish regulations necessary to carry out the mandates of the 
Legislation Governing Speech-Language Pathologists/Audiologists. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.10.3 Definitions: 

1. Board means the Mississippi State Board of Health. 

2. Department means the Mississippi State Department of Health. 

3. Council means the Mississippi Council of Advisors in Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology as established in Section 73-38-11. 

4. Person means any individual, organization, or corporate body.  However, 
only an individual may be registered under the Legislation Governing 
Speech-Language Pathologists/Audiologists. 

5. Speech-language pathologist means an individual who practices 
speech-language pathology and who presents oneself to the public by any 
title or description of services incorporating the words "speech-language 
pathologist," "speech pathologist," "speech therapist," "speech 
correctionist," "speech clinician," "language pathologist," "language 
therapist," "logopedist," "communicologist," "voice therapist," "voice 
pathologist," or any similar title or description of services. 

6. Speech-language pathology means the application of principles, 
methods and procedures for the measurement, testing, evaluation, 
prediction, counseling, instruction, habilitation or rehabilitation related to 
the development and disorders of speech, voice, language, swallowing or 
feeding, or for the purpose of evaluating, preventing, ameliorating or 
modifying such disorders and conditions in individuals and/or groups of 
individuals. 

7. Audiologist means an individual who practices audiology and who 
presents oneself to the public by any title or description of services 
incorporating the words "audiologist," "hearing clinician," "hearing 
therapist," or any similar title or description of service. 

8. Audiology means the application of principles, methods and procedures 
of measurement, testing, evaluation, prediction, consultation, counseling, 
instruction, habilitation or rehabilitation related to disorders of hearing and 
balance for the purpose of evaluating, identifying, preventing, ameliorating 
or modifying such disorders and conditions in individuals and/or groups of 
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individuals; and for the purpose of this subsection the words "habilitation" 
and "rehabilitation" include, but are not limited to, hearing aid dispensing 
and evaluation, auditory training, and speech reading. 

9. Speech-language pathology aide means an individual who meets 
minimum qualifications set in these regulations, and who works under the 
supervision of a licensed speech-language pathologist. 

10. Audiology aide means an individual who meets minimum qualifications 
set in these regulations, and who works under the supervision of a 
licensed audiologist. 

11. Licensed means licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health 
to practice speech-language pathology or audiology. 

12. Registrant means an individual registered as a speech-language 
pathology or audiology aide. 

13. Supervising Licensee means the licensed speech-language pathologist 
or licensed audiologist authorized to supervise a registered aide as stated 
on the aide registration form filed with the Department. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.10.4 Powers and Duties of the Department: 

1. To aid the state's attorneys of the various counties in the enforcement of 
the provisions of the Legislation Governing Speech-Language 
Pathologists/Audiologists and the prosecution of any violations thereof.  In 
addition to the criminal penalties provided by the Legislation Governing 
Speech-Language Pathologists/Audiologists, the civil remedy of injunction 
shall be available to restrain and enjoin violations of any provisions of that 
law without proof of actual damages sustained by any person. 

2. To determine the qualifications and eligibility of applicants for registration 
as speech-language pathology and audiology aides in this state. 

3. To issue, renew, deny, suspend, or revoke registration of speech-
language pathology and audiology aides in this state or otherwise 
discipline registered speech-language pathology and audiology aides. 

4. To deny, suspend, or revoke licensure of speech-language pathologists 
and audiologists or otherwise discipline licensed speech-language 
pathologists and audiologists who employ or supervise speech-language 
pathology or audiology aides, and who engage in unethical or 
questionable practices, or who fail to provide appropriate supervision of 
aides or who have encouraged or participated in any intentional act or 
omission that caused or assisted their aides to violate these regulations 
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and/or any law, including but not limited to, Section 73-14-1, et seq. of the 
Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended which is generally known as the 
"Hearing Aid Dealers Licensing Act". 

5. To investigate alleged or suspected violations of the provisions of the 
Legislation Governing Speech-Language Pathologists/Audiologists or 
other laws of this state pertaining to speech-language pathology and 
audiology aides and these regulations. 

6. To maintain a register listing the name of every speech-language 
pathology and audiology aides registered in this state, his/her last known 
place of business and last known place of residence, and the date and 
number of his/her registration.  Such a list shall be available to any person 
upon application to the department and payment of such charges as may 
be fixed by it. 

7. To be responsible for all disputed matters involving whether an applicant 
shall be registered. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.10.5 Registration: 

1. Application for Registration:  An application for registration for a 
speech-language pathology or audiology aide shall be submitted by the 
supervising licensee to the State Department of Health at its principal 
office in Jackson, Mississippi, on an application form provided by the 
Department.  Every application shall be typed or written in ink, the 
signatures notarized and accompanied by the appropriate fee and by such 
evidence, statements, or documents as herein required. 

2. Abandonment of Application:  If the application process for registration 
is not completed within six (6) months, the application shall be considered 
abandoned, and a new application must be submitted before registration 
may be granted. 

3. Education Requirements:  The educational requirements for registration 
as a speech-language pathology or audiology aide shall be a minimum of 
a high school diploma or the equivalent. 

4. General Requirements:  The licensed speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist who registers aides must determine that the applicant: 

a. Is at least 18 years of age; 

b. Is of good moral character; 

c. Has met the minimum educational requirements; 
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d. Has adequate communication skills and the ability to relate to the 
clinical population; 

e. Has paid an application fee; 

f. Works under the supervision of a licensed speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist according to a supervision plan approved 
by the department; and 

g. Shall be registered by the department.  No examination shall be 
required for registration. 

5. Supervision Requirements:  A licensed speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist may not supervise more than three (3) aides. 

a. The licensee who supervises aides is responsible for the services 
provided to the client by said aides.  The supervising licensee is 
also responsible for: 

b. The institution of a training program for each aide under his 
supervision encompassing all the procedures to be performed by 
the aide.  Documentation of such training in form and substance 
acceptable to the Department shall be retained in the aide's 
personnel file. 

c. Documentation in form and substance acceptable to the 
Department of competency in each task performed shall be 
retained in the aide's personnel file.  The competency in this task 
shall be observed and verified by the licensee. 

d. Insuring that the extent, kind, and quality of functions performed by 
each aide under supervision are consistent with the training and 
experience of the aide. 

e. The supervising licensee shall directly observe the first five (5) 
hours while the aide works with clients.  Thereafter, the supervising 
licensee shall directly observe the aide during twenty percent (20%) 
of the time that the aide works with clients per week, to be 
documented weekly in the aide's personnel file.  At all other times 
that the aide is working, the licensee must be accessible and 
available to the aide. 

f. Insuring that each aide under his supervision complies with the 
provisions of the Regulations Governing Licensure of Speech-
Language Pathologists and Audiologists. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 
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Rule 10.10.6  Renewal of Registration: 

1. Report:  Prior to the expiration date of an aide's registration, every 
licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist who is supervising or 
who has supervised any aide during the registration period shall submit to 
the State Department of Health, on a form provided by the Department: (1) 
a report for the previous registration period showing the nature and extent 
of the functions performed by each aide supervised; and (2) the renewal 
fee for aide registration. 

2. Notice of Termination:  Within seven (7) days after the termination of the 
supervision of a speech-language pathology or audiology aide, the 
supervising licensee shall notify the State Department of Health, in writing, 
of such termination and the date of termination and return the certificate of 
registration to the department.  Failure of a supervising licensee to comply 
with the provisions of this section may result in disciplinary action pursuant 
to these regulations. 

3. Fees:  The supervising licensee shall be responsible for ensuring that the 
aide's renewal application and the prescribed fee have been submitted to 
the Department for each aide supervised. 

a. The following fees are payable to the State Department of Health: 

i. Initial registration - $50.00 

ii. Renewal of registration - $50.00 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-1. 

Rule 10.10.7 Roles and Responsibilities of Licensees and Registrants:  Within the 
provision of speech-language pathology or audiology service there are two 
recognized levels of personnel: the professional speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist who is licensed to practice speech-language 
pathology and audiology; and the speech-language pathology or 
audiology aide who is registered, but is usually an on-job-trained individual 
who provides support activities for the speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist. The speech-language pathologist or audiologist shall assume 
primary responsibility for speech-language pathology and audiology care 
rendered by the licensee and his/her aide. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.10.8  Duties of the Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology Aide: 

1. Aides shall be clearly identified as aides by means of a nametag or other 
appropriate identification at all times.  The supervising licensee shall 
obtain the written consent of the consumer prior to client services being 
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performed by an aide as part of a treatment plan.  The consent form shall 
also be signed by the aide and the licensee and retained together in one 
(1) clearly marked file in the principal business office of the licensee and 
available for review and inspection by the Department.  All documents 
signed by an aide must clearly identify the individual as an aide. Training 
in professional behavior must be completed.  For example, the 
confidentiality of patient information should be discussed. 

2. Duties of the speech-language pathology aide may include the following 
(other activities are considered the practice of the licensed speech-
language pathologist): 

a. Routine paperwork (case history, permission to test, insurance, 
scheduling, billing, etc.). 

b. Administer self-questionnaires to clients (paper and pencil or 
computerized). 

c. Demonstrate any computerized testing/therapy materials the 
clinician utilizes. 

d. Set up office room for therapy or testing (this includes any 
equipment assembly as for a nasometer, visipitch, or IBM speech 
viewer. 

e. Biologically calibrate equipment. 

f. Display knowledge of universal body precautions and use of 
personal protective barriers. 

g. Except for the purposes of dispensing hearing aids, do mass 
auditory screening (such as those done in a public school with an 
audiometer). 

h. Record keeping during therapy procedures. 

i. Disinfect materials or items used in testing or therapy (equipment, 
furniture, etc.) after every client/patient visit. 

j. Assist client in use of augmentative communication devices. 

k. Demonstrate communication boards.  This includes client 
interaction. 

l. Some speech-language activities such as repetitive drills are 
routinely assigned to a parent, caretaker, or significant other for 
stabilization/generalization purposes.  This is done after the 
speech-language pathologist has introduced and taught the client 
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the target sound or language concept.  These types of drill activities 
are allowed. 

m. Demonstrate an electrolarynx.  The aide is restricted to self 
demonstration. 

n. Participate in behavior modification programming. 

o. Speech-language pathology aides may not be responsible for or 
perform diagnostic or evaluative procedures nor those activities 
listed as "Speech-language pathology" in Section 73-38-3 of the 
Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated. 

3. Duties of the audiology aide may include the following (other activities are 
considered the practice of the licensed audiologist): 

a. Routine paper work (case history, permission to test, insurance, 
scheduling, billing, etc.). 

b. Demonstrate assistive listening devices. 

c. Perform minor troubleshooting on hearing aids/assistive listening 
devices. 

d. Except for the purpose of dispensing hearing aids, make ear 
molds/impressions after ears are "visually inspected" by the 
physician or the licensed audiologist. 

e. Administer self-questionnaires to clients (paper and pencil or 
computerized). 

f. Demonstrate any computerized testing/therapy materials that the 
clinician utilizes. 

g. Set up office room or prepare client/patient for therapy or testing 
(this includes any equipment assembly as for an otoscope), or 
patient preparation work for electrophysiological measures. 

h. Biologically calibrate equipment. 

i. Display knowledge of universal body precautions and use of 
personal protective barriers. 

j. Record keeping during audiometric or therapy procedures. 

k. Provide assistance to the audiologist who shall perform the 
pediatric auditory testing or sound field testing. 
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l. Disinfect materials or items used in testing or therapy (equipment, 
furniture, specula, etc.) after every client/patient visit. 

m. Take sound intensity readings as with a sound level meter. 

n. Audiology aides shall not be responsible for or perform a) 
diagnostic or evaluative procedures and/or b) any activities listed as 
"Audiology" in Section 73-38-3 of the Mississippi Code 1972 
Annotated and/or c) any procedures that deal with the fitting of 
hearing aids. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 

Rule 10.10.9 Revocation, Suspension, and Denial of Registration: 

1. Standards of Conduct:  Aides may, at the discretion of the Board, have 
their registration suspended, revoked, or denied at the time of renewal if 
the Board determines that the Aide: 

a. Was convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude.  The record 
of such conviction, or certified copy thereof from the clerk of the 
court where such conviction occurred or by the judge of that court, 
shall be sufficient evidence to warrant revocation or suspension. 

b. Is guilty of securing, or attempting to secure a registration or 
certificate through fraud or deceit. 

c. Is guilty of unethical conduct, or gross ignorance, or inefficiency in 
the conduct of his practice. 

d. Is guilty of knowingly practicing while suffering with a contagious or 
infectious disease. 

e. Has used a false name or alias in the practice of his profession. 

f. Is unfit or incompetent by reason of negligence, habits, or other 
causes of incompetence. 

g. Is habitually intemperate in the use of alcoholic beverages. 

h. Is addicted to, or has improperly obtained, possessed, used or 
distributed, habit-forming drugs or narcotics. 

i. Has practiced as an aide after his registration or permit has expired 
or has been suspended. 

j. Has practiced as an aide under cover of any permit or registration 
illegally or fraudulently obtained or issued. 
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k. Has violated or aided or abetted others in violation of any provision 
of the Act or regulations promulgated thereto. 

l. Has engaged in any conduct considered by the Board to be 
detrimental to the profession of speech-language pathology or 
audiology. 

m. Has violated the provisions of any applicable federal laws or 
regulations. 

n. Has been disciplined by another jurisdiction if at least one (1) of the 
grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to 
those set forth in the Act or rules and regulations promulgated 
pursuant to the Act. 

2. Summary Suspensions 

a. The Department may summarily suspend a registration without a 
hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint and 
notice of hearing, if the Department determines that: 

i. The health, safety, or welfare of the general public is in 
immediate danger; or 

ii. The aide's physical capacity to practice his profession is in 
issue; or 

iii. The aide's mental capacity to practice his profession is in 
issue. 

b. If the Department summarily suspends a registration, a hearing 
must begin within twenty (20) days after such suspension begins, 
unless continued at the request of the Aide. 

3. Complaints:  All complaints concerning an Aide, his business, or 
professional practice, shall be reviewed by the Department.  Each 
complaint received shall be logged, recording at a minimum the following 
information: 

a. Aide's and supervisor's name; 

b. Name of the complaining party, if known; 

c. Date of complaint; 

d. Brief statement of complaint; and 

e. Disposition. 
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4. Investigations:  All complaints will be investigated and evaluated by the 
Department, or its designee(s). 

5. Notice of Charges and Hearing 

a. Following the investigative process, the Department may file formal 
charges against the aide and/or the supervising licensee.  Such 
formal complaint shall, at a minimum, inform the accused of the 
facts which are the basis of the charge and which are specific 
enough to enable the accused to defend against the charges. 

b. Each aide and/or supervising licensee, whose conduct is the 
subject of a formal charge which seeks to impose disciplinary 
action against the accused, shall be served notice of the formal 
charge at least twenty (20) days before the date of hearing.  A 
hearing shall be presided over by the Board or the Board's 
designee.  Service shall be considered to have been given if the 
notice was personally received by the accused, or the notice was 
mailed certified, return receipt requested, to the accused at the last 
known address as listed with the Department.  The notice of the 
formal hearing shall consist at a minimum of the following 
information: 

i. The time, place, and date of hearing; 

ii. That the accused shall appear personally at the hearing and 
may be represented by counsel; 

iii. That the accused shall have the right to produce witnesses 
and evidence in his behalf and shall have the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses and evidence; 

iv. That the hearing could result in disciplinary action being 
taken against the aide's registration and/or the licensee's 
license; 

v. That rules for the conduct of these hearings exist and it may 
be in the accused's best interest to obtain a copy; and 

vi. That the Board, or its designee, shall preside at the hearing 
and following the conclusion of the hearing shall make 
findings of facts, conclusions of law and recommendations, 
separately stated, to the Board as to what disciplinary action, 
if any, should be imposed on the aide and/or licensee. 

c. The Department may order an aide to submit to a reasonable 
physical or mental examination if the aide's physical or mental 
capacity to practice safely is at issue in a disciplinary proceeding.  
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Failure to comply with a Department order to submit to a physical or 
mental examination shall render an aide subject to the summary 
suspension procedures described in these regulations. 

d. The Board or its designee shall hear evidence produced in support 
of the formal charges and contrary evidence produced by the 
accused.  At the conclusion of the hearing, the Board shall issue an 
order, within sixty (60) days. 

e. Disposition of any complaints may be made by consent order or 
stipulation between the Board and the accused. 

f. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record 
and shall be preserved pursuant to state law. 

6.  Board Sanctions:  The Board may impose any of the following 
sanctions, singularly or in combination, when it finds that an aide is guilty 
of any of the above offenses: 

a. Revoke the registration; 

b. Suspend the registration, for any period of time; 

c. Censure the aide; 

d. Impose a monetary penalty of not more than two hundred dollars 
($200.00); 

e. Place an aide on probationary status and require the Aide to submit 
to any of the following: 

i. report regularly to the Department, or its designee, upon 
matters which are the basis of probation; 

ii. continue to renew professional education until a satisfactory 
degree of skill has been attained in those areas which are 
the basis of probation; or 

iii. such other reasonable requirements or restrictions as are 
proper; 

f. Refuse to renew a registration; or 

g. Revoke probation which has been granted and impose any other 
disciplinary action in this subsection when the requirements of 
probation have not been fulfilled or have been violated. 
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h. The Board may reinstate any aide to good standing under these 
regulations if, after hearing, the Board is satisfied that the aide's 
renewed practice is in the public interest. 

i. The Board may seek the advice of the Council regarding 
disciplinary actions. 

7. Appeal:  Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board shall have a 
right of appeal in the manner provided for in the Act and the Laws of the 
State of Mississippi. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Subchapter 11: Fees: 

Rule 10.11.1 Method of Payment:  In accordance with the Act, the following non-
refundable fees, where applicable, are payable to the Department of 
Health by check or money order. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.11.2 Schedule of Fees: 

1. Initial Application  ............................................................................ $100.00 

2. Initial License  ................................................................................. $100.00 

3. Licensure Renewal  ........................................................................ $100.00 

4. Late Renewal Penalty  ..................................................................... $ 50.00 

5. License Issued After Expiration Date  .............................................. $ 60.00 

6. Initial Temporary License  ................................................................ $ 75.00 

7. Duplicate License Certificate Fee  ................................................... $ 25.00 

8. ID Card Replacement Fee  .............................................................. $ 10.00 

9. License Certificate Replacement Fee  ............................................. $ 25.00 

10. Verification of Licensure Fee  .......................................................... $ 25.00 

11. Examination Fee:  Contact the Educational Testing Service, National 
Teachers Examination, in Princeton, NJ, for information regarding the 
examination and fee. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 
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Subchapter 12: Administrative Grievance Procedure 

Rule 10.12.1 Administrative Appeals: 

1. Any person aggrieved by a decision regarding the initial application for 
licensure or the renewal of licensure shall have the right of a second 
review by the Director of Professional Licensure and the Council or a 
designated member of the Council. 

2. Any person aggrieved by a decision rendered after the second review 
shall have the right of administrative appeal and a public hearing to be 
conducted in accordance with the policies of the Department of Health. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.12.2 Notification:  Written notice will be provided to all applicants regarding 
denial of an original license or a renewal license.  Such notice shall 
contain the reason thereof. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 

Rule 10.12.3 Hearing:  If requested in writing within the specified time frame a hearing 
will be provided in which the applicant may show cause why the license 
should be granted or renewed.  Within sixty (60) days of the hearing, or 
other such time frame as determined during the hearing, written findings of 
fact, together with a recommendation for action on the license in question, 
shall be forwarded to the State Health Officer.  The State Health Officer 
shall decide what action will be taken on the recommendation within five 
days of its receipt.  Written notice shall be provided to the applicant. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13 

Subchapter 13: Suspension for Failure to Pay Child Support 

Rule 10.13.1 In addition, the Department is authorized to suspend the license of any 
licensee for being out of compliance with an order for support, as defined 
in Section 93-11-153.  The procedure for suspension of a license for being 
out of compliance with an order for support, and the procedure for 
reissuance or reinstatement of a license suspended for that purpose, and 
the payment of any fees for the reissuance or reinstatement of a license 
suspended for that purpose, shall be governed by Section 93-11-157 or 
93-11-163, as the case may be.  If there is any conflict between any 
provision of Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163 and any provision of this 
chapter, the provisions of Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case 
may be, shall control. 

SOURCE:  Miss. Code Ann. §73-38-13. 
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